Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Sprint wants me to bring my (rooted) phone in for tech support...

OP barberboy420

5th March 2012, 03:12 PM   |  #1  
barberboy420's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
1,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
So I've been having issues with my 4g since Friday, I tried flashing the dodge kernel to my phone and noticed no 4g after I rebooted. Upon further examination this a.m I think I accidentally flashed another zip but the zip only says flash, I'm thinking that may be a reason no 4g I forgot where I dl the zip I think it was a x99 kernel dl, I could upload to my dropbox if anyone would like to check it pot. Anyway I contacted sprint and we did all kinds of troubleshooting over the phone, updated profile/prl refreshed the system. He even had me manually enter info in my phone to get 4g to work but nada nothing. So he suggested a factory reset and I was like naaaw I don't want to loose all my info(and possibly root) so he made me an e ticket to take my phone into sprint to have it checked out. So I guess the million dollar question is should I? If so, how do I hide my root or is there a way?
5th March 2012, 04:42 PM   |  #2  
crump84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Gump
Thanks Meter: 451
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Don't take it in rooted.. Run the ruu back to stock, check your 4G.. If its still not working then take it in to sprint stock unrooted

Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to crump84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #3  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 7,053
 
10,331 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
+1 to what Crump said. It's your best bet. It may fix your 4G issue. If not at least your Unrooted Stock. Never take a device to Sprint Rooted. There's a good chance they'll flag your account, not something you want. Also to clarify a Factory Reset will not break Root .

TEAM MiK
MikROMs Since 3/13/11
The Following User Says Thank You to prboy1969 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 06:09 PM   |  #4  
sparksco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,943
 
8,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Best thing is just to ruu.
5th March 2012, 06:23 PM   |  #5  
barberboy420's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 133
 
1,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Good stuff ill search here for the ruu then go back to stock in a cpl hrs and see if 4g works (cant update ps3 for nothing on 3g)

Evo Shift 4g MikShifted G v2.0
GO SPURS GO
5th March 2012, 06:33 PM   |  #6  
drob311's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fond du Lac, WI
Thanks Meter: 960
 
1,651 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Please stop using your phone as a hotspot for gaming... You are clogging up the network, therefore screwing all the other users... Just some friendly advice...

Ps... Sprint will immediatly terminate your service if they catch you hosting, which is what ps3 does...

Sent from my PG06100
6th March 2012, 03:34 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag 29.e2ade657b84e, -57.9f2a497fa5d4
Thanks Meter: 29
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drob311

Please stop using your phone as a hotspot for gaming... You are clogging up the network, therefore screwing all the other users... Just some friendly advice...

Ps... Sprint will immediatly terminate your service if they catch you hosting, which is what ps3 does...

Sent from my PG06100

Personally, Sprint's network near me is so sh!tty, that this makes almost no difference. A drop in the bucket. And anyway, if you are not being sarcastic (and I hope you are), why does it matter how he uses his data? Data is data.
6th March 2012, 04:08 AM   |  #8  
drob311's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fond du Lac, WI
Thanks Meter: 960
 
1,651 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanthemanofchicago

Personally, Sprint's network near me is so sh!tty, that this makes almost no difference. A drop in the bucket. And anyway, if you are not being sarcastic (and I hope you are), why does it matter how he uses his data? Data is data.

No I'm being serious... There is a HUGE difference in how data is transferred between a mobile network and a landline ip... Mobile networks were NEVER meant to handle the size of data packets that get transfered when tethering as a host on ps3... Do some research because in this instance, data is not data. People that use mobile networks for hosting ps3 and xbox, although xbox does it quite differently, are the very reason why sprint's unlimited data could disappear soon. Sprint can easily tell when you have been tethering more or less hosting. I dunno about you but I personally cant afford 5 lines on VZW or ATT with capped data, and I have terrible T-Mobile coverage in my area. It's not the little amount of tether usage majority of us use, it's the huge amounts of data that are transferred when someone is using their phone as a host, i.e. running ps3/xbox, torrents, etc... And yes, 3G in my area sucks too, but that makes it right for someone to clog up what little bit of network that is there? Like I said unlimited could be ripped away from us, unless people start showing a little respect to the t.o.s. agreements WE ALL signed...

Sent from my PG06100
Last edited by drob311; 6th March 2012 at 04:13 AM.

The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to drob311 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes