5,598,657 Members 39,751 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Beginners Guide to Android ROM Development

Tip us?
 
Blacked-Out-Cobra
Old
(Last edited by Blacked-Out-Cobra; 27th December 2011 at 11:28 PM.)
#21  
Blacked-Out-Cobra's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 82
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: at my house
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbowerman View Post
Great explanation except every time I make a rom I get error in CWM
Tip: it doesnt matter if I mod it or not as soon as it changes update-script it screws the rom up I think and I even converted it back to updater-script when I was done still nothing.

It was an ICS rom if that helps.
anyone wondering how I fixed it?

use winrar but dont extract go in and delete update-script, and update-binary it will make you one that works.

recommend it anyways because it unclutters your scripts
Like my work or enjoy my help then hit the THANKS button
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Blacked-Out-Cobra For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chilwil322
Old
#22  
chilwil322's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Hollywood, CA
ooooooh i can wait to get my hand on this one. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR PUTTING THIS TOGETHER!!
 
jbarcus81
Old
#23  
jbarcus81's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 330
Posts: 1,765
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Marietta, OH

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm trying to figure out how porting works.. will this guide help at all in doing this? Port a rom to my Inc2 ... I've seen it done, but I don't know how it was done..
 
zombie.raised
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 311
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacked-Out-Cobra View Post
anyone wondering how I fixed it?

use winrar but dont extract go in and delete update-script, and update-binary it will make you one that works.

recommend it anyways because it unclutters your scripts
That really helped, got passed one failure now.
HTC Raider (Bell)
Right now running Stock
 
dtbinh
Old
#25  
dtbinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 144
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ha Long
Could anyone help me on root permissions?
I've selected the 2nd item from main menu to add root permissions but after flashing screenshot app can't run, it says: "Root required!".
Thank you!
 
mazen912
Old
#26  
mazen912's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 510
Posts: 286
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbinh View Post
Could anyone help me on root permissions?
I've selected the 2nd item from main menu to add root permissions but after flashing screenshot app can't run, it says: "Root required!".
Thank you!
you have to install busybox

Tablets
Galaxy 10.1 (JB 4.1.2 Slim Bean )
MK808 tv ( JB 4.1.2 )

Phones
Galaxy s2 i9100 Dual-Boot CM10 & AOSP
 
NeoS
Old
#27  
NeoS's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - There is no N00b...
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 3,308
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere in NL

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice guide. Why isn't this stickied? Hm, let's fix that shall we?

|How to make a good signature|How to be a new user|Rules|Moderator List|

Device list in chronological order: Nokia 7650, Nokia 6260, Nokia N80, HTC Artemis, HTC Polaris, HTC Blackstone, HTC Iolite, HTC Passion, Samsung GT9100, Asus Grouper, LG Mako. Which one will be next?
 
Dunc001
Old
#28  
Dunc001's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1321
Posts: 2,603
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hiding out south of the border...
I need some help with setting up the kitchen please. I had the HD2 version previously installed and working fine. But now I am on Sensation I uninstalled cygwin completely, redownloaded cygwin_packages and the 188 version of the kitchen and reinstalled everything. I have the SDK set up and working, Java 1.7.0_02, etc etc. I installed cygwin following the instructions exactly again (clicked arrows to set All > Install) then ran bash shell. On first run I got the java not installed error so I added the java path to bash_profile. Now bash shell runs fine. But when I get to ./menu to run the kitchen I get a short list of errors (chmod not found, rm not found, clear not found...). All the files are in C:\cygwin\bin. I read the FAQs again and again and the only instruction relating to this is to make sure you click All > Install during setup which I have done several times but still get the same error and the kitchen won't start. Can anyone assist me without flaming me please?
HTC One
ViperOne 5.8.0 Beta Sense 5.5 with ElementalX Kernel

HTC One Mini
Completely stock and staying that way...

Google Nexus 7 Gen 2
AOSB with Glitch Kernel

First HTC HD2
Tytung 4.4.2 DataOnExt

Second HTC HD2
MIUI JB DataOnExt
 
redbaron2005
Old
#29  
redbaron2005's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Azusa, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up This guide takes the cake for simple, easy, and user friendly

I've been reading a lot of guides but this one really helped me out and get me started fast.
This is a prime example of how to set up ADB and SDK and start developing ROMs, This is exactly what I was looking for, simple, basic, and user friendly!
Keep up the great work!
 
mDroidd
Old
#30  
mDroidd's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1379
Posts: 1,834
Join Date: Aug 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
@OT: Maybe you could try to recommend my tool as a NOOB- build-from-source?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1491689

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes