Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,143 Members 51,755 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to create/install a custom Splash Screen?

Tip us?
 
TheGrammarFreak
Old
#11  
TheGrammarFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 684
Posts: 2,805
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ha! I win, I have the almighty BlaY0 on my side
Nexus 4: CM10.2
Nexus 7: CM10.2

Twitter | Blog
 
Torkiliuz
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Lightbulb Linux users…

For those of you who use Linux:

1.: Download splash1script.zip, and extract it somewhere convenient.

2.: Create an image in GIMP with the dimensions 320x480. (You may also use an image from the web, and resize it to 320x480 in GIMP.)

3.: In GIMP go to "Save As…" (or press "CTRL+SHIFT+s").

4.: Browse to where you extracted the script.

5.: Click "Select File Type (By Extension)".

6.: Scroll down and select "Windows BMP image".

7:: Name the file "splash1" (without ""), for your own convenience.

8.: Click "Advanced Options".

9.: Choose "24 Bits" - "R8 G8 B8".

10.: Click "Save".

11.: Open a "Terminal" (Either with "Applications>Accessories>Terminal" or with "CTRL+ALT+t").

12.: "cd" to the folder where you extracted the script and saved your image. (For example: "cd ~/Downloads".)

13.: Write "./splash1script splash1.bmp".

14.: Follow the instructions in "Terminal".

15.: Done.

-Torkiliuz
 
tzuhsunchou
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2011
It's show the "Device not allowed" when I flash the splash1. I chenck the /proc/mtd, There is no partition of splash1. How can I flash it?
 
aikon96
Old
#14  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 89
Join Date: Sep 2010
Do u have S-OFF from alpharev installed?
If not, u can´t install it...sorry
Sony Z1 Compact |KitKat| [ROOTED]
 
Ravrahn
Old
#15  
Ravrahn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 173
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney

 
DONATE TO ME
I can't get it to flash - it isn't finding my device when it's in fastboot, only when it's in recovery mode, or just on.

I've flashed AlphaRev and it created the .raw65 image successfully, but my device isn't recognised by the script, nor by the adb, when it's in fastboot mode.

Even booting into recovery, starting an adb shell, and using 'reboot bootloader' just disconnects the device. I have no idea how to fix it.

I'm using the linux tool on Ubuntu btw, and I've definitely flashed to the bootloader before (can't remember what, though)
 
lokety
Old
#16  
lokety's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 39
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Auckland
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrammarFreak View Post
Get the image you want. It needs to be 320 pixels wide and 480 high. Save it out as a 24 bit bmp file called splash1 (ms paint does the job). Any name will do, but for the sake of this guide we'll use that.

Download this tool and extract it into a known directory. Put the bmp you created earlier in there. Open cmd (if you're on windows) and cd into that directory (cd C:\nbimg for example) then run this command:
Code:
Select Code
nbimg -F splash1.bmp -w 320 -h 480
Take the output file and change the extension to .img

To install:
Reboot your phone to fastboot mode
Code:
Select Code
fastboot flash splash1 C:\nbimg\splash1.img
Hi TheGrammarFreak

I tried the fastboot command on my HTC Legend with HBOOT HTC dev unlocked recently, but I just get this:

Code:
Select Code
C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>fastboot flash splash1 splash1.img
sending 'splash1' (300 KB)...
OKAY [  0.126s]
writing 'splash1'...
(bootloader) signature checking...
FAILED (remote: signature verify fail)
finished. total time: 0.239s
Any suggestions?
 
mph_aut
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 53
Join Date: Dec 2010
didn't work for me either - probably the htcdev unlock didn't include s-off for splash1?!
 
QUBiCA
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Enschede
The HTC bootloader unlcock method sucks. It allows nothing except writing direcrly to the system. It even checks for signatures when using fastboot from the Android SDK. At least I get signature error when trying to flash a .img file thru fastboot.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...