FORUMS

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

xyboard with GSM/HSPA

18th February 2012, 06:49 AM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Dear xyboard owners,

now that it is rooted (thanks a bunch, Dan!):
I'd like to hear about succesful use with GSM/HSPA and foreign (non-Verizon) SIM card. If someone succesfully did it, please report here. Thanks!

PS: I also would appreciate a dedicated xyboard / Xoom 2 section.
Last edited by rweb; 18th February 2012 at 06:59 AM.
 
 
18th February 2012, 07:30 AM |#2  
Elysian893's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rweb

Dear xyboard owners,

now that it is rooted (thanks a bunch, Dan!):
I'd like to hear about succesful use with GSM/HSPA and foreign (non-Verizon) SIM card. If someone succesfully did it, please report here. Thanks!

PS: I also would appreciate a dedicated xyboard / Xoom 2 section.

Xyboard only has LTE and CDMA, you can't GSM/HSPA no matter what sim you use.
18th February 2012, 07:59 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian893

Xyboard only has LTE and CDMA, you can't GSM/HSPA no matter what sim you use.

It has GSM/HSPA support, Verizon just activated it by software update.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/s...edPhoneId=5822
18th February 2012, 06:13 PM |#4  
Elysian893's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rweb

It has GSM/HSPA support, Verizon just activated it by software update.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/s...edPhoneId=5822

Ah, did not know that. Still looks like it'd require Verizon's magic touch.
18th February 2012, 09:59 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian893

Still looks like it'd require Verizon's magic touch.

Most likely, yes. However I didn't read a report so far, this is why I started this thread.
I wonder what happens if a foreign SIM card is inserted. Does it ask for an unlock code?
28th February 2012, 01:03 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rweb

Dear xyboard owners,

now that it is rooted (thanks a bunch, Dan!):
I'd like to hear about succesful use with GSM/HSPA and foreign (non-Verizon) SIM card. If someone succesfully did it, please report here. Thanks!

PS: I also would appreciate a dedicated xyboard / Xoom 2 section.

do you try unlock device via sim-unlock service???

I have a xyboard 8.2 and information for android dev is poor... not dedidate forum... only a root method...
28th February 2012, 09:30 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
No, I don't own an xyboard. I asked because I considered to buy one, given it would work under GSM with a foreign SIM.
But in the meantime, I chose to buy a Xoom 2.
29th February 2012, 02:09 AM |#8  
big ach's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida!
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
The Droid xyboard definitely has both cdma and gsm radios, this has been confirmed by Motorola countless times.

So, I went ahead and grabbed my wife's at&t micro Sim from her iPhone and plugged it into my xyboard (i'm not rooted). First it rebooted, as it always does when a new Sim card is inserted, then it told me, Sim card from unknown source, I switched the network mode to gsm/umts, and it detected that it was an at&t Sim as all the at&t access points were automatically listed, but it still would not work, there were no bars listed even.
This leads me to believe that its definitely Sim locked by Verizon and would probably require a code from them to carrier unlock!

Sent from my Motorola Atrix 2 with AT&T 4G
29th February 2012, 05:50 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Why you accepting as consumers , all those limitations from your carriers on how you will you your device in USA ? I will never understand

Sent from my XOOM 2 ME using Tapatalk
16th March 2012, 07:31 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 508
 
More
Just thought I'd bump. Has this been SIM unlocked yet for HSPA? If so might consider getting one to use in Canada.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes