FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Mobile data doesn't activate when wifi off

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By turbodogfishhead, Junior Member on 7th August 2011, 02:24 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Having a real hard time withbswitching between wifi and 3g, anyone help? When I turn off wifi after a few hours of use, the mobile data wont come back without a reboot. I have tried cycling airplane mode, and it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. Only way to get back is with a reboot.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA App
 
 
7th August 2011, 10:23 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbodogfishhead

Having a real hard time withbswitching between wifi and 3g, anyone help? When I turn off wifi after a few hours of use, the mobile data wont come back without a reboot. I have tried cycling airplane mode, and it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. Only way to get back is with a reboot.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA App

does it happen regardless of where you are? my first charge had data issues, it would only grab carrier data 1 out of maybe 10 times i rebooted and/or turned wifi off, and when it did, it took hours. replacement device still has trouble reacquiring carrier data at my home, but it's fine everywhere else. fwiw, when i researched my issue, i saw tons of anecdotal reports of people having their sim replaced by vzw and not having any further data issues.
8th August 2011, 02:29 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the reply. It seems to happen regardless of location unfortunately. I am trying to use Llama or Y5 to control wifi but its not very effective when 3g wont come back on!

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA App
8th March 2012, 02:25 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
deleted deleted
Last edited by cmoe; 8th March 2012 at 02:27 PM.
8th March 2012, 03:43 PM |#5  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,651
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbodogfishhead

Having a real hard time withbswitching between wifi and 3g, anyone help? When I turn off wifi after a few hours of use, the mobile data wont come back without a reboot. I have tried cycling airplane mode, and it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. Only way to get back is with a reboot.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using XDA App

What have you done to your phone? what is your current setup? Maybe it's time for you to flash back to factory stock to see if the issue resolved and take it from there.
9th March 2012, 03:46 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
You don't happen to be using juice defender or something like that? When I used it, I was having all sorts of problems getting data to come back on. Ditched JD and all is well.
25th March 2012, 03:28 AM |#7  
FrancisV's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I use Tasker to switch between 4g and Wifi. I haven't experienced any issues even though I switch back and forth several times a day. Could your problem be a defective phone or the radio firmware? Personally I run a rooted Stock EP4D and have no complaints.
25th March 2012, 03:44 AM |#8  
jco23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 524
 
More
same experience for me when using Auto Wifi on eclipse.

no problems after switching back to Tweakstock
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes