Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,261 Members 51,471 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Confused about RUU firmware and mainver

Tip us?
 
nukeboyt
Old
#1  
nukeboyt's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 53
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] Confused about RUU firmware and mainver

Back from Moto-land with Rezound. I've flashed several ROMS and one I would like to flash now says that I must firs be on the leaked 3.11.605.22 firmware.

I thought that when I flashed a rom and it rebooted into bootloader to install the PH98IMG.zip file, that it was installing the necessary firmware. I'm confused.

How do I get to the necessary Leaked firmware. I've searched and googled, but everything I find, indicates that I cannot install the leak, because I have already used the HTC unlock tool. Again, confused

I appreciate your help!
 
dyetheskin
Old
#2  
dyetheskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,022
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: bensalem, pa
ruu isn't a Tom that loads the kernel afterwards. the leak is flashed all at once which appears to be how kernels are flashed. flashing the leak requires the lock then it flashes everything together but remember it wipes all data with exception of external sd
"Takes A Freak To Please A Freak"

 
nukeboyt
Old
#3  
nukeboyt's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 53
Join Date: Aug 2010
Followup Q1: So is it possible to get to the RUU 3.11.605.22 firmware, WITHOUT re-locking and flashing the leak? (not concerned at all about full wipe, do it with each rom)

Q2: If I do have to re-lock and then flash the leak, do I first have to return to a 100% stock state (ie, restore all the bloat-ware and such)? (if you've ever had a Bionic you know what I'm talking about)
 
Quack1911
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Nov 2011
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=23700622

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
 
andybones
Old
#5  
andybones's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8860
Posts: 9,206
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeboyt View Post
Followup Q1: So is it possible to get to the RUU 3.11.605.22 firmware, WITHOUT re-locking and flashing the leak? (not concerned at all about full wipe, do it with each rom)

Q2: If I do have to re-lock and then flash the leak, do I first have to return to a 100% stock state (ie, restore all the bloat-ware and such)? (if you've ever had a Bionic you know what I'm talking about)
Originally Posted by JoelZ9614 View Post

Here are the instructions...
Download...

rename the zip to PH98IMG.zip

put on your sdcard

reboot to bootloader

fastboot oem lock

reboot to bootloader again

flash.

reboot to bootloader

[if it says security warning and tampered at the top flash again..after continue to next step]

fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin [of course only if u have ur original Unlock_code.bin if not do the whole htc thing again]

reboot......
Team Ecliptic - Member/Co-Lead Developer

Motorola Droid > HTC Eris > HTC Incredible > HTC Incredible 2 > Galaxy Nexus > HTC Rezound > HTC Incredible 4G > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4 > HTC One M7 > HTC One M8

Buy me a beer.
 
cpurick
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jul 2011
A little confused. Android Police says you have to be fully stock with a locked bootloader to install 605.22. According to this, I don't have to be stock, I just have to relock it, and be aware that the full RUU install with radios will wipe my entire phone except external SD? (I wouldn't ask this except that it directly contradicts the AP post.)

And do we have the ability to re-root the resulting ICS installation?

And there's no other way to apply just the radios and the pre-rooted (Non-RUU?) version?

Does the pre-rooted version also do a full wipe?
 
mjh68
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpurick View Post
A little confused. Android Police says you have to be fully stock with a locked bootloader to install 605.22. According to this, I don't have to be stock, I just have to relock it, and be aware that the full RUU install with radios will wipe my entire phone except external SD? (I wouldn't ask this except that it directly contradicts the AP post.)

And do we have the ability to re-root the resulting ICS installation?

And there's no other way to apply just the radios and the pre-rooted (Non-RUU?) version?

Does the pre-rooted version also do a full wipe?

So far no other way to get the new radios , sounds like the only reason the OTA leak worked was the way it was packaged. This new leak isn't packaged the same way so you would have to relock and run the RUU to get the new radios.
Personally, all I did was reflash stock recovery before hand, but I had to run it a few times to get it to work fully and at one point I just relocked with amon recovery installed and ran it and it worked just fine. It wipes recovery as part of the installation and installs the updated stock recovery.
 
nukeboyt
Old
#8  
nukeboyt's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 53
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones View Post
Originally Posted by JoelZ9614 View Post

Here are the instructions...
Download...

rename the zip to PH98IMG.zip

put on your sdcard

reboot to bootloader

fastboot oem lock

reboot to bootloader again

flash.

reboot to bootloader

[if it says security warning and tampered at the top flash again..after continue to next step]

fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin [of course only if u have ur original Unlock_code.bin if not do the whole htc thing again]

reboot......
Sorry for the questions, but when I do all of this, will I still have the Amon Ra recovery, or does this return to the stock recovery (which I assume it does)?
 
Marcismo55
Old
#9  
Marcismo55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 416
Posts: 1,763
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ventura, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
When the PH file is flashed in recovery it will overwrite whatever recovery you had flashed previously and leave you with stock everything...including recovery.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW
Current: HTC One M8 32gb Retired: HTC One 32GB Samsung Galaxy S II Skyrocket Samsung Galaxy S III HTC Rezound HTC Incredible (AMOLED)
 
cpurick
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jul 2011
I was able to upgrade to the new ROM and then re-unlock my phone. But when I put Amon Ra in SD folder as PH98IMG.zip and reboot to the loader, I am never prompted to install it. Furthermore, attempts to get into recovery result in a green circular icon followed by a red triangle with exclamation point.

I tried all sorts of resets and reboots. Right now I have a green recovery option, but no working recovery. The top line says "UNLOCKED".

I've tried Amon Ra 3.13 and 3.14.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more