FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How to disable Verizon's OTA updates

6th February 2012, 07:58 PM |#31  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok first in order to se /system on es file explorer i believe you need to go into the apps preferences and select root mode.

If your getting su out of date go ahead and update it.

If you delete the files and they come back when you reboot either your not s-off or your not mounting the system r/w first. Also after you delete the file(s) you need to clear thr cache partition from recovery or it will still prompt you to update.
 
 
7th February 2012, 12:18 AM |#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
dang!...editing that line..burnSSSS my battery life UP!!!!!!

how do i copy the back file back on it.....i can live with the nag....Id rather have battery.
Last edited by sniperx's; 7th February 2012 at 12:25 AM.
7th February 2012, 12:37 AM |#33  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperx's

dang!...editing that line..burnSSSS my battery life UP!!!!!!

how do i copy the back file back on it.....i can live with the nag....Id rather have battery.

The first option (build.prop edit) does not kill the the battery.
Removing or renamimg otacerts.zip may kill the battery. Which did you use?
7th February 2012, 12:45 AM |#34  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
I just noticed that the build.prop edit in the op has an error, it should be changed to:
Code:
ro.build.fingerprint=verizon_wwe/inc/inc:2.3.4/GRJ22/185897.2:user/release-keys
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2012, 03:39 AM |#35  
Junior Member
Flag White Plains
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco

I just noticed that the build.prop edit in the op has an error, it should be changed to:

Code:
ro.build.fingerprint=verizon_wwe/inc/inc:2.3.4/GRJ22/185897.2:user/release-keys

New member

My original file was written "... _wwe/inc/inc/inc: ..."

Shouldn't there be another /inc/ in there or no?

Also, just out of curiosity, what does changing the number from 222219 to 185897.2 do?
24th February 2012, 06:43 AM |#36  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AE35

New member

My original file was written "... _wwe/inc/inc/inc: ..."

Shouldn't there be another /inc/ in there or no?

Also, just out of curiosity, what does changing the number from 222219 to 185897.2 do?

No just 2 /inc's

Changing it will make verozion think you already have the latest ota.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2012, 08:45 AM |#37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
When i was on MIUI, the OTA would download a few times a day. This would kill my battery life. So I edit the build.prop file as mentioned. It seemed to work for a few days but it started up again. So I just turned on my firewall and stopped Download Manager from retrieving data. Worked like a charm...
24th February 2012, 10:15 AM |#38  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 936
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr EGG

When i was on MIUI, the OTA would download a few times a day. This would kill my battery life. So I edit the build.prop file as mentioned. It seemed to work for a few days but it started up again. So I just turned on my firewall and stopped Download Manager from retrieving data. Worked like a charm...

It may have poped up again after the edit because the ota files were still in the cache. Just edit the build.prop as stated above, and then go to recovery and wipe cache.
27th February 2012, 05:32 AM |#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco

It may have poped up again after the edit because the ota files were still in the cache. Just edit the build.prop as stated above, and then go to recovery and wipe cache.

Ohhhh that makes sense... Nice to know. I'll give it a try. Thanks a lot!
31st March 2012, 09:18 PM |#40  
kxhan15's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag COLTON
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Do you have to be rooted for this??
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes