Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

MyTouch 4G stuck on boot loop, s-on

OP safdarhp

10th March 2012, 01:03 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 955
 
4,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
As already mentioned, and I'll stress it: you DON'T need to move to FASTBOOT section of the bootloader. The auto-update is done on HBOOT section.

Format your SD card while it's connected to PC with card reader.
Put the file on SD card - it should be the only existing file. Name it correctly. If you don't have extensions showing in your OS - name it PD15IMG and not PD15IMG.ZIP. If you don't know - try once with and once without the .ZIP in the name.
Put the card in your phone.
Boot with VolDown+Power.
It should ask you for update.
If it doesn't - it means you can't follow the guides because you keep misunderstanding something, so give the phone back to your friend and advise him to take it to someone who can.
11th March 2012, 01:17 AM   |  #22  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_R1

As already mentioned, and I'll stress it: you DON'T need to move to FASTBOOT section of the bootloader. The auto-update is done on HBOOT section.

Format your SD card while it's connected to PC with card reader.
Put the file on SD card - it should be the only existing file. Name it correctly. If you don't have extensions showing in your OS - name it PD15IMG and not PD15IMG.ZIP. If you don't know - try once with and once without the .ZIP in the name.
Put the card in your phone.
Boot with VolDown+Power.
It should ask you for update.
If it doesn't - it means you can't follow the guides because you keep misunderstanding something, so give the phone back to your friend and advise him to take it to someone who can.

Like I have said before, I have tried that. It isn't working. I have tried it with all the kinds of .zip files via the link provided earlier, but still the phone won't read it. I do the "volume down + power key" combo and it takes me to the hboot screen. It's not doing anything else.

If there is any other method of restoring the phone, please help. Maybe there is something wrong with the SD card reader? Is that problem common in MyTouch 4G?
11th March 2012, 01:21 AM   |  #23  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnote74

Try one of these pd15IMG files they will work. http://www.4shared.com/folder/xDsyJF52/_online.html

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium

Thanks for the link. Tried with all .zip files, no luck

The phone isn't reading the file. "S-on" means no superuser permissions right? Is that why I can't get the phone to read the .zip file?
11th March 2012, 03:32 AM   |  #24  
coupetastic-droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 326
 
2,101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by safdarhp

Thanks for the link. Tried with all .zip files, no luck

The phone isn't reading the file. "S-on" means no superuser permissions right? Is that why I can't get the phone to read the .zip file?

then you're definitely putting the zip in the wrong place. You're putting the zip in a folder that's already in the sdcard and not on the actual sdcard itself.
11th March 2012, 04:16 AM   |  #25  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by coupetastic-droid

then you're definitely putting the zip in the wrong place. You're putting the zip in a folder that's already in the sdcard and not on the actual sdcard itself.

No no, it's definitely not in any folder, since there was no folder after I had formatted the card. It was just in the card, and the name was PD15IMG.zip (with extensions enabled).
11th March 2012, 05:17 AM   |  #26  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Please someone, help me. I am still stuck here I have tried all the methods told so far, and followed them to the dot. However, I still don't have any luck. MyTouch 4G is still stuck on the "MyTouch 4G" screen boot-loop, and all I can do is get it into the hboot mode, however that has proven of no help so far.

Someone please tell me what's going on. Getting desperate now
11th March 2012, 08:37 AM   |  #27  
coupetastic-droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 326
 
2,101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by safdarhp

No no, it's definitely not in any folder, since there was no folder after I had formatted the card. It was just in the card, and the name was PD15IMG.zip (with extensions enabled).

That's probably why then. The extensions being enabled. Make sure the pd15img only has one .zip and not .zip.zip. the extension might be adding another .zip after the first .zip
11th March 2012, 10:18 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 955
 
4,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by safdarhp

No no, it's definitely not in any folder, since there was no folder after I had formatted the card. It was just in the card, and the name was PD15IMG.zip (with extensions enabled).

In that case, use another SD card, download PD15IMG again and verify its MD5SUM.

If you think you did everything correctly and your HBOOT won't load anything and won't prompt you for update ("Do you want to update? VolDown-yes, VolUp-no", something like that) - read the last part of my previous post.
11th March 2012, 11:28 PM   |  #29  
...Awesome...'s Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 7,273
 
3,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Lets go back to the beginning:
1: do u know what version your pphone had?
2 do u know if u got the upgrade
3: if ur phone had the upgrade and has current version u can't CANT load the file thru hboot YOU CANT!!!
4: You have to forcefully use Adb-Fastboot to downgrade install froyo 2.2.1 to gain temp root then root or just use it to downgrade and install the current version after you are able to boot up your phone

Sent from my ...Awesome... device XDA
12th March 2012, 01:30 AM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 955
 
4,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
He can't "forcefully use" anything, because he has no OS.
And no matter what his current OS is, the bootloader will STILL ASK FOR UPDATE, just notify that it fails, when it checks the ZIP. And in this case he can try to run Panache RUU.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop, htc, mytouch 4g, s-on, tmobile
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes