5,597,542 Members 31,701 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

One solution to Android Wifi "Error" or "Turning on..."

Tip us?
 
Cristobalmiguelo
Old
(Last edited by Cristobalmiguelo; 9th October 2011 at 11:16 AM.) Reason: type-o
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default One solution to Android Wifi "Error" or "Turning on..."

Hello everyone,

I found the solution on another forum (GalaxyTDM's post) and I wanted to share it over here because it's a PITA.

Symptoms:
1. None of the wifi toggle buttons work to turn on wifi.
2. When examining the wifi settings, the status will show either "Error" or "Turning on..."
3. If it sits on "Turning on..." for any longer that 2 minutes, it will probably stay in that state.
4. If it changes to status of "Error," it may work after several times attempting to turn it back on from the settings screen.

Apparent cause:
1. Memory is low on the device. Examining the RAM Manager, one can see less than about 45MB free of memory. This apparently is preventing the wifi from starting. Either that, or there is some other program or setting that has crept in and needs to be killed.

I found this to be the case on my device, memory was hovering at about 40MB free and wifi was sitting on status "Turning on..."

Solution:
1. Go into the RAM Manager and do a level 1 clear of the memory. If that doesn't do it, do a level 2 clear.

After I did a level 2 clear, about 80MB of memory was freed and wifi immediately connected and I saw the icon on the status bar.

Hope this helps.

Android 2.2.1
Galaxy S

Best,
Christopher
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Cristobalmiguelo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
c3cil
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cochin
Talking Thanks Dude...

had same problem in my xperia x10 mini pro... running custom cm7 v16... nw okie..
 
dirtyrob
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Va Beach, Va

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Same issue, but i have 370mb of internal mem avail.

(Sprint Htc Evo) I have tried the revolutionary meth. followed steps, manually flashed, due to boot loader stating that S-On, i have superuser app, retried with same problems, but anyways that's another problem I am working on solving.
I have had the WiFi Error problem since I first tried to root a few days ago, I am going to attempt to download and install ram manager via usb. But like i stated i have 370 mb of internal memory available. Any other ideas or solutions?
 
reyyy96
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 45
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In a cyber network
Thumbs down Not Working

Non of it working . Everytime i need to restart my phone if i want to turn on the wifi back.
 
rla2680
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 90
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Boston
had a similar issue....always wondered what the problem was
 
Qack
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Raleigh
Default Yes!

I have a Galaxy S (T-Mobile Vibrant) running 2.2 and it worked for me. Memory was at 45 MB. I cleaned up about 20 MB and tried again. It worked. Thanks!
 
Dingo_HR
Old
#7  
Dingo_HR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 188
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Zagreb
I solved my wi-fi error problem by flashing EZGINGERBREAD ROM.

Old G1 dream

EASY !
 
jono-bender
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Taipei
Default Same problem GS2

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtyrob View Post
(Sprint Htc Evo) I have tried the revolutionary meth. followed steps, manually flashed, due to boot loader stating that S-On, i have superuser app, retried with same problems, but anyways that's another problem I am working on solving.
I have had the WiFi Error problem since I first tried to root a few days ago, I am going to attempt to download and install ram manager via usb. But like i stated i have 370 mb of internal memory available. Any other ideas or solutions?
Same issue, 700mb free on Galaxy S2. Have tried multiple ROM's incl. CM7 [2.3?],Slim [4.0.4],MIUI [4.0.3], all with the same problem. WIFI continuously says "Turning on....".

The only other 'USEFUL' piece of info I've found on this is a changing a mac address on a blade phone thread saying "data/misc/wifi folder you have a file called athSavedEeprom.bin" I have no such folder or file which may be a problem.
 
hdavuluri
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default tks

thanks. useful info.
 
WalkerOfTheDay
Old
#10  
WalkerOfTheDay's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 129
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Winschoten
Hi guys.

Ik don't own a SII, so IDK if this works for you also.

Open your dialer and type *#*#526#*#*

Your phone will go into Engineering Mode and reload the driver.

Apologies if this is old news, but it does the trick for me !

Device...: Samsung Galaxy Gio GTS5660
Rom......: Jelly Bread v4.0
Kernel...: 2.6.35.14-cyanogenmod marcin@debian)
Baseband.: S5660XXKS2



WiFi Error that can only be fixed by rebooting ?
Here's an easy fix:


Open dialer and dial:

*#*#526#*#*

That was easy, wasn't it !

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WalkerOfTheDay For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
wifi error, wifi turning on
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...