FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

()()()()()()() everyone having the force close issue read this ()()()()()

21st January 2012, 07:54 AM |#21  
appdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 4,319
 
Donate to Me
More
"DO NOT DO THIS IF YOU WANNA flash rom ONLY DO THIS IF YOU HAVE FORCE CLOSE ISSUE"!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsngum

I tried this process and I wanted to flash a new ROM. But in recovery mode it wouldn't read my SD card, and when I transferred the .zip to my internal memory and I tried to install it said I had no space.

Any ideas?

 
 
23rd January 2012, 05:00 PM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
I'm going to refrain from going to deep, but wiping the dalvik cache more than once is asinine. If you want to save yourself some time, wipe the dalvik cache first and reboot. Wiping multiple times is an exercise in stupidity. Think "battery stats" debacle.

If you are wondering what the "dalvik cache" is: http://androidforums.com/eris-all-th...vik-cache.html

If you are wondering why I suggest JUST that first? Long story short, when "pre-fetch" cache goes corrupt these kinds of quirks can happen. There are multiple possible causes (theory being improper shutdown/close).

"Wipe Data" becomes effective if some of the system(usr) data becomes corrupt, but that wouldn't be as common. (can happen)

The OP is trying to be helpful and should be thanked for it.
Last edited by Haxel; 23rd January 2012 at 05:03 PM.
31st January 2012, 01:35 AM |#23  
SKyRocKeting727's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Thumbs up
SUPER USEFUL! Worked when I flashed some things and it got buggy. Great write up.
8th February 2012, 11:05 PM |#24  
orlandoxpolice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
We are starting to get this problem with the tab 8.9 lte (sgh-i957) - same specs as the skyrocket - weird....and we only have a rooted kernel and cwm, not even any roms!
23rd February 2012, 06:32 AM |#25  
silver03wrx's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag westminster maryland
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orlandoxpolice

We are starting to get this problem with the tab 8.9 lte (sgh-i957) - same specs as the skyrocket - weird....and we only have a rooted kernel and cwm, not even any roms!

Are u able to recover from it the same way? If so copy and paste the info in here to your guys thread over there

Obviously youll need to change the links first
28th February 2012, 09:34 PM |#26  
irishmack13's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Indy
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up Thanks very helpful
I appreciate the helpful thread. Has stopped all of my issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to irishmack13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2012, 09:48 PM |#27  
silver03wrx's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag westminster maryland
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
Donate to Me
More
yeah its kinda scary when it happens lol
28th February 2012, 10:09 PM |#28  
Junior Member
Flag Pocatello
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Works for sure
Had the same issue started after i flashed the alien #4 build but had alien #3 previously flashed (Note: Issue was not because of the Alien builds) Flashed back to stock and havent experienced the issues since!
31st March 2012, 07:59 PM |#29  
weezalxc's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
This just happened to me yesterday. I did nothing out of the ordinary. Turned on my phone and tons of FC's and it seemed like most things were back to original. I had stock ROM that came with the phone, rooted, and with the stock recovery. I'm glad this happened after ICS was leaked, cause this gave me a good reason to flash that - which seemed to fix things
5th April 2012, 07:17 AM |#30  
Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I wish they had seperate forums for AT&T and Rogers.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes