Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,666 Members 39,533 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[LEAK][ICS 4.0.3] Acer_AV041_A100_1.012.00_WW_GEN1

Tip us?
 
rambo6
Old
#221  
rambo6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
I unmounted my SD card. Hard reset my device. Mounted a new SD card. Renamed the file Update.zip on my PC (note: the ."zip" disappeared after renaming). Transferred the file to the new SD card and followed the procedure.

It worked great. Here's what I have found.

ICS is much faster, especially the browser.
I have no sound issues.
The camera viewer is messed up.
Sometimes the home screen is slow to respond when icons are touched.
HP's ePrint Home app does not work. It did work with HC.

Overall ICS is a big improvement over HC. I bought the A100 just to play with and because I liked the size and price. If Acer gets the official ICS ROM right, the A100 will become one of my favorite devices.


Sent from my A100 using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy Note
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Nexus 7 LTE 2013
Nexus 5
 
RonMac
Old
#222  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 314
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
I'm thinking of buying this Tablet and the fact that there is an ICS update here is a huge plus but 4.5 hour battery is what is keeping me on the fence. With the update, is the battery life any better?

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
 
webwude
Old
#223  
webwude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 532
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Vienna

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by webwude View Post
Any word on included (or missing) languages?

Is this rom only for A100 or compatible for A101 as well?

Best regards,
ww
Can someone answer my questions?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk
LG Nexus 4 16 GB - stock
LG G2 16 GB international D802 - Stock 4.4.2 - root - no recovery
LG Nexus 5 16 GB - CM11 latest nightly - TWRP
 
BrothaJINC
Old
#224  
BrothaJINC's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 662
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Hey I'm trying to update using this..... Renamed the file to update.zip and Wen I boot into recovery it starts going and say looking for boot image..... Then it goes to the android guy with the gears then changes to android with the triangle.... Wut is going on??????

Sent from my ADR6400L using xda premium
BrothaJINC.. Wanna Get High?...
________________________
Phone List::
Droid 1 ***sold
HTC Thunderbolt ****broke
Droid Bionic***sold
Droid X***sold
Samsung Galaxy Nexus****broke
Droid Razr White****broke
Droid 1 ****broke
IPhone 4S 32gb Black***sold
Samsung Galaxy s Fascinate****broke

G'Zone Casio****IN USE***
Tablets:
Acer Iconia A100 ***sold
ASUS Transformer TF101****USING
 
phitch
Old
#225  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrothaJINC View Post
Hey I'm trying to update using this..... Renamed the file to update.zip and Wen I boot into recovery it starts going and say looking for boot image..... Then it goes to the android guy with the gears then changes to android with the triangle.... Wut is going on??????

Sent from my ADR6400L using xda premium
I had this same problem and the solution will make you kick yourself in the teeth. You may have a Gen2 flexrom, in which case you need to downgrade then upgrade you can check that out by going to the about tablet, and image version if it says gen2 you need to downgrade. If not then you are already good right now. But here is what I was doing wrong, when you go into recovery by pressing volume up and power button, don't let go until you see the update actually start. I kept letting go before the update actually began (the bar filling up) and kept getting the ! error.
The Following User Says Thank You to phitch For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bjones72751
Old
#226  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 102
Join Date: Nov 2010
Could someone possibly tell me if Order and Chaos runs on this update? If not I'll have to wait for root and build.prop mods. That's the only game I play damn it, lol.

Sent from my A100 using Tapatalk
 
BrothaJINC
Old
#227  
BrothaJINC's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 662
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Can u downgrade thru the tablet or do u have to have a pc??

Sent from my ADR6400L using xda premium
BrothaJINC.. Wanna Get High?...
________________________
Phone List::
Droid 1 ***sold
HTC Thunderbolt ****broke
Droid Bionic***sold
Droid X***sold
Samsung Galaxy Nexus****broke
Droid Razr White****broke
Droid 1 ****broke
IPhone 4S 32gb Black***sold
Samsung Galaxy s Fascinate****broke

G'Zone Casio****IN USE***
Tablets:
Acer Iconia A100 ***sold
ASUS Transformer TF101****USING
 
luisxd
Old
#228  
luisxd's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mexicali, BC
do i need to do a factory reset to flash this?
 
rambo6
Old
#229  
rambo6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
I posted earlier that the camera viewing screen was not working after the ICS update. I also stated that HP's ePrint home was not working.

After 2 days use and turning the device off, both problems seem to be fixed.

The only problem I have now with the ROM is that using the browser, I cannot figure out how to show my bookmarks in a list. All I see are large Icons. I prefer the list view better. Does anyone else have this problem?

Battery life is more than 4.5 hours, but I think I was getting better battery life with HC. It seems I could go almost all day with. HC.

Sent from my A100 using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy Note
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Nexus 7 LTE 2013
Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to rambo6 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RonMac
Old
#230  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 314
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Thanks for answering my question about battery life.

One step closer for me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo6 View Post
I posted earlier that the camera viewing screen was not working after the ICS update. I also stated that HP's ePrint home was not working.

After 2 days use and turning the device off, both problems seem to be fixed.

The only problem I have now with the ROM is that using the browser, I cannot figure out how to show my bookmarks in a list. All I see are large Icons. I prefer the list view better. Does anyone else have this problem?

Battery life is more than 4.5 hours, but I think I was getting better battery life with HC. It seems I could go almost all day with. HC.

Sent from my A100 using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes