Post Reply

Using ErwinP's CM-9 ROM, its fast with some issues

9th March 2012, 05:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bhubaneswar
Thanks Meter: 6
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Hello all,

Today i installed the CM-9 ROM by ErwinP on my 1 year old Wildfire.

Its good with some issues:
1. Camera doesn't work.
2. gallery has a bug. The albums were visible when we tap and hold on the screen and drag to left or right. when we lift the finger the screen goes blank.
3. menu loading is slow every time.
4. screen lock is present but you have to select slide in the lock screen settings.

For any further issues, i'll update here, as I am new to this forum.

Some facts:

The ROM after install takes 151.8 MB of internal memory.
I have custom MTD partition of 160MB and 15MB cache. I'm getting 290 of internal memory but the system initially is taking 40 MB(I don't know why.)
So, usable is 250MB internal memory.
9th March 2012, 07:35 AM   |  #2  
pauch_19@yahoo.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07

Hello all,

Today i installed the CM-9 ROM by ErwinP on my 1 year old Wildfire.

Its good with some issues:
1. Camera doesn't work.
2. gallery has a bug. The albums were visible when we tap and hold on the screen and drag to left or right. when we lift the finger the screen goes blank.
3. menu loading is slow every time.
4. screen lock is present but you have to select slide in the lock screen settings.

For any further issues, i'll update here, as I am new to this forum.

Some facts:

The ROM after install takes 151.8 MB of internal memory.
I have custom MTD partition of 160MB and 15MB cache. I'm getting 290 of internal memory but the system initially is taking 40 MB(I don't know why.)
So, usable is 250MB internal memory.

first two issues you pointed are already given issues. read op to check common issues present as well as replacement app particularly for gallery and some other stuff.

other than that i think i dont have any issues like the other things you mentioned.

try 210/25 custom mtd partitions...it worked for me
9th March 2012, 08:19 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bhubaneswar
Thanks Meter: 6
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
@pauch_19: thanks for the information. I will look into alternatives to the bugs. Also you can try my custom MTD settings if you want more internal memory. Can you help me in getting the Market app to work(or any alternative app).
9th March 2012, 08:27 AM   |  #4  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 1,193
 
2,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07

@pauch_19: thanks for the information. I will look into alternatives to the bugs. Also you can try my custom MTD settings if you want more internal memory. Can you help me in getting the Market app to work(or any alternative app).

What's your problem with the market?

Sent from my Wildfire using xda premium
9th March 2012, 08:33 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bhubaneswar
Thanks Meter: 6
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I installed the market v3.4.4 backed up previously. When I open it, it shutdowns automatically. kindly, guide me.
9th March 2012, 08:47 AM   |  #6  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 1,193
 
2,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07

I installed the market v3.4.4 backed up previously. When I open it, it shutdowns automatically. kindly, guide me.

Did you flash Google apps first? Or just install 3.4.4 apk?

You need to flash gapps I think, don't bother with 3.4.4 you should get an auto update to the new play one eventually.

Sent from my Wildfire using xda premium
9th March 2012, 08:56 AM   |  #7  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Slovenj Gradec
Thanks Meter: 736
 
2,252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805

Did you flash Google apps first? Or just install 3.4.4 apk?

You need to flash gapps I think, don't bother with 3.4.4 you should get an auto update to the new play one eventually.

Sent from my Wildfire using xda premium

Yeah, you'll need the entire gapps since the market also relies on some extra stuff.
(I had the same problem when I just installed the market .apk on my Elf.)

Sent from my Ainol Novo7 Elf using xda premium
9th March 2012, 12:58 PM   |  #8  
pauch_19@yahoo.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
that's probably the reason why you have more space on your internal memory because you forgot to flash gapps. incase you havent, flash gapps as what scratch and nejc suggested.. its also posted in op. its the latest gapps, about 52 mb in size so you will have to set your mtd partitions to default which is 250. im using the modified version which is just about 19 mb.

goodluck!
9th March 2012, 01:22 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bhubaneswar
Thanks Meter: 6
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
First of all thanks to all(Scratch0805,pauch_19 and nejc121) for your support in providing the information.

After getting the solution suggested by "Scratch0805". I again installed the ROM and along with the gapps at the same time. This time, I have taken the partition as 200 and 20. And after the boot, in terminal i found that system is using 186.4 MB. Still 13.6MB left.

Note: i installed the gapps with the size 51.88MB unmodified zip.

Now, everything works as it should have with camera as the exception.

One thing I want to know, what should be the CPU settings to follow for more than a day of battery life. Previously, i was using ON-DEMAND with 264-672MHz
and getting less than 22hrs of backup in CM7.
Last edited by rajumack07; 9th March 2012 at 01:25 PM.
9th March 2012, 01:35 PM   |  #10  
pauch_19@yahoo.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07

First of all thanks to all(Scratch0805,pauch_19 and nejc121) for your support in providing the information.

After getting the solution suggested by "Scratch0805". I again installed the ROM and along with the gapps at the same time. This time, I have taken the partition as 200 and 20. And after the boot, in terminal i found that system is using 186.4 MB. Still 13.6MB left.

Note: i installed the gapps with the size 51.88MB unmodified zip.

Now, everything works as it should have with camera as the exception.

One thing I want to know, what should be the CPU settings to follow for more than a day of battery life. Previously, i was using ON-DEMAND with 264-672MHz
and getting less than 22hrs of backup in CM7.

mine is 352/729 smartassv2. on minimal - regular use, mine last a day and a half..i really think it depends on phone usage.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes