Post Reply

[ROOT ICS] The hard way && Digging for roots

OP eww245

7th March 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #191  
smokku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 53
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icewyng

Could you dd the boot partition and check inside it?

I have looked in the boot image, but there's nothing out of ordinary there.

Looks like Acer did it right and all the fun is in the encrypted bootloader.
8th March 2012, 02:40 AM   |  #192  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokku

I have looked in the boot image, but there's nothing out of ordinary there.

Looks like Acer did it right and all the fun is in the encrypted bootloader.

what about the aboot partition? (p8)
8th March 2012, 05:41 AM   |  #193  
smokku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 53
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icewyng

what about the aboot partition? (p8)

It's /data under normal circumstances.
But yeah, /aboot suggests it may have other use.
8th March 2012, 05:02 PM   |  #194  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokku

It's /data under normal circumstances.
But yeah, /aboot suggests it may have other use.

Sorry, didn't have my notes when I said that. Well... /aboot is an emmc partition on /dev/block/mmcblk0p8... and look at this (coming from bugreport):

[ro.crypto.fs_flags]: [0x00000406]
[ro.crypto.fs_mnt_point]: [/data]
[ro.crypto.fs_real_blkdev]: [/dev/block/mmcblk0p8]
[ro.crypto.fs_type]: [ext4]
[ro.crypto.state]: [unencrypted]
[ro.crypto.tmpfs_options]: [size=128m,mode=0771,uid=1000,gid=1000]

so, I would think the interesting stuff would be in aboot. Looks something similar as uboot...
9th March 2012, 04:38 PM   |  #195  
BrothaJINC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 12
 
662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Not trying to be an ass but has there been any progress in unlocking the bootloader........

Sent from my HTC Mecha using xda premium
9th March 2012, 04:44 PM   |  #196  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrothaJINC

Not trying to be an ass but has there been any progress in unlocking the bootloader........

Sent from my HTC Mecha using xda premium

no.

Since it i encrypted, it is a very slow and painful process, to say the least.
10th March 2012, 10:35 AM   |  #197  
smokku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 53
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
I wanted to check which number is correct for A100 EUUs, but I can't install it.
The installation wizard does not detect my tablet both in ADB and APX modes :/
10th March 2012, 05:05 PM   |  #198  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokku

I wanted to check which number is correct for A100 EUUs, but I can't install it.
The installation wizard does not detect my tablet both in ADB and APX modes :/

Using Windows? Did you plug your A100 only when it tries to detect it?

---------- Post added at 12:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:01 PM ----------

I've stumbled across this:

abootimg git

Looks to be useful for reading android boot imgs.
10th March 2012, 07:39 PM   |  #199  
smokku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 53
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icewyng

Using Windows? Did you plug your A100 only when it tries to detect it?

Yes, on Windows. I kept my pre-installed one exactly for these occasions. ;)

The EUUs installer says something like: "Make sure you have your phone connected before pressing OK". So I entered APX mode and plugged tablet in.

I was sure EUUs operates in APX mode. But after it failed detecting the "phone" it instructed me how to enable ADB in settings.
So I rebooted the tablet, connected it in ADB mode and tried again. It failed detecting the device again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Icewyng

I've stumbled across this:
abootimg git
Looks to be useful for reading android boot imgs.

I am using http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...ck_Boot_Images to extract boot.img content and standard mkbootimg tool from Android SDK to rebuild it.
11th March 2012, 07:26 AM   |  #200  
oneovakindoldys2's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokku

Yes, on Windows. I kept my pre-installed one exactly for these occasions. ;)

The EUUs installer says something like: "Make sure you have your phone connected before pressing OK". So I entered APX mode and plugged tablet in.

I was sure EUUs operates in APX mode. But after it failed detecting the "phone" it instructed me how to enable ADB in settings.
So I rebooted the tablet, connected it in ADB mode and tried again. It failed detecting the device again.




I am using http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...ck_Boot_Images to extract boot.img content and standard mkbootimg tool from Android SDK to rebuild it.

@smokku, when you install the euus you will need to unpack it and run the pbj upgrade in administrator mode in windows and follow the instructions on the screen. the program will put the tab in apx mode for you. also, in regards to the boot.img, i have already unpacked the boot.img and recompiled it and i have a new image ready to flash if someone can find a way to get it on the tablet. you can check out the deodex thread where i posted several days ago. i will be glad to work with you guys anyway i can if you or icewyng have any ideas. i am glad to see someone else with interest in getting this thing opened up. good luck!

---------- Post added at 12:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:10 AM ----------

when you guys get the boot.img unpacked, you will seperate the kernel from the ramdisk. after you get it opened up have a good look at init.vangogh.rc., default.prop,etc. when you get it broken down you can edit the information and recompile it with the correct settings to get fastboot and nvflash working, but i have yet to find a way to get it back on the tablet. has anyone been able to unpack [[[any]]] acer iconia rom, and then repack it, even [[without]] editing it and get the signature correct to flash it back to the tablet? thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes