FORUMS

How Strong Is Your Connection? – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Everyone is always talking about their bars. How many bars of WiFi do they … more

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

Have I bricked it?

156 posts
Thanks Meter: 24
 
By Henkdrenth, Senior Member on 21st February 2012, 08:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello,

I think I messed up trying to root my device.
Now I only have a flashing logo and I don't have the proper files anymore to re-install my firmware.
I still can get into recovery, so I just need the correct kernel and AOS files.
Can anyone help me?

Thanks!
 
 
21st February 2012, 08:58 PM |#2  
Quinny899's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bolton le Sands, Near Lancaster, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,146
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henkdrenth

Hello,

I think I messed up trying to root my device.
Now I only have a flashing logo and I don't have the proper files anymore to re-install my firmware.
I still can get into recovery, so I just need the correct kernel and AOS files.
Can anyone help me?

Thanks!

Download the stock .aos file from the archos site, and select "Update Firmware". Plug into your PC and copy the .aos file to that drive that appears. Select OK on the device. Wait and then select reboot. Now you can attempt root again, making sure that the file is called the correct name, and you are not following my method on a 250gb version or the 250gb root on a flash version

Sent from my ARCHOS 80G9 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Quinny899 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2012, 09:03 PM |#3  
Henkdrenth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwediep
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Thanks, I did that, but I'm getting error 206, so the firmware does not install.
I think it has to do with the proper kernel version I'm using, that's why I asked also for those files.
Last edited by Henkdrenth; 21st February 2012 at 09:03 PM. Reason: typo
21st February 2012, 09:40 PM |#4  
Shano56's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 552
 
More
You sure you're on G9 and downloaded G9 firmware?

Pretty sure the needed kernel is in the aos file

Sent from my ARCHOS 80G9 using Tapatalk
21st February 2012, 09:43 PM |#5  
Henkdrenth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwediep
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Well, on my console it is printed: ARCOS 10i G9
And from the archos website I chose the gen9 edition,

Are you sure I only have to install the aos file and the kernel is part of it?
21st February 2012, 09:57 PM |#6  
Henkdrenth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwediep
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Well, solved it by accident I think.
I did a full erase of all partitions and tried to re-install the firmware and guess what - it worked

Oh man, am I a happy fellow again

Now back to the rooting business...
22nd February 2012, 06:16 PM |#7  
Shano56's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 552
 
More
good job
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes