Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Atts build.prop tweak results sg2

OP nismax

25th February 2012, 09:05 PM   |  #31  
iXNyNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 461
 
1,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nismax

hey bro i live in bowling green ky and i get good speeds. try my settings they work best.

Paducah here hi neighbor!
Like I said ill test more.

Btw what modem/rom/kernel/etc are you using?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
25th February 2012, 09:48 PM   |  #32  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Bowling green
Thanks Meter: 339
 
644 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iXNyNe

Paducah here hi neighbor!
Like I said ill test more.

Btw what modem/rom/kernel/etc are you using?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk



Here my neighbor. Kernel im curently using is entropy dd 12082011 - (experimental)

Send from my SG2-i777 using XDA Premium App
The Following User Says Thank You to nismax For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2012, 05:58 AM   |  #33  
RockRatt's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,653
 
3,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iXNyNe

Paducah here hi neighbor!
Like I said ill test more.

Btw what modem/rom/kernel/etc are you using?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk

Plus dont use the speedtest.net app, it is known to not give correct speeds. Use this link kn your browser,it seems more reliable http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Sent From My KickAss ATT SGS2 SPORTING CM7
28th February 2012, 03:34 PM   |  #34  
iXNyNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 461
 
1,100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRatt

Plus dont use the speedtest.net app, it is known to not give correct speeds. Use this link kn your browser,it seems more reliable http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Sent From My KickAss ATT SGS2 SPORTING CM7

Both speedtest.net app and that website use software from ookla... is it just a matter of the flash plugin being better than the native app? (Which seems back asswards).
Do we have any speedtest options that work and don't rely on ookla software?

P.s. btw ookla makes great ****, never had issues before.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk
28th February 2012, 05:11 PM   |  #35  
miller7796's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 62
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iXNyNe

Both speedtest.net app and that website use software from ookla... is it just a matter of the flash plugin being better than the native app? (Which seems back asswards).
Do we have any speedtest options that work and don't rely on ookla software?

P.s. btw ookla makes great ****, never had issues before.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk

Try Speedtest by XtremeLabs. It takes longer, but I've seen where people like it more than the Ookla app. https://market.android.com/details?i...BlZWR0ZXN0Il0.
1st March 2012, 02:47 PM   |  #36  
estxxas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern OK
Thanks Meter: 40
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Seems to have bumped my dl speed up on average. Shpanks.



(Not too shabby for a small town in the middle of nowhere lol.)
1st March 2012, 04:56 PM   |  #37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Did nothing for me...oh well worth a try

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda premium
4th March 2012, 11:01 AM   |  #38  
bleuxeon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Near COGNAC (FR)
Thanks Meter: 205
 
604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
same here : it doesnt seems to have any effect.
But I continue investigating.
9th March 2012, 07:46 PM   |  #39  
bleuxeon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Near COGNAC (FR)
Thanks Meter: 205
 
604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Ok after 2 Gb of data sent and received I can say that even if your carier doesn't support HSUPA (like Orange France and UK), setting ro.ril.hsxpa to 2 (it should be 1) as a positive effect on the down and up speed (as it sometime increase a litle bit the ping).

The same goes with ro.ril.hsdpa.category. In theory the max for my carier is 7 or 8, and the GS2 has a max of 21.
So it sounds very logical to set it to 8 max since my carier doesnt handle more than this 7-8 speed. But I have made and repeat down/up tests half with 8, half with 21 and they tend to be allways better with 21

I don't clame this is the truth about thoose ril.**** values but I can't ignore them



here are my best results down/up/ping :


Last edited by bleuxeon; 9th March 2012 at 07:48 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes