Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Disabling Phone/3G

OP cliefan

25th February 2012, 05:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 28
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
Looking for a ROM for my old Droid1 to use wifi only...no phone/3g...or is there a way to disable it...build.prop mod?
25th February 2012, 05:42 PM   |  #2  
shalom06's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 108
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
why would you do that?? u can put the phone on airplane mode ..hope it solves your problem
29th February 2012, 07:51 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliefan

Looking for a ROM for my old Droid1 to use wifi only...no phone/3g...or is there a way to disable it...build.prop mod?

I did this with my old Droid. I just used the latest build of CM7 for it. You can use the power widget that is included with CM7 and select the Disable Mobile Data option. Some homescreen apps, like LauncherPro, can hide apps from the drawer, so you could hide Phone/Contacts/etc. This worked well for me.
1st March 2012, 03:11 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gildan27

I did this with my old Droid. I just used the latest build of CM7 for it. You can use the power widget that is included with CM7 and select the Disable Mobile Data option. Some homescreen apps, like LauncherPro, can hide apps from the drawer, so you could hide Phone/Contacts/etc. This worked well for me.

But he does not want to hide the apps, he wants to disable the telephone function, right? The only way to realize this is using the airplane mode ...
4th March 2012, 03:24 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 28
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
Sorry getting back to this soo late....busy week of work.

My plan is to use this for my 4yr old as a teaching device. Reading/Writing/math with Time limits/etc...The idea would be that phone/gps would be permanently off, wifi enabled.

Looking into the Parental Control App too.
4th March 2012, 04:38 AM   |  #6  
shalom06's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 108
 
439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliefan

Sorry getting back to this soo late....busy week of work.

My plan is to use this for my 4yr old as a teaching device. Reading/Writing/math with Time limits/etc...The idea would be that phone/gps would be permanently off, wifi enabled.

Looking into the Parental Control App too.

why dont u try freezing or uninstalling the dialer ...idk if it can cause any problems with the system haven't tried doin it
5th March 2012, 12:51 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Use a custom launcher like ADW and remove any shortcuts to the phone and contact apps. That way your kid can't accidentally dial 911.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes