FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Infrastructure Wireless on rooted 2.3.4 DX2

7th March 2012, 07:22 PM |#1  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Ok rooted by DX2 very quickly.

Now, when I go to run any of the Wireless Teether apps, none of my mobile devices see it. I believe this because I can only get these apps to run in Ad-hoc mode. I am on v2.3.4.

Do I need to flash a custom rom in order to make this work, or is there a fix somewhere?

Alot of stuff that I am finding when I search is from 2.3.1 or 2.2.

Any point in the right direction is appreciated.

Thanks,

-Sf-
 
 
7th March 2012, 07:33 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Lincoln
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
I believe you have to do the TBH radio hack to use infrastructure instead of ad-hoc. If you do this then you can use the mobile hotspot app which runs in infrastructure.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
Last edited by tkuligowski; 7th March 2012 at 07:45 PM.
8th March 2012, 12:44 AM |#3  
three west's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madison, WI
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
or do the radio on/off trick

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=20

from

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1186178

those are the only two methods I'm aware of, and I keep fairly close tabs on that one
8th March 2012, 01:14 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
There's also this. I don't know for sure if it works on our phones or not as I've had no need to use it. I'm running CM7 and it comes with wireless tethering. It looks just like the Verizon wireless hotspot app though. Perhaps that hack is how it's done on CM7. Can't hurt to try it

Thinking about it again, I'll flash back to a rom that has VZW's app on it and see if it works. I'll report back.

EDIT:
Guess you can scratch this idea. I tried it on Liberty and on a stock rom. Doesn't work.
Last edited by robocuff; 8th March 2012 at 03:55 AM.
8th March 2012, 10:41 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've got CM7 and my friends moto phone was able to connect. Just used the built in tether in wireless settings in CM7
The other apps only do ad-hoc with out phone so you can connect your laptop but not anotyer phone I believe.

Sent from my MB870 using XDA
9th March 2012, 02:13 AM |#6  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

There's also this. I don't know for sure if it works on our phones or not as I've had no need to use it. I'm running CM7 and it comes with wireless tethering. It looks just like the Verizon wireless hotspot app though. Perhaps that hack is how it's done on CM7. Can't hurt to try it

Thinking about it again, I'll flash back to a rom that has VZW's app on it and see if it works. I'll report back.

EDIT:
Guess you can scratch this idea. I tried it on Liberty and on a stock rom. Doesn't work.

Thanks for giving it a shot!

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
9th March 2012, 02:16 AM |#7  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I was able to get wifi to work on my kindle fire by installing the zt 180 app that allows the kindle to connect to an adhoc network, but its slow. Just need to figure a way to get infrastructure wifi to work right.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
9th March 2012, 03:30 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.
9th March 2012, 02:27 PM |#9  
scarfoot's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Raleigh-Durham
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.

Is there a Rom you can recommend? What kind of bugs have you seen?

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
10th March 2012, 09:43 PM |#10  
three west's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madison, WI
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

Well, if nothing else you could flash CM7. It comes with tethering. It's infrastructure, not ad-hoc. It appears to be the same app as VZW's wireless hotspot. Works great for me.

CM7 includes a hacked wifi hotspot?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes