Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,840 Members 40,852 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

after data wipe, phone boots to black screen, rooted but no CWM recovery - confused

Tip us?
 
Woody
Old
#11  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Thanks Meter 8,890
Posts: 6,691
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
Quote:
Originally Posted by 350Rocket View Post

I will definitely do a donate if you can help me get it going with a decent rom. I would love to have lag fix on it since my girlfriend is a bit annoyed at the lag.
Ok. I wasn't soliciting for a monetary donation, I was just going off that you wanted to trade. I can't trade but if you ever want to donate your phone then just PM me.

I have to agree with kawika that everything I have read has been that your model number is for the Fascinate. Easy tip off would be; does your phone have a sim card? It is probably a CDMA phone with no sim slot. I suggest getting the files you need from the Fascinate forums as I am almost positive that the T959 files will not work on the T959d. Since you have modded a I-9000m you know that they are slightly different than the I-9000. Same thing goes with this circumstance.

Good luck and sorry that there wasn't more I could do but it is just a different phone.


@Citidin - Good to see you got yours solved. If you have questions, please ask (in the correct thread for your question a this one will probably be closed out).
<a href=http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif</a>
ZFFZ

I GPL I

"The work of men of genius, however wrongly directed, hardly ever fails to open the eyes of men to new possibilities."
- Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)
 
350Rocket
Old
(Last edited by 350Rocket; 28th February 2012 at 01:51 PM.)
#12  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 568
Join Date: Dec 2010
It definitely has a sim card and it's HSPA, I pulled the Sim card out and put it in my HTC Desire for her to use, and put my SIM card in this crappy little LG Optimus One that's too small for me to type on. So I guarantee it has a sim card and is nothing like the Verizon phones which will not work on any of the Canadian carriers AFAIK. I think nobody understands what the phone is, and that's why almost every thread with a problem like this ends in 0 replies. I think from now on I will stay away from Samsung's abortion phones that they sell in Canada. Or at least I will research community support before getting one.

Ours is called the Fascinate, but its completely different model # than theirs, it is the T959D. Just like how the new Telus galaxy S2x is the T989D, same phone as the T mobile T989_.

For some reason there seems to be a few posts in the Fascinate section, for Telus only, I think that only started because of confusion about what the phone was, but the phone has nothing in common with the Verizon CDMA version. Actually I think if you look up, just about every phone that Telus or Bell (same network basically) gets, is a phone that T mobile got first. HTC Amaze being another one. HTC Desire Z is the same as the Tmobile G2.

Sorry I misunderstood you about donating the phone itself. My last effort will be the JFD file that Citidin sent me a link to. Hopefully that gets it going. If not I will stash it away until I have extra time to try again.
 
350Rocket
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 568
Join Date: Dec 2010
Well once I got the JFD file downloaded and put phone in download mode, turned on Odin, realized the PC recognizes the device attached and being malfunctioned, so I cannot flash with Odin.
I tried Heimdall which I downloaded yesterday, but the program won't load as it says I'm missing a DLL file.
I tried Android flasher which I downloaded who knows when, and tried to just install a recovery image with it, but it gets stuck while pushing recovery image and the program locks up.
 
350Rocket
Old
#14  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 568
Join Date: Dec 2010
I decided to try my girlfriends Laptop instead of mine after maybe 40 failed attempts to get Odin to communicate on mine, and to my surprise it recognized it right away. I transferred my files, with the JFD to this computer and then flashed with Odin. It took about 2 minutes and it was up and running. I checked about phone and it said 2.3.3 firmware. Really confused I looked back at odin and realized I flashed the I9000M stock 2.3.3 firmware (KG3) that I flashed on my sisters phone back around xmas. I forgot I did that on this laptop.

Anyways it is working as it should except for the home button not working (which I had already read about in a thread about using I9000M or Vibrant roms on the T959D).

While it is unfortunately stock again, the 2.3.3 should fix the original problem of sending to texts to the wrong recipient, and it also seems a lot less laggy. I think I'll just let her try it as is and hope she is happy.
 
ciditin
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 43
Join Date: Feb 2012
If you use the JFD file from the link I sent you, it should be the stock Tmobile Vibrant.
 
gw22
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 44
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barrie
Default Similar problem

Sorry dont mean to hijack your thread but I think I am having a similar problem - posted in the wrong spot before so hopefully I am ok here...

Have a Vibrant and some how got crossed up on it.

I have been able to use Odin to update the phone, however after it says its done, it does a reboot as it supposed to, shows the samsung screen then just shuts down.

After about a hundred tries, someone pointed me to Eugene's no brick. I tried that and it will fix it so it will boot and go into recovery, but I can't seem to do much once I get there. My only options are to update, wide data and wipe cache. Can't get to the point where I can load an update onto the unit.

I tried wide data and reset, then reboot. It shows the samsung vibrant logo, then the splash screen, then the big S and then screen goes black and the cap buttons stay lit.

If I try to go back and load the stock pit and jfd file, it just goes back to not booting at all and shutting down after the logo

I cant seem to get it into recovery unless I do Eugene's fix

In one of my earlier attempts, I did check to repartition as direct in one of the other threads - been chasing this a while now!

Edit: It was originally a bell phone - does this matter?
 
350Rocket
Old
#17  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 568
Join Date: Dec 2010
If it was a Bell phone than it should be the I9000M. It sounds like your problem is a bit different than mine was. I was able to get into recovery mode and download mode just fine. I just didn't know which files to flash with.

I intended to flash the JFD that citidin sent me, but I accidentally use the KJ3 (latest I9000M 2.3.3 firmware). The I9000 and Vibrant roms are compatible with the T959D Telus Fascinate though, only problem being no home or search button.

It sounds like the Eugene thing (whatever that is, I'm not familiar) gets you into stock recovery. Like my original issue, you cannot flash or mount the sd card, or much of anything with the stock recovery.

Do you know that the file your flashing is compatible with your phone (the I9000M I assume)? More info that would probably help, is what firmware did you have on it before, was it JFD? What update did you try on it? Bootloader version - there are gingerbread bootloaders, and froyo bootloaders I think?

Have you tried different files other than the one that doesn't seem to boot up for you? I think most of the tutorials I've looked at, said not to check repartition. When i finally got this T959D working with the I9000 rom I did not check repartition and did not select a pit file, just the PDA, phone, CSC.
The Following User Says Thank You to 350Rocket For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gw22
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 44
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barrie
Yes it is a I9000M - I was trying to load the JFD tar file along with the 512 pit file. I followed a thread in the I9000 section and loaded a JPD tar file onto it, now it shows up as a I9000B - maybe I should stop

I can now get into recovery and or download (i think the steps are differant than hold both volume buttons - mine is holding the volume one way for recovery and the other way for download, along with home and power)

Wondering if I am in this bind because it isnt really what most are calling a Vibrant - maybe under Bell it is something else.

Bootloader? didn't know I had to do anything there

I just picked up the phone used from someone - I assumed it was stock and didn't do a good check to see what was on it.
 
Woody
Old
#19  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Thanks Meter 8,890
Posts: 6,691
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Immersed in Dark Matter
I9000m is not the Vibrate but rather the Bell version of the Captivate. There is a dev section for the I9000m in the I9000 group.

I would definately stop what you are doing and read over there.

******

Also 350 you can re-map your keys to work but I am mobile now and cant search it for you. Reason being that the. Vibrant keys are laid out differently in, ahh can't think right niece where they are, but it is fixable. Just search key remap or remapping.
<a href=http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://www.whiskey103.nl/x/sigs/Woody6_15fps.gif</a>
ZFFZ

I GPL I

"The work of men of genius, however wrongly directed, hardly ever fails to open the eyes of men to new possibilities."
- Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)
The Following User Says Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gw22
Old
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 44
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barrie
Thanks very much for the help - have to wonder why they cant call them the same names regardless of where they are sold - guess thats why they get the big bucks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes