FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[TUT] Firmware Upgrading Without Dataloss!

146 posts
Thanks Meter: 48
 
By r_22009, Senior Member on 15th February 2012, 02:43 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
18th February 2012, 03:23 PM |#31  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
So you mean my problem is because of the custom roms
maybe!
so i should try official roms
now i have Elite and is good
 
 
19th February 2012, 04:05 PM |#32  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
a question
why when i dump CSC using fs_shell in trix i cannot find SystemCSC folder?
and dump of a 40mb csc will be just 10mb
but i can see this folder on wave_remarker
28th February 2012, 02:10 PM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,208
 
More
GT-S8500_XEO_2_20120106145026.zip.enc2

Here is an "example" from Samsung...

For instance from XXKL6 to XXLA1...

Best Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to adfree For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2012, 02:39 PM |#34  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
As we dont have official asian roms so, custom roms are better for me
so at this time i think PFS is somehow useless for me
22nd June 2012, 03:09 PM |#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by r_22009

I think for changing csc you need master reset! (maybe)

I tried updating fonts (from CSC) via PFS - did not work. Having to do a master reset, we could also just full flash.

This method works perfect for data in SHAPP and FFS,though.
24th June 2012, 05:55 PM |#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
I tried some more... removing stuff in SystemCSC via PFS. Contents of PfsDeleteList.txt:
Code:
SystemCSC/Fonts/Applemint.ttf
Does not work either. I've read somewhere that SystemCSC stuff is actually on a different partition, wich is only mounted in this folder. So, is it possible that this method actually does not work for CSC stuff at all?

Maybe we could make a reduced CSC file (only fonts, f.e.) and patch via "Differences Only" option in Multiloader instead for CSC patches?
24th June 2012, 06:36 PM |#37  
mylove90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 660
 
More
CSC file has two parts

First part is the rcs one
It is QMD compressed...mounted at system start....contain fonts , strings & keyboards files
You can't use PFS file to deal with this part

Second one is FS one
It is compressed like FFS file....it has java apps , registry & NV items config and some other stuff
You can use PFS file to deal with this part

I hope that this post made everything clear for you

Best Regards
24th June 2012, 07:22 PM |#38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylove90

CSC file has two parts

First part is the rcs one
It is QMD compressed...mounted at system start....contain fonts , strings & keyboards files
You can't use PFS file to deal with this part

Second one is FS one
It is compressed like FFS file....it has java apps , registry & NV items config and some other stuff
You can use PFS file to deal with this part

I hope that this post made everything clear for you

Best Regards

Thank you! That actually helps a lot, although I do now know that making a font patch is impossible using this method. This also means that we cannot add/remove languages when upgrading this way, right?
15th July 2012, 11:51 AM |#39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
Question
I tried upgrading from custom XXLD2 to custom BOLE1 using this method, but there are some problems:
  • If I also flash (hacked) apps_compressed.bin from BOLE1, I get a boot loop.
  • If I don't flash amss.bin, calls do not work (clicking the call buttons does nothing)
  • If I flash amss.bin, all connection profiles in connection manager are gone, meaning that no app can any longer connect to the internet via paket data

I used B. Kubicas DisableBadaIntegrity script for apps_compressed.bin. Any idea what I'm doing wrong or how to solve this? I also tried with ANLD1 and XELF1, with the same results, so this is most likely not a problem specific to BOLE1.
15th July 2012, 05:10 PM |#40  
Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by k8500

[*]If I flash amss.bin, all connection profiles in connection manager are gone, meaning that no app can any longer connect to the internet via paket data[/LIST]


Try backing up the connection profile using kies and restoring or creating new profile manually
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes