Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Root for Nook Tablet 8GB (w/ Android Market)

OP jichuan89

10th March 2012, 07:28 AM   |  #91  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jichuan89

Why aren't you using option 1, which is the easier of the two? You don't need to extract anything there.

Sent from my Nook Tablet using XDA

Oh, believe me I am. 10 seconds on the video for option 2 made me want to curl up in the corner and sob.

The reason I'm extracting is that's what the instructions for the Nookie FroYo say to do. Am I overthinking this?
10th March 2012, 08:47 AM   |  #92  
OP Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 62
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonNotJohnny

Oh, believe me I am. 10 seconds on the video for option 2 made me want to curl up in the corner and sob.

The reason I'm extracting is that's what the instructions for the Nookie FroYo say to do. Am I overthinking this?

Yes. Like I just said, you don't need to extract anything if you're using option 1. Skip to step 3 on the Nookie Froyo page.
10th March 2012, 04:40 PM   |  #93  
esthernrob's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Upstate New York
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
after root, will i still be able to access my B&N books that i've purchased? looks as tho all original data on the tablet is lost? also, is there a way to un-root if the need be? TIA
10th March 2012, 04:48 PM   |  #94  
OP Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 62
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by esthernrob

after root, will i still be able to access my B&N books that i've purchased?

Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by esthernrob

looks as tho all original data on the tablet is lost?

No. You will not lose any data.
Quote:
Originally Posted by esthernrob

also, is there a way to un-root if the need be? TIA

Yes. All rooting does is install a bunch of files to /system; to unroot you just need to delete those files. AFAIK there isn't a reason to unroot the NT, but if one day there is I could make a bootable SD card for that.
The Following User Says Thank You to jichuan89 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th March 2012, 04:57 PM   |  #95  
esthernrob's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Upstate New York
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
thanks for the quick reply... gonna give it a go right now...
10th March 2012, 05:02 PM   |  #96  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jichuan89

That's unrelated to my restore image. Can't help you there I'm afraid.

Sent from my Nook Tablet using XDA

also i cant boot without the sd card installed is that normal?
10th March 2012, 05:09 PM   |  #97  
OP Member
Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 62
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokersone78

also i cant boot without the sd card installed is that normal?

Depends on what you mean by "can't boot". You'd have to describe exactly what your tablet does when you power it on without the SD card. Which screens are you seeing and what happens in the end etc.
10th March 2012, 05:19 PM   |  #98  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
i see nothing without the sd card in and the usb cable conected but once it gets to the home screen i can unmount the sd card and reemove the usb cable.
10th March 2012, 05:39 PM   |  #99  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokersone78

it worked but now i cant use the n button also i cant use the system restore in the settings menu.

Same here.

---------- Post added at 11:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:37 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jokersone78

also i cant boot without the sd card installed is that normal?

Same here as well.
10th March 2012, 06:36 PM   |  #100  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
small SDcard boot issue
Hi
I tried the boot method 1 in your instructions w. a 512M and 256M SDcard I had lying around. Neither one gets to the initial cardboard box boot screen. I just see the n symbol and it boots in as normal. Tried putting the image on Windows and mac with same result. Is it possible that the SDcard density needs to be some specific range for this to work?
Thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes