5,593,458 Members 37,365 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Infrastructure Wireless on rooted 2.3.4 DX2

Tip us?
 
scarfoot
Old
#1  
scarfoot's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 244
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Raleigh-Durham
Default [Q] Infrastructure Wireless on rooted 2.3.4 DX2

Ok rooted by DX2 very quickly.

Now, when I go to run any of the Wireless Teether apps, none of my mobile devices see it. I believe this because I can only get these apps to run in Ad-hoc mode. I am on v2.3.4.

Do I need to flash a custom rom in order to make this work, or is there a fix somewhere?

Alot of stuff that I am finding when I search is from 2.3.1 or 2.2.

Any point in the right direction is appreciated.

Thanks,

-Sf-
 
tkuligowski
Old
(Last edited by tkuligowski; 7th March 2012 at 07:45 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 184
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lincoln
I believe you have to do the TBH radio hack to use infrastructure instead of ad-hoc. If you do this then you can use the mobile hotspot app which runs in infrastructure.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
 
three west
Old
#3  
three west's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 282
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Madison, WI

 
DONATE TO ME
or do the radio on/off trick

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=20

from

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1186178

those are the only two methods I'm aware of, and I keep fairly close tabs on that one
 
robocuff
Old
(Last edited by robocuff; 8th March 2012 at 03:55 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 219
Join Date: Jul 2011
There's also this. I don't know for sure if it works on our phones or not as I've had no need to use it. I'm running CM7 and it comes with wireless tethering. It looks just like the Verizon wireless hotspot app though. Perhaps that hack is how it's done on CM7. Can't hurt to try it

Thinking about it again, I'll flash back to a rom that has VZW's app on it and see if it works. I'll report back.

EDIT:
Guess you can scratch this idea. I tried it on Liberty and on a stock rom. Doesn't work.
 
97Pathy
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
I've got CM7 and my friends moto phone was able to connect. Just used the built in tether in wireless settings in CM7
The other apps only do ad-hoc with out phone so you can connect your laptop but not anotyer phone I believe.

Sent from my MB870 using XDA
 
scarfoot
Old
#6  
scarfoot's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 244
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Raleigh-Durham
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff View Post
There's also this. I don't know for sure if it works on our phones or not as I've had no need to use it. I'm running CM7 and it comes with wireless tethering. It looks just like the Verizon wireless hotspot app though. Perhaps that hack is how it's done on CM7. Can't hurt to try it

Thinking about it again, I'll flash back to a rom that has VZW's app on it and see if it works. I'll report back.

EDIT:
Guess you can scratch this idea. I tried it on Liberty and on a stock rom. Doesn't work.
Thanks for giving it a shot!

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
 
scarfoot
Old
#7  
scarfoot's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 244
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Raleigh-Durham
I was able to get wifi to work on my kindle fire by installing the zt 180 app that allows the kindle to connect to an adhoc network, but its slow. Just need to figure a way to get infrastructure wifi to work right.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
 
robocuff
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 219
Join Date: Jul 2011
Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.
 
scarfoot
Old
#9  
scarfoot's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 244
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Raleigh-Durham
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff View Post
Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.
Is there a Rom you can recommend? What kind of bugs have you seen?

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
 
three west
Old
#10  
three west's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 282
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Madison, WI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff View Post
Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.
CM7 includes a hacked wifi hotspot?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more

HTC Sense 6 Ported to the Nexus 5

The Google Nexus 5 is regarded as having everything an Android user needs or wants: timely updates, … more