Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,607 Members 52,568 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Using ErwinP's CM-9 ROM, its fast with some issues

Tip us?
 
rajumack07
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bhubaneswar
Default Using ErwinP's CM-9 ROM, its fast with some issues

Hello all,

Today i installed the CM-9 ROM by ErwinP on my 1 year old Wildfire.

Its good with some issues:
1. Camera doesn't work.
2. gallery has a bug. The albums were visible when we tap and hold on the screen and drag to left or right. when we lift the finger the screen goes blank.
3. menu loading is slow every time.
4. screen lock is present but you have to select slide in the lock screen settings.

For any further issues, i'll update here, as I am new to this forum.

Some facts:

The ROM after install takes 151.8 MB of internal memory.
I have custom MTD partition of 160MB and 15MB cache. I'm getting 290 of internal memory but the system initially is taking 40 MB(I don't know why.)
So, usable is 250MB internal memory.
 
pauch_19@yahoo.com
Old
#2  
pauch_19@yahoo.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 855
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07 View Post
Hello all,

Today i installed the CM-9 ROM by ErwinP on my 1 year old Wildfire.

Its good with some issues:
1. Camera doesn't work.
2. gallery has a bug. The albums were visible when we tap and hold on the screen and drag to left or right. when we lift the finger the screen goes blank.
3. menu loading is slow every time.
4. screen lock is present but you have to select slide in the lock screen settings.

For any further issues, i'll update here, as I am new to this forum.

Some facts:

The ROM after install takes 151.8 MB of internal memory.
I have custom MTD partition of 160MB and 15MB cache. I'm getting 290 of internal memory but the system initially is taking 40 MB(I don't know why.)
So, usable is 250MB internal memory.
first two issues you pointed are already given issues. read op to check common issues present as well as replacement app particularly for gallery and some other stuff.

other than that i think i dont have any issues like the other things you mentioned.

try 210/25 custom mtd partitions...it worked for me
DEVICE: SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE II




SAMSUNG GALAXY SII

HTC BUZZ WILDFIRE
 
rajumack07
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bhubaneswar
@pauch_19: thanks for the information. I will look into alternatives to the bugs. Also you can try my custom MTD settings if you want more internal memory. Can you help me in getting the Market app to work(or any alternative app).
 
Scratch0805
Old
#4  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07 View Post
@pauch_19: thanks for the information. I will look into alternatives to the bugs. Also you can try my custom MTD settings if you want more internal memory. Can you help me in getting the Market app to work(or any alternative app).
What's your problem with the market?

Sent from my Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox
 
rajumack07
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bhubaneswar
I installed the market v3.4.4 backed up previously. When I open it, it shutdowns automatically. kindly, guide me.
 
Scratch0805
Old
#6  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07 View Post
I installed the market v3.4.4 backed up previously. When I open it, it shutdowns automatically. kindly, guide me.
Did you flash Google apps first? Or just install 3.4.4 apk?

You need to flash gapps I think, don't bother with 3.4.4 you should get an auto update to the new play one eventually.

Sent from my Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox
 
Lesicnik1
Old
#7  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 734
Posts: 2,249
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Slovenj Gradec
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805 View Post
Did you flash Google apps first? Or just install 3.4.4 apk?

You need to flash gapps I think, don't bother with 3.4.4 you should get an auto update to the new play one eventually.

Sent from my Wildfire using xda premium
Yeah, you'll need the entire gapps since the market also relies on some extra stuff.
(I had the same problem when I just installed the market .apk on my Elf.)

Sent from my Ainol Novo7 Elf using xda premium
 
pauch_19@yahoo.com
Old
#8  
pauch_19@yahoo.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 855
Join Date: Oct 2010
that's probably the reason why you have more space on your internal memory because you forgot to flash gapps. incase you havent, flash gapps as what scratch and nejc suggested.. its also posted in op. its the latest gapps, about 52 mb in size so you will have to set your mtd partitions to default which is 250. im using the modified version which is just about 19 mb.

goodluck!
DEVICE: SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE II




SAMSUNG GALAXY SII

HTC BUZZ WILDFIRE
 
rajumack07
Old
(Last edited by rajumack07; 9th March 2012 at 01:25 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bhubaneswar
First of all thanks to all(Scratch0805,pauch_19 and nejc121) for your support in providing the information.

After getting the solution suggested by "Scratch0805". I again installed the ROM and along with the gapps at the same time. This time, I have taken the partition as 200 and 20. And after the boot, in terminal i found that system is using 186.4 MB. Still 13.6MB left.

Note: i installed the gapps with the size 51.88MB unmodified zip.

Now, everything works as it should have with camera as the exception.

One thing I want to know, what should be the CPU settings to follow for more than a day of battery life. Previously, i was using ON-DEMAND with 264-672MHz
and getting less than 22hrs of backup in CM7.
 
pauch_19@yahoo.com
Old
#10  
pauch_19@yahoo.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 855
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajumack07 View Post
First of all thanks to all(Scratch0805,pauch_19 and nejc121) for your support in providing the information.

After getting the solution suggested by "Scratch0805". I again installed the ROM and along with the gapps at the same time. This time, I have taken the partition as 200 and 20. And after the boot, in terminal i found that system is using 186.4 MB. Still 13.6MB left.

Note: i installed the gapps with the size 51.88MB unmodified zip.

Now, everything works as it should have with camera as the exception.

One thing I want to know, what should be the CPU settings to follow for more than a day of battery life. Previously, i was using ON-DEMAND with 264-672MHz
and getting less than 22hrs of backup in CM7.
mine is 352/729 smartassv2. on minimal - regular use, mine last a day and a half..i really think it depends on phone usage.
DEVICE: SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE II




SAMSUNG GALAXY SII

HTC BUZZ WILDFIRE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes