Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,368 Members 51,991 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Beasty/Clemsyn Ultimate Froyo Combo - Simply THE BEST (1.2 bootloader only)

Tip us?
 
DaggerDave
Old
#161  
Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 97
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dony71 View Post
Yes, I notice this too in clemsyn kernel
I try to use pppd but got message below

pppd: This system lacks kernel support for PPP. This could be because
the PPP kernel module could not be loaded, or because PPP was not
included in the kernel configuration. If PPP was included as a
module, try `/sbin/modprobe -v ppp'. If that fails, check that
ppp.o exists in /lib/modules/`uname -r`/net.
See README.linux file in the ppp distribution for more details.

It seems Clemysn kernel does not include ppp feature
I notice pershoot kernel has ppp feature, but I like Clemsyn kernel
better in term of overclock support

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=903505
Clemsyn has released new kernels, one with PPP enabled if you are interested in trying it.

Search the other great gtablet forum -> Gtablet 1.2 Rom Development for SOD Fix for Froyo Rom.
 
bnovak
Old
#162  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 60
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston,Tx
Hey this might sound like a stupid question, but is there something I'm missing to be able to access the SDcard through USB?

I can see the system memory, but can't get to my SD card.
I'm a hardware guy, so don't trust any ideas I may have about software.

Too many phones and tablets to remember.....
 
MountainX
Old
#163  
MountainX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 244
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: A place with no mountains
Unhappy external sdcard not showing up

HELP!!! and sorry for the long detailed post
I flashed Beasty/Clemsyn Ultimate Froyo Combo 1.2 bl, and I'm loving it, except for the issue with the sdcards: Internal 16gb* & External 32gb

-From Settings>Sd card & phone storage

*SD card
** Total Space 13.07GB
** Available Space 12.14GB
** Unmount SD card
** Format SD card (grayed out)

Internal phone storage
*Available space 1.65GB (Grayed out)

So... it doesnt recognize the 32gb external card and shows the properties of the internal instead.... and on the internal it shows only 1.65gb avail when in reality is probable close to 12GB.

From Sniffer:
** Adam Memory: 12.14GB free of 13.07GB
** microSD 28.87GB free of 29.80GB

*So... From a file explorer both cards look ok.But, Now, the really weird one:

From ES File Explorer: with details view
*** sdcard 2012-02-12
***** properties: Size:955.54mb
***** modified: 2012-02-12 01:47:13 am
*** sdcard2* 1970-01-01
***** properties: Size: 955.39mb (same as sdcard?!?!?)
***** modiefied: N/A
** From ES file Explorer I can navigate inside sdcard2. create folders, copy, paste, etc

Applications like Music players, Gallery, etc can't access sdcard2

When plugged to computer via USB
** Computer recognizes the internal sd card, correct size and everything.
** Doesn't see AT ALL the external sd card

What I've done trying to fix problem:
-Reformat 32GB external sdcard on my computer
*-Connected gtab to computer on APX mode and pushed gtab.nvflash.1.2.branch.20110508 with cwmv3028
-Power up to CWM:
** Wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, and wipe dalvik cache
** Repartition SD card to 2048
** Advanced>Fix Permissions
-Rebooted system to stock rom with tap-n-tap
-Connected gtab to computer via USB and copy BeastyClemsynFroyoUltimate.zip
-Power up to CWM: Flashed BeastyClemsyn Rom
* Same issue with sdcards... no luck!!
-Power up to CWM:Wiped everything again, and flashed Clemsyn_Caulkinver8final2.zip
* With the Caulkin rom the sdcards are OK
-Power up to CWM: Wiped averything AGAIN! and flashed BeastyClemsynFroyoUltimate.zip AGAIN
* Still no luck
-Write this Looooong post in hopes that somebody has a fix because I really, really like everything else on this Beasty rom.

Thank you in advanced for the help
 
MountainX
Old
#164  
MountainX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 244
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: A place with no mountains
I'm still looking for help on my sdcard problems. Of interest, I just found this comment in vold.fstab:

# todo: the secondary sdcard seems to confuse vold badly

See below for whole file.

Apparently there is a known problem. I'm guessing someone knows a work-around. What is it?

Code:
Select Code
## Vold 2.0 NVIDIA Harmony fstab

#######################
## Regular device mount
##
## Format: dev_mount <label> <mount_point> <part> <sysfs_path1...>
## label        - Label for the volume
## mount_point  - Where the volume will be mounted
## part         - Partition # (1 based), or 'auto' for first usable partition.
## <sysfs_path> - List of sysfs paths to source devices
######################

#dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/tegra-sdhci.3/mmc_host/mmc0 /devices/platform/tegra-sdhci.3/mmc_host/mmc1
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/tegra-sdhci.3/mmc_host/mmc2
# todo: the secondary sdcard seems to confuse vold badly
dev_mount sdcard2 /mnt/sdcard2 auto /devices/platform/tegra-sdhci.2/mmc_host/mmc1
dev_mount usbdisk /mnt/usbdisk auto /devices/platform/tegra-ehci
 
bnovak
Old
#165  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 60
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston,Tx
I noticed the external SDCARD issue to. Also, is there a way to get a "sleep" mode after screen timeout? ripping through the battery, and I'd like it to last at least through a workday.

Other than those two issues, this ROM is killer. Thanks guys!
I'm a hardware guy, so don't trust any ideas I may have about software.

Too many phones and tablets to remember.....
 
gsterin
Old
#166  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default USB Mounting issue

Hi all.
For some reason I can't use my external hard drive (NTFS) with this ROM.
ES File Explorer doesn't see anything in neither /mnt/usbdisk or /mnt/usbdisk2.
Any help is very appreciated.
 
schwinn8
Old
#167  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 88
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by snipekill View Post
mine was doing that but after i change the rom from the original to the customs here, it stop doing that pop sound. Right now i am using the Beasty/Clemsyn and the pad runs fast and no problem at the moment.
I have just switched to this ROM, and am getting the pop sound too.

@snipekill: What exactly did you do to resolve that? I'm running the latest version of this rom, with a complete wipe and clean start. I just don't understand what you mean by "from the original to the customs here"... can you explain?
 
real0325
Old
#168  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 102
Join Date: Feb 2011
macbroom you are truly a stalker, and a hater that obviously has no developing skills of your own. SAD INDEED GIRLY MAN!
 
Brainy142
Old
#169  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'm having issues with hardware acellerated video with this rom. Any idea's? the videos work fine in the ICS rom but not in this one.
 
viskon
Old
#170  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 256
Join Date: May 2011
If you want hardware acceleration, try Roebeet's Mountain Laurel or Kekinash's 6039 Rom. I don't think any of the other 1.2 froyo or gingerbread roms have hardware acceleration enabled.

Sent from my TeamDRH ICS for GTablet using Tapatalk 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes