Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Post Reply

xyboard with GSM/HSPA

OP rweb

18th February 2012, 06:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Dear xyboard owners,

now that it is rooted (thanks a bunch, Dan!):
I'd like to hear about succesful use with GSM/HSPA and foreign (non-Verizon) SIM card. If someone succesfully did it, please report here. Thanks!

PS: I also would appreciate a dedicated xyboard / Xoom 2 section.
Last edited by rweb; 18th February 2012 at 06:59 AM.
18th February 2012, 07:30 AM   |  #2  
Elysian893's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rweb

Dear xyboard owners,

now that it is rooted (thanks a bunch, Dan!):
I'd like to hear about succesful use with GSM/HSPA and foreign (non-Verizon) SIM card. If someone succesfully did it, please report here. Thanks!

PS: I also would appreciate a dedicated xyboard / Xoom 2 section.

Xyboard only has LTE and CDMA, you can't GSM/HSPA no matter what sim you use.
18th February 2012, 07:59 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian893

Xyboard only has LTE and CDMA, you can't GSM/HSPA no matter what sim you use.

It has GSM/HSPA support, Verizon just activated it by software update.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/s...edPhoneId=5822
18th February 2012, 06:13 PM   |  #4  
Elysian893's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rweb

It has GSM/HSPA support, Verizon just activated it by software update.

http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/s...edPhoneId=5822

Ah, did not know that. Still looks like it'd require Verizon's magic touch.
18th February 2012, 09:59 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian893

Still looks like it'd require Verizon's magic touch.

Most likely, yes. However I didn't read a report so far, this is why I started this thread.
I wonder what happens if a foreign SIM card is inserted. Does it ask for an unlock code?
28th February 2012, 01:03 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rweb

Dear xyboard owners,

now that it is rooted (thanks a bunch, Dan!):
I'd like to hear about succesful use with GSM/HSPA and foreign (non-Verizon) SIM card. If someone succesfully did it, please report here. Thanks!

PS: I also would appreciate a dedicated xyboard / Xoom 2 section.

do you try unlock device via sim-unlock service???

I have a xyboard 8.2 and information for android dev is poor... not dedidate forum... only a root method...
28th February 2012, 09:30 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
No, I don't own an xyboard. I asked because I considered to buy one, given it would work under GSM with a foreign SIM.
But in the meantime, I chose to buy a Xoom 2.
29th February 2012, 02:09 AM   |  #8  
big ach's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida!
Thanks Meter: 78
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
The Droid xyboard definitely has both cdma and gsm radios, this has been confirmed by Motorola countless times.

So, I went ahead and grabbed my wife's at&t micro Sim from her iPhone and plugged it into my xyboard (i'm not rooted). First it rebooted, as it always does when a new Sim card is inserted, then it told me, Sim card from unknown source, I switched the network mode to gsm/umts, and it detected that it was an at&t Sim as all the at&t access points were automatically listed, but it still would not work, there were no bars listed even.
This leads me to believe that its definitely Sim locked by Verizon and would probably require a code from them to carrier unlock!

Sent from my Motorola Atrix 2 with AT&T 4G
29th February 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Why you accepting as consumers , all those limitations from your carriers on how you will you your device in USA ? I will never understand

Sent from my XOOM 2 ME using Tapatalk
16th March 2012, 07:31 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
3,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Just thought I'd bump. Has this been SIM unlocked yet for HSPA? If so might consider getting one to use in Canada.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes