Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,351 Members 41,279 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can I update webOS and still put Android on?

Tip us?
 
jameslfc5
Old
#1  
jameslfc5's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 1,540
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default [Q] Can I update webOS and still put Android on?

An update has come up for webOS so I was wondering, if I update can I still put Android on at a later date?

Thank
James

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to jameslfc5 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chicle_11
Old
#2  
chicle_11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 862
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameslfc5 View Post
An update has come up for webOS so I was wondering, if I update can I still put Android on at a later date?

Thank
James

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
Yes you can.
The Following User Says Thank You to chicle_11 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jameslfc5
Old
#3  
jameslfc5's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 1,540
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicle_11 View Post
Yes you can.
Thanks I'll update when I'm home then, I am enjoying webOS so far, but it's just a little laggy so hopefully this will fix that

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 
chicle_11
Old
#4  
chicle_11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 862
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameslfc5 View Post
Thanks I'll update when I'm home then, I am enjoying webOS so far, but it's just a little laggy so hopefully this will fix that

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
In webOs, apply the tweaks to make it faster (logging, preware, etc.). The instructions are in the forum.

I find webos fast with no lagging. I have Uberkernel Oc'd to 1.7 max, 384 min.

In android, I use cm9 alpha 2, and/or Cherry Kang. They both work well.
The Following User Says Thank You to chicle_11 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
khollis7
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin

 
DONATE TO ME
Please remember in order to upgrade your WebOs to the latest you have to remove any kernel tweaks first then re-apply after you upgrade.
 
pdxmatts
Old
#6  
pdxmatts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland
What if I have CM7 alpha 3.5 already on my touchpad? Can I install the WebOS update or will it remove CM7?
They aren't really "rules", more like guide lines. - Barbosa

Samsung Vibrant
Rom: [4.0.3] ICS Euphoria RC2.1
HP TouchPad 32gb Android 2.3.7 Alpha 3.5 (CM7)
Blackberry Bold 9900 OS 7.1.0.342
 
chinkster
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 429
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
What if I have CM7 alpha 3.5 already on my touchpad? Can I install the WebOS update or will it remove CM7?
Same question

HP Touchpad - CM9a2
 
spunker88
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 333
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watertown, NY
You may have to run ACMEInstaller again after updating WebOS. CM will still be there, its just moboot is not working so you will have to reinstall it using ACMEInstaller.
Motorola Droid Bionic
Stock 4.1.2 Rooted
CM11 4.4 Safestrap

HP Touchpad
Evervolv 4.4

Toshiba Encore
Windows 8.1
 
Carey4782
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burnaby
Default Update WebOS then re-run ACMEInstaller

You will have to run ACMEInstaller again after updating WebOS. CM will still be there, its just moboot is not working so you will have to reinstall it using ACMEInstaller.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...