Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,336 Members 37,721 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Which Display do you have, Inferior or Superior? And which color?
Inferior Display Quality & Contrast (White Model) 76 7.99%
Inferior Display Quality & Contrast (Black Model) 249 26.18%
Inferior Display Quality & Contrast (Plum Model) 23 2.42%
Inferior Display Quality & Contrast (Red Model) 57 5.99%
Superior Display Quality & Contrast (White Model) 90 9.46%
Superior Display Quality & Contrast (Black Model) 356 37.43%
Superior Display Quality & Contrast (Plum Model) 26 2.73%
Superior Display Quality & Contrast (Red Model) 74 7.78%
Voters: 951. You may not vote on this poll

MT4G Bad Display vs Good Display, Which do you have? Don't wait get a good one today!

Tip us?
 
Tarrance17
Old
#1591  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 31
Join Date: May 2011
Hi i have a bad screen...... My mytouch is about a year old and im pretty sure its out of waranty..(also water damaged).. is there anyway i can get a good screen mytouch for free?
 
Bl@ze
Old
#1592  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 153
Join Date: Feb 2012
Question no0b question

[disclaimer ... i am no0b at mt4g/glacier htc/ touchscreen phones/ android.. heck i havent even bough the phone as yet.. but i getting used one for a good price..so here goes...

in the case of a bad screen wonder if it would make sence to just buy/replace the lcd eg: http://www.repairsuniverse.com/htc-m...placement.html

than again i'd prolly get a generic bad screen to replace the stock bad screen...

either was i might want to change the housing..

side note , if the were scratches on the camera cover , changing the housing would replace the camera cover right?
 
lordkaosu
Old
#1593  
lordkaosu's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJMarty View Post
The wifi is jacked on my black myTouch 4G so I called and arranged a warranty exchange. The replacement phone, an obvious refurb, came yesterday. I powered it up and all I can say is WOW. The screen on the replacement is AWFUL. Unless you are looking at it completely straight-on, the colors are completely washed out. If I put it side-by-side with my current phone, it looks TERRIBLE.

Up until this point, I was unaware that there were different panels on this phone. I pretty much figured but I went ahead and checked and my current phone with the wifi issue is a type 2 panel. I called back and told them that the replacement phone was not acceptable and they are sending me another one. I've now discovered that some are having to go through this process for 5+ phones to get a good one.

So, my question is...are there any tricks to get a "good/type 2" myTouch 4G or do you just have to play the game?
No trick, unfortunately you just have to keep exchanging. My original white model was faulty (good screen, other issues, China model). It took 5 exchanges to get a good one again. Every refurb they sent was a Taiwan model (including the good replacement).
 
jjbadd385
Old
#1594  
jjbadd385's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 481
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Laurens S.C.
I have been wanting to post this for awhile, and I have in a couple of threads, but this would be the official thread to post in. I have owned a total of 4 MT4G handsets. Every one of them has had the "bad" screen. But my question is this. is it possible to have one with the "bad" screen, and nothing be wrong with it? My colors are brilliant and not washed out, and in fact, I would be very amazed to see a screen that was much better than mine. At any rate, just to let anyone know that are new to MT4G, its possible that the "good" screen "bad" screen issue is overrated....just sayin..
 
Snakecharmed
Old
(Last edited by Snakecharmed; 27th February 2012 at 04:31 PM.)
#1595  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 81
Join Date: Sep 2011
A couple of other people have also mentioned that about the bad screen. There's nothing really that wrong with it if you're looking at it from straight on, but the difference can be seen here in the video from the OP:



The difference is obvious at oblique angles. As alluded to in the first post of the thread, it might not even be the screen itself, but possibly the coating applied to the screen. Empirically, the evidence suggests that it's the screen itself, but a later run of those Sharp panels could very well look fine.
HTC Amaze 4G
EnergyROM 8.6.2012 (HTC Sense 3.6, Android 4.0.3) HTC Stock Kernel 4EXT Recovery 1.0.0.5 RC7 AmazonBasics 16GB Class 10 microSDHC Card

HTC Glacier T-Mobile myTouch 4G
Virtuous Unity 2.39 (HTC Sense 3.0) ClockworkMod Recovery 5.0.2.0 0.85.2007 Engineering Bootloader 12.28b.60.140eU_26.03.02.26_M Radio 245MHz/1.2GHz Min/Max Speed Bricked
 
Bl@ze
Old
#1596  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 153
Join Date: Feb 2012


update ....

i got the phone that i was iffying to buy...

did a factory reset... restarted the screen is back .. I then did a check and yup its a pannel 2 ....sony screen

yeah me
 
...Awesome...
Old
#1597  
...Awesome...'s Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7,255
Posts: 3,211
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
That sucks i have a bad screen a year later I find out smh

Sent from my ...Awesome...using XDA

 
quadmanx
Old
#1598  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default New Terminal Emulator

Tried using Terminal method to determine which screen I have but nothing telling me the type of screen I have came up. Just about 80 pages of useless results.

Does this work if rooted and running a custom ROM? Cause I'm running Creamed Glacier.

Also could the recent Market update of Terminal Emulator have anything to do with it?
 
PCLiteratesJax
Old
#1599  
PCLiteratesJax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 131
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jacksonville, FL, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadmanx View Post
Tried using Terminal method to determine which screen I have but nothing telling me the type of screen I have came up. Just about 80 pages of useless results.

Does this work if rooted and running a custom ROM? Cause I'm running Creamed Glacier.

Also could the recent Market update of Terminal Emulator have anything to do with it?
Did you type this into Terminal emulator?

cat /sys/class/block/mmcblk0/device/name

Watch the result.
SEM04G - good.
M4G2DE - bad.
Both can fail, even without rooting. The "bad" has been shown to fail more. This method has NEVER failed to tell me which display the phones I was working on had. Notice the space between cat and / and it is mmcblk ZERO
My main phone is a virgin HTC One M8 which I just got but I still love my black amazing HTC Amaze 4G with rooted Stock Rom which is my secondary phone now
Who says gals can't do this kind of stuff too?
Rooting is cool, rooting is fun (39 and counting !!)

All MyTouch 4G recoveries in one place: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1476745

 
samsd
Old
#1600  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2011
It is a late response. I got my phone in March 2011 and it seems like good display. And it looks gorgeous. I think it has better color and contrast than iphone or samsung displays!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes