MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

New 407 ROM doesn't have wifi tethering? Please help. (screenshot attached)

OP 513263337

30th December 2011, 12:05 AM   |  #11  
slaydog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 452
 
1,490 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Can you go to settings/about phone and provide a screen shot?

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk
30th December 2011, 12:29 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Heredia
Thanks Meter: 805
 
2,692 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaydog

Can you go to settings/about phone and provide a screen shot?

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk

Here are screenshots of my WiFi tethering options:









PS... for any of the guys viewing this post, I'm curious to know why the pics from my Public Share folder on Google Docs would not load here to xda? I had to use my Dropbox account
Last edited by cdzo72; 30th December 2011 at 01:24 AM. Reason: Add images
30th December 2011, 02:59 AM   |  #13  
slaydog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 452
 
1,490 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Don't get offended, you mis-read my post
I was asking to see your settings/about phone (in portrait mode please) because I wanted to see all that you had installed on your phone, and you are clearly adept at taking screen shots, so you can avoid all the hassle of writing it down.
I can clearly see you do not have wifi tethering from the OP

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to slaydog For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th December 2011, 05:08 AM   |  #14  
sparky4017's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 63
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
unlock it
I diden`t have it eather till i unlocked the phone your carrier can provide the unlock code for you or you can buy a code off ebay
Last edited by sparky4017; 30th December 2011 at 05:10 AM.
2nd January 2012, 04:49 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Flag Pisa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky4017

I diden`t have it eather till i unlocked the phone your carrier can provide the unlock code for you or you can buy a code off ebay

Same thing happened to me !
2nd January 2012, 05:28 PM   |  #16  
L22EEW's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 7
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
I have tethering in mine menu! But my Dell Streak was simfree, and unlocked when I purchased it.
3rd January 2012, 06:36 AM   |  #17  
slaydog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 452
 
1,490 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
BTW, there is a workaround to get the stock tethering functionality. Just get "Quick Settings" or "Quicker" from the Market and use their widget to switch it on and off and access the settings. As TheManii said, the setting is just hidden on some stock locked roms...

(Credit to "ffnbbs" here: forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=984557)

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk
Last edited by slaydog; 3rd January 2012 at 06:43 AM.
3rd January 2012, 06:10 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Check if your APN settings are all correct and in place
5th January 2012, 03:41 AM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I don't have the option either, but I can turn it on via elixir2 widgets.

so I don't care.
7th March 2012, 12:25 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Flag FV-british columbia
Thanks Meter: 125
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
i dont have it either..
i had a stock dell streak 5 with the latest Canada rogers rom before i updated.
there was tethering before nothing now..

would be nice to fix but i dont use it..

doing to flash the Stock Deodexed 407 tomorrow see if thats any different.

everything else seems fine..
update

wifi tethering seems to be an issue of the sim card as with my bell card that has a working internet apn there is the wifi hotspot menu, but i started with a speakout sim (and no internet connectivity) and the hotspot menu was missing until i changed the simcard and set the apn to work with bell i surfed the net and rebooted and hotspot was there.. and its still there with the speakout sim in now


and after a few reboots wifi teathering is gone again with the speakout (no Internet with this sim card)

so i think it is definable as sim card/internet access related
Last edited by nutpants; 8th March 2012 at 12:36 AM. Reason: new info

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes