Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,580 Members 40,568 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Vivid ics ota update! 3/3/2012

Tip us?
 
homeslice976
Old
#191  
homeslice976's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2105
Posts: 2,881
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central Pennsylvania

 
DONATE TO ME
The general consensus is ICS will optimize applications every time Dalvik cache is wiped. So when restarting, or powering off, Dalvik should get wiped, and apps will be optimized. The only time it won't do this is if you have fastboot ticked, and you power down, then power back up (as this is when the power "fastboot" option is utilized). Even with fastboot ticked, when restarting it will still do this
 
hradak
Old
#192  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeslice976 View Post
The general consensus is ICS will optimize applications every time Dalvik cache is wiped. So when restarting, or powering off, Dalvik should get wiped, and apps will be optimized. The only time it won't do this is if you have fastboot ticked, and you power down, then power back up (as this is when the power "fastboot" option is utilized). Even with fastboot ticked, when restarting it will still do this
hello All, new to the Vivid (just got one from Craigslist!) coming from the HTC HD2.
so everybody is getting "Android is upgrading" message at every boot?
Thanks to all (especially OP + PG!) for this ICS update.
 
pauley
Old
(Last edited by pauley; 15th March 2012 at 05:44 PM.)
#193  
pauley's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 256
Join Date: May 2010
Any thoughts on this posting from the Vivid Android Central forum?

"ICS updated, no hack nor rom"
http://forums.androidcentral.com/sho...161610

***If anyone could get this newer OTA downloaded & pull it's zip from their phone before it installs it really would be helpful to the devs. It'll be in cache folder I believe, & you should be able to get it using about any file explorer***
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pauley For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jayv81
Old
#194  
jayv81's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 120
Posts: 558
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Quote:
Originally Posted by hradak View Post
hello All, new to the Vivid (just got one from Craigslist!) coming from the HTC HD2.
so everybody is getting "Android is upgrading" message at every boot?
Thanks to all (especially OP + PG!) for this ICS update.
I assume everyone is getting it. Wildchild released a update to his rom earlier this week and since I've flashed that one I no longer get that message when booting.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk
Device:ONE X, Vivid, EVO 3D gsm, Inspire 3.5g, Flyer, iPad
Rom:Stock for now, WCX ILLUMINATI ICS SERIES MODDED Vivid ROM, LeeDroid 5.1, CoreDroid 8.1, LeeDroid Flyer HC 3.1, IOS 5
 
Devin.Morris.007
Old
#195  
Devin.Morris.007's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 66
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauley View Post
Any thoughts on this posting from the Vivid Android Central forum?

"ICS updated, no hack nor rom"
http://forums.androidcentral.com/sho...161610
I went to the link and dialed the number. It worked! Thanks for the link. Everything seems to be running smoothly. Ill try to get some screenies up asap.
I Reject Your Reality and Substitute My Own....


Current Device: Samsung Galaxy Note I-717 (Rooted, Debloated, ICS 4.0.4)

Past Devices:
HTC Vivid
iPhone 3GS
iPhone (1st Gen)
Palm Treo 750
Palm Treo 600
 
charlyee
Old
#196  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayv81 View Post
I assume everyone is getting it. Wildchild released a update to his rom earlier this week and since I've flashed that one I no longer get that message when booting.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Tapatalk
I am running Rum Float Beta2 and I longer get that message either.
 
Jirv311
Old
#197  
Jirv311's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 306
Posts: 1,075
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johnstown
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauley View Post
Any thoughts on this posting from the Vivid Android Central forum?

"ICS updated, no hack nor rom"
http://forums.androidcentral.com/sho...161610
It's interesting that, from the person that posted the screenshots, that their kernel version and build number look almost a week newer than what I/we have.
Current: Samsung Galaxy S III
Previous: HTC Vivid
Previous: Samsung Captivate

If you have a Captivate, I have a ROM for you: MaxQ and Sparko ROM
 
slimslim
Old
(Last edited by slimslim; 15th March 2012 at 03:47 PM.)
#198  
slimslim's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 695
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauley View Post
Any thoughts on this posting from the Vivid Android Central forum?

"ICS updated, no hack nor rom"
http://forums.androidcentral.com/sho...161610
I'm rocking ics thanks to this, it actually worked :)

Dialed that, got this,



Ended up with this:



Sent from my HTC Vivid via Tapatalk
========================
 
a40dayflud818
Old
#199  
a40dayflud818's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 248
Join Date: Nov 2010
Does it matter if the bootloader is unlocked or not?
 
samsat
Old
#200  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 376
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ex Johannesburg now SoCal
Worked for me, busy updating now.
VIVID ICS_35..26.502.56

Touch Pro 2
Hardspl
Energy.RHODIUM.29022.Sense2.5.July 4th
Radio 4.49.25.94

HTC TyTN II
PDACorner Ultimate-X.V4 Lite
Radio: 1.71.19.09
SPL: Dave Shaw HardSPL 3.34
Previous
PDA Corner V17 Lite SPL 3.29 Hard2
Radio 1.65.24.36
Previous ROMS
Dutty WWE build 19716 (April) with Radio 1.79.09.01 and Hard-Spl 3.28
Dutty Touch V6.1 WWE
Radio 1.64.08.21
Dual Touch V6 WWE 19199

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes