Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,615 Members 46,236 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Atts build.prop tweak results sg2

Tip us?
 
iXNyNe
Old
#31  
iXNyNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 448
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismax View Post
hey bro i live in bowling green ky and i get good speeds. try my settings they work best.
Paducah here hi neighbor!
Like I said ill test more.

Btw what modem/rom/kernel/etc are you using?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
Habitual Information Indian GiverPost Editor
[edit]Nevermind I take that back[/edit]
 
nismax
Old
#32  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 339
Posts: 644
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bowling green
Quote:
Originally Posted by iXNyNe View Post
Paducah here hi neighbor!
Like I said ill test more.

Btw what modem/rom/kernel/etc are you using?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk


Here my neighbor. Kernel im curently using is entropy dd 12082011 - (experimental)

Send from my SG2-i777 using XDA Premium App
The Following User Says Thank You to nismax For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RockRatt
Old
#33  
RockRatt's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3514
Posts: 3,858
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iXNyNe View Post
Paducah here hi neighbor!
Like I said ill test more.

Btw what modem/rom/kernel/etc are you using?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
Plus dont use the speedtest.net app, it is known to not give correct speeds. Use this link kn your browser,it seems more reliable http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Sent From My KickAss ATT SGS2 SPORTING CM7
 
iXNyNe
Old
#34  
iXNyNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 448
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRatt View Post
Plus dont use the speedtest.net app, it is known to not give correct speeds. Use this link kn your browser,it seems more reliable http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Sent From My KickAss ATT SGS2 SPORTING CM7
Both speedtest.net app and that website use software from ookla... is it just a matter of the flash plugin being better than the native app? (Which seems back asswards).
Do we have any speedtest options that work and don't rely on ookla software?

P.s. btw ookla makes great ****, never had issues before.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
Habitual Information Indian GiverPost Editor
[edit]Nevermind I take that back[/edit]
 
miller7796
Old
#35  
miller7796's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by iXNyNe View Post
Both speedtest.net app and that website use software from ookla... is it just a matter of the flash plugin being better than the native app? (Which seems back asswards).
Do we have any speedtest options that work and don't rely on ookla software?

P.s. btw ookla makes great ****, never had issues before.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
Try Speedtest by XtremeLabs. It takes longer, but I've seen where people like it more than the Ookla app. https://market.android.com/details?i...BlZWR0ZXN0Il0.
It may be on page 54 for you, but not everybody has the same posts per page setting. Give the post number instead.
 
estxxas
Old
#36  
estxxas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 154
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Southern OK
Seems to have bumped my dl speed up on average. Shpanks.



(Not too shabby for a small town in the middle of nowhere lol.)
Current: HTC One 32GB, iPhone 4S 32GB, Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB. That's 96GB of sexy.

Retired: Nexus 7 (2012), Galaxy Note, Galaxy S II, iPad 2, Kindle Fire, iPhone 4S 16GB, Motorola Xoom, iPhone 4 16GB, iPhone 3GS 16GB, HTC Hero, Palm Pre, Treo Pro 850, PPC-6700
 
roadrash7
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 550
Join Date: Aug 2010
Did nothing for me...oh well worth a try

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda premium
 
bleuxeon
Old
#38  
bleuxeon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 200
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Near COGNAC (FR)
same here : it doesnt seems to have any effect.
But I continue investigating.
 
bleuxeon
Old
(Last edited by bleuxeon; 9th March 2012 at 06:48 PM.)
#39  
bleuxeon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 200
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Near COGNAC (FR)
Ok after 2 Gb of data sent and received I can say that even if your carier doesn't support HSUPA (like Orange France and UK), setting ro.ril.hsxpa to 2 (it should be 1) as a positive effect on the down and up speed (as it sometime increase a litle bit the ping).

The same goes with ro.ril.hsdpa.category. In theory the max for my carier is 7 or 8, and the GS2 has a max of 21.
So it sounds very logical to set it to 8 max since my carier doesnt handle more than this 7-8 speed. But I have made and repeat down/up tests half with 8, half with 21 and they tend to be allways better with 21

I don't clame this is the truth about thoose ril.**** values but I can't ignore them



here are my best results down/up/ping :



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes