Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Infrastructure Wireless on rooted 2.3.4 DX2

OP scarfoot

7th March 2012, 08:22 PM   |  #1  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Ok rooted by DX2 very quickly.

Now, when I go to run any of the Wireless Teether apps, none of my mobile devices see it. I believe this because I can only get these apps to run in Ad-hoc mode. I am on v2.3.4.

Do I need to flash a custom rom in order to make this work, or is there a fix somewhere?

Alot of stuff that I am finding when I search is from 2.3.1 or 2.2.

Any point in the right direction is appreciated.

Thanks,

-Sf-
7th March 2012, 08:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Lincoln
Thanks Meter: 42
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I believe you have to do the TBH radio hack to use infrastructure instead of ad-hoc. If you do this then you can use the mobile hotspot app which runs in infrastructure.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
Last edited by tkuligowski; 7th March 2012 at 08:45 PM.
8th March 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #3  
three west's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madison, WI
Thanks Meter: 20
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
or do the radio on/off trick

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=20

from

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1186178

those are the only two methods I'm aware of, and I keep fairly close tabs on that one
8th March 2012, 02:14 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
There's also this. I don't know for sure if it works on our phones or not as I've had no need to use it. I'm running CM7 and it comes with wireless tethering. It looks just like the Verizon wireless hotspot app though. Perhaps that hack is how it's done on CM7. Can't hurt to try it

Thinking about it again, I'll flash back to a rom that has VZW's app on it and see if it works. I'll report back.

EDIT:
Guess you can scratch this idea. I tried it on Liberty and on a stock rom. Doesn't work.
Last edited by robocuff; 8th March 2012 at 04:55 AM.
8th March 2012, 11:41 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
I've got CM7 and my friends moto phone was able to connect. Just used the built in tether in wireless settings in CM7
The other apps only do ad-hoc with out phone so you can connect your laptop but not anotyer phone I believe.

Sent from my MB870 using XDA
9th March 2012, 03:13 AM   |  #6  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

There's also this. I don't know for sure if it works on our phones or not as I've had no need to use it. I'm running CM7 and it comes with wireless tethering. It looks just like the Verizon wireless hotspot app though. Perhaps that hack is how it's done on CM7. Can't hurt to try it

Thinking about it again, I'll flash back to a rom that has VZW's app on it and see if it works. I'll report back.

EDIT:
Guess you can scratch this idea. I tried it on Liberty and on a stock rom. Doesn't work.

Thanks for giving it a shot!

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
9th March 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #7  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I was able to get wifi to work on my kindle fire by installing the zt 180 app that allows the kindle to connect to an adhoc network, but its slow. Just need to figure a way to get infrastructure wifi to work right.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
9th March 2012, 04:30 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.
9th March 2012, 03:27 PM   |  #9  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.

Is there a Rom you can recommend? What kind of bugs have you seen?

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
10th March 2012, 10:43 PM   |  #10  
three west's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madison, WI
Thanks Meter: 20
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.

CM7 includes a hacked wifi hotspot?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes