FORUMS

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

[Q] Swype language get's deleted after reboot

129 posts
Thanks Meter: 35
 
By WalkerOfTheDay, Senior Member on 8th March 2012, 09:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I'm having a strange issue,

I was having WiFi problems with my 2.3.5 rom S5660OXXKS2.
voetbalremco told me this one has baseband problems and I should flash Russian S5660OXXKS5 firmware to fix it.

Which did, I'm very happy ! The only issue is, the Swype keyboard of this rom doesn't have Dutch dictionary included. So restored my Titanium backup which does include Dutch dictionary.
It works fine, but everytime I reboot my phone, Dutch dictionary is gone and I have to restory my Titanium backup once again.

Is there a way to prevent this from happening ?
 
 
8th March 2012, 12:18 PM |#2  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag gelderland
Thanks Meter: 1,831
 
Donate to Me
More
Try pushing it to /system

Sent from my GT-S5660 using xda premium
8th March 2012, 01:19 PM |#3  
WalkerOfTheDay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Winschoten
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by voetbalremco

Try pushing it to /system

Sent from my GT-S5660 using xda premium

I have no idea what you just said

How do I push it to /system ??
8th March 2012, 03:38 PM |#4  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag gelderland
Thanks Meter: 1,831
 
Donate to Me
More
if you can restore the language pack, or swype, its problably a .apk install file.
if you can copy that apk from your /system/app, were it problably is when restoring it from titaniumbackup, copy it, save it on your sd. then reboot, and its problably 'gone' from your app drawer, but still in /system/app... then install it like a normal .apk when its placed at /system/app.
then reboot and it should be , as a system app.
8th March 2012, 05:30 PM |#5  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 486
 
Donate to Me
More
Swype has another file installed in /system in addition to the APK:

/system/lib/libSwypeCore*.so (libSwypeCore.2.72.77.24602.so on the 5660M MUGK3)

Try matching the two and let us know if that fixes the problem.
9th March 2012, 08:38 AM |#6  
WalkerOfTheDay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Winschoten
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by voetbalremco

if you can restore the language pack, or swype, its problably a .apk install file.
if you can copy that apk from your /system/app, were it problably is when restoring it from titaniumbackup, copy it, save it on your sd. then reboot, and its problably 'gone' from your app drawer, but still in /system/app... then install it like a normal .apk when its placed at /system/app.
then reboot and it should be , as a system app.

Thanks, I tried this, but unfortunately no luck. When I install the APK I moved to SD, Dutch language cannot be selected in Swype.

It seems data is getting wiped after restart. I made a few screenshots:

The first screenshot is after rebooting. The second one after restoring TB backup and selecting Dutch language and typing a word that's not in the dictionary. So a lot of data is getting wiped after reboot



Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkshado

Swype has another file installed in /system in addition to the APK:

/system/lib/libSwypeCore*.so (libSwypeCore.2.72.77.24602.so on the 5660M MUGK3)

Try matching the two and let us know if that fixes the problem.

Hi Darkshado, mine is named libSwypeCore.so, without the version number:

Last edited by WalkerOfTheDay; 9th March 2012 at 08:41 AM.
9th March 2012, 09:50 AM |#7  
WalkerOfTheDay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Winschoten
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
"fixed" it.
Well I fixed it, kinda.

I delete the system app and installed the newer Swype Beta, which let me dowload Dutch language. And this one doesn't get wiped !

I still find it strange though....
9th March 2012, 04:53 PM |#8  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 486
 
Donate to Me
More
Also: I don't think it's a good idea to move something like a keyboard to SD.
9th March 2012, 07:27 PM |#9  
Andy's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,433
 
Donate to Me
More
Quick question guys.

Which ROM has Swype in it?
Swype is considered warez here at XDA and is not permissible to be included in any ROM.

The only exception to this is, if the Original, Unrooted and Stock version of the ROM/RUU that the custom ROM is based on has Swype included by the manufacturer and/or the carrier.
9th March 2012, 07:33 PM |#10  
voetbalremco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag gelderland
Thanks Meter: 1,831
 
Donate to Me
More
Swype is included in all samsung roms, maybe also others.
its not warez

Sent from my GT-S5660 using xda premium
9th March 2012, 07:35 PM |#11  
Andy's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,433
 
Donate to Me
More
All Samsung Gio ROMs?
My wife has/had a stock SGS and no Swype was on it.

I'm not gearing up to ban the whole Galaxy Gio forum for using Swype Just thought I'd ask.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes