Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,924 Members 45,253 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google Play Update?

Tip us?
 
Torrential91
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 56
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Default Google Play Update?

I know it's not absolutely necessary, but is there any way to update the Market to Google Play on the NT? Would it be as simple as sideloading an apk?

I realize the Market will probably function fine without the update, I'm simply curious.

Thanks!

Sent from my Nook Tablet using (((sonicboom)))
 
AlySedai
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2012
I couldn't get my marketplace to work after Play came out, and I updated using an .apk, and it still wouldn't work. I kept getting the window that said something about needing to tie it to my google account, and when I clicked "Yes" to do that, it kicked me back out of the app.
 
cliffmidnite
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torrential91 View Post
I know it's not absolutely necessary, but is there any way to update the Market to Google Play on the NT? Would it be as simple as sideloading an apk?

I realize the Market will probably function fine without the update, I'm simply curious.

Thanks!

Sent from my Nook Tablet using (((sonicboom)))
My market updated itself to Google play two days ago automatically. Everything is working as normal. I am on CM7 alpha12 though, but I would assume it would also update on the stock rom. Maybe you can go into market and do a check for updates and it will update market app

sent from my Nook Tablet 16GB Cyanogenmod alpha
 
Birdsbeaks
Old
#4  
Birdsbeaks's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Miami, Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
My market just updated, but only after I cleared the market app's cache AND data. I had tried clearing the cache only, and it didn't update. After I cleared cache, data, and force stopped the app; when I started market again it updated to "play store".

Side note: I couldn't stand looking at the new logo, so I edited the shortcut on the desktop to display the "correct" Android market logo.

Sent from my Nook Tablet using Tapatalk
 
howardsternisbatman
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2012
mine updated a few days ago as well, no issues.

NT 1.4.0 OTA blocked.
 
dimebagdan65
Old
#6  
dimebagdan65's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 614
Posts: 2,097
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Las Vegas

 
DONATE TO ME
Mine updated, but today it doesn't want to open for some reason... Gonna try a reboot and hope for the best!

Sent from my Nook Tablet using Tapatalk
Razor 32gb WiFi Stock KitKat w/Xposed and Franco Kernel
Hammerhead 32gb same
Gmail/Hangout dime@dimedroidhq.com
Google+Page and Profile
YouTube channel

-You can lead a fool to knowledge but you can't make 'em think
-Be a sponge, not a stain...
 
jzmummy
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Can't open Android market/Google Play app

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlySedai View Post
I couldn't get my marketplace to work after Play came out, and I updated using an .apk, and it still wouldn't work. I kept getting the window that said something about needing to tie it to my google account, and when I clicked "Yes" to do that, it kicked me back out of the app.
I am getting the same error of "You must add an account to the device to continue. Do you want to add one now?" and when I click on "Yes" or "No", it closes the app. Anyone have a fix? Already tried uninstall/reinstalling, clearing all cache, etc, and force stop...nothing.
 
cliffmidnite
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Mar 2010
Are you installing a new google play apk or the old market? Everytime i installed gapps after foashing a rom, the market just updated itself to google plau without putting my account info back in.

sdent from my Nook Tablet 16GB Cyanogenmod alpha
 
Tel864
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 133
Join Date: Nov 2011
I'm running 1.4.1 rooted and it auto updated to Google Play a few days ago and I never had a problem. Market continued normally for me.
 
aRc.
Old
(Last edited by aRc.; 20th March 2012 at 11:12 PM.)
#10  
aRc.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 320
Join Date: Mar 2012
Only just started this, but it force closes when updating or downloading. Uninstalled through Titanium. Reinstalled an old APK, updated; no dice! Anyone else getting this? It seems that only updating or downloading forces the crash, browsing isn't a problem.

[edit] I think Google is having issues with the Market, tapping HELP takes me to this page;



(update) I do apologise, I must attempt all possibilities before requesting assistance. If this happens to anyone else, have you installed Adfree Android? If so, this was my problem. I fixed this by reverting it's settings and uninstalling.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more