Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,301 Members 50,096 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Please HELP! Reboot Problem! TRIED A LOT Different Things! :(

Tip us?
 
alias4ever
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 245
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Question Please HELP! Reboot Problem! TRIED A LOT Different Things! :(

Okay I have tried EVERYTHING! I tried uninstalling my CM9 Alpha 2 completely with Acme Uninstaller and then doing a fresh install. I tried wiping data, cache, davlik, and still nothing! I don't know what to do. I tried so many things and have been working on this for the past 5 or 6 hours today! Please SOMEONE ANYONE have any ideas? My Touchpad is fine for about 2 minutes and no matter what I am doing it freezes for a second or two, screen goes black for a second, and then it reboots. Please SOMEONE HELP! I am about to give up on Android and I didn't love ICS so much I would! Thanks for all the help!
 
malctron
Old
#2  
malctron's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Market Drayton
Have you changed any of the DPI settings? in the build file?
The Following User Says Thank You to malctron For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PeartFan40
Old
#3  
PeartFan40's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1404
Posts: 4,050
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Hadley, Ma. USA
Have you tried booting into recovery and performing a full wipe? Wipe data, cache, dalvik cache.

Sent from my Rocket in the Sky (SGH-i727) using XDA Premium.
 
alias4ever
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 245
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I haven't tried changing the DPI Settings. As for wiping data, cache, and davlik cache I tried all that. When I wipe the davlik cache though in recovery I get this error:

E:unknown volume for path [/sd-ext]

Would that have anything to do with the rebooting? I don't ever recall having this error before. If so, how do I fix it???

Thanks for both suggestions!
 
alias4ever
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 245
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Shound I uninstall everything and just start from scratch and put CM7 Alpha 3.5 and then update it the CM9 Alpha 2 or do you all think that would work???
 
malctron
Old
#6  
malctron's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Market Drayton
I suppose the quickest answer would be to just to start again reload back to webos, then do the process again. I've never had any issues like your having and maybe instead of installing cm7 them cm9 just install straight to cm9. May of been a buggy install. Also maybe before that try redownloading another rom. May of just been a slightly messed up rom you installed.
The Following User Says Thank You to malctron For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rbarkus
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 44
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alias4ever View Post
I haven't tried changing the DPI Settings. As for wiping data, cache, and davlik cache I tried all that. When I wipe the davlik cache though in recovery I get this error:

E:unknown volume for path [/sd-ext]

Would that have anything to do with the rebooting? I don't ever recall having this error before. If so, how do I fix it???

Thanks for both suggestions!
The error is troubling. If it were me, I'd completely redo the CM7 to CM9 install process starting with the uninstall. And get a fresh download of the rom and gapps and every file that you have not used successfully once in an install.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes