Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,281 Members 49,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root for Nook Tablet 8GB (w/ Android Market)

Tip us?
 
JonNotJohnny
Old
#91  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jichuan89 View Post
Why aren't you using option 1, which is the easier of the two? You don't need to extract anything there.

Sent from my Nook Tablet using XDA
Oh, believe me I am. 10 seconds on the video for option 2 made me want to curl up in the corner and sob.

The reason I'm extracting is that's what the instructions for the Nookie FroYo say to do. Am I overthinking this?
 
jichuan89
Old
#92  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonNotJohnny View Post
Oh, believe me I am. 10 seconds on the video for option 2 made me want to curl up in the corner and sob.

The reason I'm extracting is that's what the instructions for the Nookie FroYo say to do. Am I overthinking this?
Yes. Like I just said, you don't need to extract anything if you're using option 1. Skip to step 3 on the Nookie Froyo page.
 
esthernrob
Old
#93  
esthernrob's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Upstate New York
after root, will i still be able to access my B&N books that i've purchased? looks as tho all original data on the tablet is lost? also, is there a way to un-root if the need be? TIA
 
jichuan89
Old
#94  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by esthernrob View Post
after root, will i still be able to access my B&N books that i've purchased?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by esthernrob View Post
looks as tho all original data on the tablet is lost?
No. You will not lose any data.
Quote:
Originally Posted by esthernrob View Post
also, is there a way to un-root if the need be? TIA
Yes. All rooting does is install a bunch of files to /system; to unroot you just need to delete those files. AFAIK there isn't a reason to unroot the NT, but if one day there is I could make a bootable SD card for that.
The Following User Says Thank You to jichuan89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
esthernrob
Old
#95  
esthernrob's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Upstate New York
thanks for the quick reply... gonna give it a go right now...
 
jokersone78
Old
#96  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jichuan89 View Post
That's unrelated to my restore image. Can't help you there I'm afraid.

Sent from my Nook Tablet using XDA
also i cant boot without the sd card installed is that normal?
 
jichuan89
Old
#97  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokersone78 View Post
also i cant boot without the sd card installed is that normal?
Depends on what you mean by "can't boot". You'd have to describe exactly what your tablet does when you power it on without the SD card. Which screens are you seeing and what happens in the end etc.
 
jokersone78
Old
#98  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2012
i see nothing without the sd card in and the usb cable conected but once it gets to the home screen i can unmount the sd card and reemove the usb cable.
 
pfunk123
Old
#99  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokersone78 View Post
it worked but now i cant use the n button also i cant use the system restore in the settings menu.
Same here.

---------- Post added at 11:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:37 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jokersone78 View Post
also i cant boot without the sd card installed is that normal?
Same here as well.
 
dealk
Old
#100  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default small SDcard boot issue

Hi
I tried the boot method 1 in your instructions w. a 512M and 256M SDcard I had lying around. Neither one gets to the initial cardboard box boot screen. I just see the n symbol and it boots in as normal. Tried putting the image on Windows and mac with same result. Is it possible that the SDcard density needs to be some specific range for this to work?
Thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes