Post Reply

[ROM][ShenQi_V4][20120218] CM7 XT720, Enjoy HD recording and H264 720p Video playback

OP hhcat

26th February 2012, 09:23 PM   |  #111  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Hi is there any screenshot for this rom ??? is this rom in anyway better than other roms ???

Greetz
27th February 2012, 06:32 AM   |  #112  
TIMZOZO's Avatar
Member
Flag JOHANNESBURG
Thanks Meter: 5
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
It's all based on opinion. It's a very good Ginger but the keyboard was far from user friendly.

Sent from my Milestone XT720 using xda premium
27th February 2012, 12:19 PM   |  #113  
space4ace's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
My latest trials (and errors) :

I tried flashing different sbf (CBW, UK, French, xt720mod) and still getting the bootloop.
I tried the v4 update (didn't think it would change anything but, you never know). It didn't change anything!!!

I will try the korean fix ( just to see).
I'm at a lost to understand why it works for some people and don't for others.

I'll report back if I figure anything good (or bad!).

Sent from my XT720 using xda premium
Last edited by space4ace; 28th February 2012 at 02:57 AM.
27th February 2012, 12:32 PM   |  #114  
LibertyMonger's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 833
 
3,447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by space4ace

My latest trials (and errors) :

I tried flashing different sbf (CBW, UK, French, xt720mod) and still getting the bootloop.
I tried the v4 update (did'nt think it would change anything but, you never know). It did'nt change anything!!!

I will try the korean fix ( just to see).
I'm at a lost to understand why it works for some people and don't for others.

I'll report back if I figure anything good (or bad!).

Sent from my XT720 using xda premium

Did anyone try re-downloading the file? Whats a good file site to use nowadays since the 4th reich is shutting everything down? I will upload mine...
27th February 2012, 12:48 PM   |  #115  
mchlbenner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 497
 
1,721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
You can find this file in flfalcon archive files.

Sent from my Milestone XT720 using xda premium
27th February 2012, 03:12 PM   |  #116  
space4ace's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I need an expert's opinion on this.

As you might know already, I keep getting bootloops when running this rom. I sometimes see the lock screen and I even was able to unlock once and open the drawer before it rebooted again, and then bootloop etc. This only happens if I remove the sdcard and then boot. With the sdcard in... Nothing but bootloops. I tried 3 sdcards, same results. I repaired the sdcards too.

Can any other user make a nandroid back up of system.img and maybe boot.img or anything that could make me boot this and upload it as a trial? I don't want a full backup that includes your data or anything like that.
Does my request make any sense or maybe it just doesn't work that way?
In case you didn't figure this out yet; I'm a newbie! But I know how to flash sbf, install rom, updates, backup and restore.

Let me know what I could try next. I'm fresh out of ideas! Except for using a hammer... On my head, not the phone. I love that phone!


Sent from my XT720 using xda premium
Last edited by space4ace; 27th February 2012 at 03:19 PM.
28th February 2012, 02:31 AM   |  #117  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I tried to flash on Korean 44R (Eclair) Stock ROM.
It made my XT720 cannot boot
28th February 2012, 03:15 AM   |  #118  
space4ace's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
rec0va: Did you use the korean_patch update that came with the ShenQi_V4 file?

Sent from my XT720 using xda premium
28th February 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #119  
Mioze7Ae's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Queen City of the West
Thanks Meter: 2,096
 
2,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peshovec

modifying framework.jar works, but will be hassle to support ...

may be you can consider using the following approach ...

as MediaGalery and MotoCamera have in its AndroidManifest.xml reference to external "libraries"

Code:
    <library name="com.motorola.aui" 
            file="/system/framework/com.motorola.aui.jar"/>
    <library name="com.motorola.android.camera"
    	    file="/system/framework/com.motorola.android.camera.jar"/>
it will be easy to follow upstream, if you put the framework modifications is the above jars, instead of the framework (i have proof of concept that this works)


This way you want rely on decompiling framework, and putting all back together, e.g. it will be easy for you
Also if framework is odexed it can stay odexed

Then if everything is smooth, you just can "update" the upstream roms

From what I can tell this is based on fjfalcon's 2011-11-30 build and there are actually very, very minimal changes to the core framework (very similar to what we had been discussing in the other thread). I think the frameworks edits are already just about as minimal as possible.

Code:
$ diff -qr falcon/framework system/framework | sort
Files falcon/framework/android.policy.jar and system/framework/android.policy.jar differ
Files falcon/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar and system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar differ
Files falcon/framework/framework.jar and system/framework/framework.jar differ
Files falcon/framework/framework-res.apk and system/framework/framework-res.apk differ
Only in system/framework: com.motorola.android.camera.jar
Only in system/framework: com.motorola.android.mediasync.jar
Only in system/framework: com.motorola.aui.jar
Comparing the smali of android.policy.jar and framework.jar, this is what I find*:
Code:
Files falcon/framework/android.policy/com/android/internal/policy/impl/PhoneWindow.smali and system/framework/android.policy/com/android/internal/policy/impl/PhoneWindow.smali differ
Files falcon/framework/framework/android/hardware/Camera$EventHandler.smali and system/framework/framework/android/hardware/Camera$EventHandler.smali differ
Only in system/framework/framework/android/hardware: Camera$FaceDetectCallback.smali
Files falcon/framework/framework/android/hardware/Camera.smali and system/framework/framework/android/hardware/Camera.smali differ
Files falcon/framework/framework/android/view/KeyEvent.smali and system/framework/framework/android/view/KeyEvent.smali differ
Files falcon/framework/framework/com/android/internal/R$id.smali and system/framework/framework/com/android/internal/R$id.smali differ
Files falcon/framework/framework/com/android/internal/telephony/gsm/SmsMessage.smali and system/framework/framework/com/android/internal/telephony/gsm/SmsMessage.smali differ
Most of the changes are minor and should be easy/harmless to reverse to java and incorporate in the tree. The most intensive edit is to add the face detection callback.

Caveat: I have not even tried to install this ROM. I trust that it works for somebody, somewhere.

* To simplify the comparison, I preprocessed the baksmali of fjfalcon's 20111130 framework.jar and android.policy.jar using this:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

find falcon -type f -name \*.smali | while read x ; do
    grep -v '\.line ' $x \
	| grep -v '\.parameter' \
	| grep -v '\.prologue' \
	| grep -v '\.local ' \
	| grep -v '\.end local ' \
	| grep -v '\.restart local ' \
	> tmp
    mv tmp $x
done
Last edited by Mioze7Ae; 28th February 2012 at 03:25 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mioze7Ae For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2012, 05:08 AM   |  #120  
Junior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Post about bootloop
I had successfully updated from kang 7.2 to this ROM with no boot loops (switched 3/4 times between both roms).
But after i copied the framework-res file into system/framework attached in the first post,the screen went black and now i am also getting boot loops from lock-screen.After restoring my backup while Switching back to this rom again its getting bootloops even after wiping all(cache,userdata).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes