FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q] How to create/install a custom Splash Screen?

104 posts
Thanks Meter: 30
 
By aikon96, Senior Member on 2nd January 2011, 10:25 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd January 2011, 10:07 PM |#11  
TheGrammarFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 688
 
More
Ha! I win, I have the almighty BlaY0 on my side
 
 
3rd January 2011, 07:12 PM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Lightbulb Linux users…
For those of you who use Linux:

1.: Download splash1script.zip, and extract it somewhere convenient.

2.: Create an image in GIMP with the dimensions 320x480. (You may also use an image from the web, and resize it to 320x480 in GIMP.)

3.: In GIMP go to "Save As…" (or press "CTRL+SHIFT+s").

4.: Browse to where you extracted the script.

5.: Click "Select File Type (By Extension)".

6.: Scroll down and select "Windows BMP image".

7:: Name the file "splash1" (without ""), for your own convenience.

8.: Click "Advanced Options".

9.: Choose "24 Bits" - "R8 G8 B8".

10.: Click "Save".

11.: Open a "Terminal" (Either with "Applications>Accessories>Terminal" or with "CTRL+ALT+t").

12.: "cd" to the folder where you extracted the script and saved your image. (For example: "cd ~/Downloads".)

13.: Write "./splash1script splash1.bmp".

14.: Follow the instructions in "Terminal".

15.: Done.

-Torkiliuz
4th January 2011, 04:18 AM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It's show the "Device not allowed" when I flash the splash1. I chenck the /proc/mtd, There is no partition of splash1. How can I flash it?
4th January 2011, 10:00 AM |#14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Do u have S-OFF from alpharev installed?
If not, u can´t install it...sorry
24th July 2011, 09:30 PM |#15  
Ravrahn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 140
 
Donate to Me
More
I can't get it to flash - it isn't finding my device when it's in fastboot, only when it's in recovery mode, or just on.

I've flashed AlphaRev and it created the .raw65 image successfully, but my device isn't recognised by the script, nor by the adb, when it's in fastboot mode.

Even booting into recovery, starting an adb shell, and using 'reboot bootloader' just disconnects the device. I have no idea how to fix it.

I'm using the linux tool on Ubuntu btw, and I've definitely flashed to the bootloader before (can't remember what, though)
24th February 2012, 10:38 AM |#16  
lokety's Avatar
Member
Flag Auckland
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGrammarFreak

Get the image you want. It needs to be 320 pixels wide and 480 high. Save it out as a 24 bit bmp file called splash1 (ms paint does the job). Any name will do, but for the sake of this guide we'll use that.

Download this tool and extract it into a known directory. Put the bmp you created earlier in there. Open cmd (if you're on windows) and cd into that directory (cd C:\nbimg for example) then run this command:

Code:
nbimg -F splash1.bmp -w 320 -h 480
Take the output file and change the extension to .img

To install:
Reboot your phone to fastboot mode
Code:
fastboot flash splash1 C:\nbimg\splash1.img

Hi TheGrammarFreak

I tried the fastboot command on my HTC Legend with HBOOT HTC dev unlocked recently, but I just get this:

Code:
C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>fastboot flash splash1 splash1.img
sending 'splash1' (300 KB)...
OKAY [  0.126s]
writing 'splash1'...
(bootloader) signature checking...
FAILED (remote: signature verify fail)
finished. total time: 0.239s
Any suggestions?
25th February 2012, 08:26 PM |#17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
didn't work for me either - probably the htcdev unlock didn't include s-off for splash1?!
1st March 2012, 10:58 AM |#18  
Senior Member
Flag Ergens
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
The HTC bootloader unlcock method sucks. It allows nothing except writing direcrly to the system. It even checks for signatures when using fastboot from the Android SDK. At least I get signature error when trying to flash a .img file thru fastboot.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes