Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to install ubuntu on the Droid 4

OP greekchampion04

11th March 2012, 10:11 AM   |  #21  
therazrguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 411
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
will this method work on motorola razr gsm?
12th March 2012, 05:54 AM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Cool Question
Hey.

Looks like you have a lot of fun here.
just a question, does it work with Galaxy S2 I9100 ??

BR,
12th March 2012, 08:06 PM   |  #23  
Pieter19's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Zamość
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Greetings.

Why don't you make REAL distribution work on android phones? I mean not by VNC and android? My friend have an android tablet and made gentoo work on it.

Sorry for my bad English.
13th March 2012, 10:18 PM   |  #24  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
this method should work on pretty much every phone.

as for making a real distro work... we would all LOVE it, but its very hard.

if we got one running, it would replace the android OS when running... which means making a way for the phone, sms, ect to work on whatever linux distro you are using, or not having any of that while you are in linux mode.

also for the D4 (and all other moto phones) we have a locked bootloader, making it straight up impossible
14th March 2012, 07:29 PM   |  #25  
Pieter19's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Zamość
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
My friend told me that he probably make it work on every android device and here is his topic: slatedroid.com/topic/30524-running-a-linux-distribution-on-zenithink-zt280/
14th March 2012, 08:26 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallelf78

Ok, well I started from scratch (deleted both .img and .sh files) and it's still not working.

I have all the apps installed (and yes rooted, SU works just fine)
I used Ubuntu Installer app to download the image zip (tried both the large and small img)
I downloaded the .sh file from the first post
The /sdcard-ext/ubuntu/ folder now has two files: "ubuntu.img" and "ubuntud4.sh"
All ^M characters have been removed from .sh file
Still no joy...

Ideas? What am I missing?

In terminal, I can set SU permissions and the mount/cd commands work just fine...it's the last sh command that spits out a bunch of errors about not being able to create/find the directories.

I'm going to format the sdcard and try again...any help is appreciated.

Update: Even after re-formatting the SD and following the steps exactly, no luck!

check to make sure that the entire path

/data/local/mnt/ubun

exists. the 'mkdir' command will fail if any of the intervening dirs aren't there, so if you have

/data/local

and try

mkdir /data/local/mnt/ubun

it'll fail. you'll have to make

/data/local/mnt

first. 'ubun' is just a name; doesn't matter what you use as long as you're consistent. I changed it to 'ubuntu'; seemed clearer to me, and the 2 extra characters weren't a big deal.
The Following User Says Thank You to ndd53 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2012, 04:22 AM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndd53

check to make sure that the entire path

/data/local/mnt/ubun

exists. the 'mkdir' command will fail if any of the intervening dirs aren't there, so if you have...

that was it...i manually created the directories and then the .sh was able to run without errors.

thanks everyone for feedback! ubuntu on my lapdock is much nicer than the moto webtop.
The Following User Says Thank You to tallelf78 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 12:59 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 31
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallelf78

that was it...i manually created the directories and then the .sh was able to run without errors.

thanks everyone for feedback! ubuntu on my lapdock is much nicer than the moto webtop.

I had to do this too.
Works now.

Can anyone assist me with using the D4's physical keyboard to type into the ubuntu terminal?

Thanks BTW. This is really cool.

---------- Post added at 05:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:32 PM ----------

@tallelf78

Do u have the 100 or the 500 Lapdock?
5th April 2012, 03:51 PM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by booda3000

Do u have the 100 or the 500 Lapdock?

I have the 500, I'm still torn between the two but I guess at this point I'm stuck with it.

So your hard-keyboard doesn't work in Terminal? I don't know that I can help, mine just worked.
5th April 2012, 04:25 PM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 31
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
kb
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallelf78

I have the 500, I'm still torn between the two but I guess at this point I'm stuck with it.

Have u used the usb ports much? I'm curious about the functionality of those.

So your hard-keyboard doesn't work in Terminal? I don't know that I can help, mine just worked.

What do have u have for your input settings in vnc? (When your in the Ubuntu desktop)

Also, does your Ubuntu web browser ever just-close on u?

---------- Post added at 09:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:06 AM ----------

[QUOTE=tallelf78;24479005]I have the 500, I'm still torn between the two but I guess at this point I'm stuck with it.

Your never stuck with a toy on XDA ;>

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes