Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 39,694 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] [03/18/2012] GB.XXKPF.WT-0.4.0 for Galaxy Player 5.0 Intl & US

Tip us?
 
WT Ho
Old
#31  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 238
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapydax View Post
Nvm I just rooted and I watched a vid on how to flash with cwm.
I have stock rom 2.3.5 atm and international 5.0 player with physical home button. If that's what you meant.
I see. Then you need to go to the kernel thread here and flash the kernel first using Odin. After flashing the kernel, you will actually get the CWM recovery as a by-product.

After that, do a nanadroid backup in CWM. Then you are ready to flash new ROMs.
 
Rapydax
Old
(Last edited by Rapydax; 18th March 2012 at 12:55 PM.)
#32  
Rapydax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 284
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WT Ho View Post
I see. Then you need to go to the kernel thread here and flash the kernel first using Odin. After flashing the kernel, you will actually get the CWM recovery as a by-product.

After that, do a nanadroid backup in CWM. Then you are ready to flash new ROMs.
Hmm when I try to flash the kernel with odin it fails and then i get a PHONE--(!)--COMPUTER icon. Soft brick. I can get out of the soft-brick but I can't flash anything using Odin, which is weird.

<ID:0/005> Added!!
<ID:0/005> Odin v.3 engine (ID:5)..
<ID:0/005> File analysis..
<ID:0/005> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/005> Initialzation..
<ID:0/005> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/005> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/005> zImage
<ID:0/005> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

what's wrong?

Odin used to work perfectly fine before, but now nothing will work. I tried erytgits rom and several othersbut they all fail
 
WT Ho
Old
#33  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 238
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapydax View Post
Hmm when I try to flash the kernel with odin it fails and then i get a soft-brick.

<ID:0/005> Added!!
<ID:0/005> Odin v.3 engine (ID:5)..
<ID:0/005> File analysis..
<ID:0/005> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/005> Initialzation..
<ID:0/005> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/005> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/005> zImage
<ID:0/005> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

what's wrong?

Odin used to work perfectly fine before, but now nothing will work. I tried erytgits rom and several othersbut they all fail
That's odd. I also see your posts in another thread. Did you recover from a soft-brick recently. May be there is still some left over problems.

BTW, my Odin is v1.85. When I flash kernel, I only flash with the PDA option (without PIT).
 
dunca123
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 126
Join Date: Apr 2011
I have a 5.0 US and you said there is no kernel included. I am willing to test. Let me know if anyone else has tried before I do. Thanks.

Sent from my YP-G70 using XDA
 
Rapydax
Old
(Last edited by Rapydax; 18th March 2012 at 06:43 PM.)
#35  
Rapydax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 284
Join Date: Feb 2012
Allrighty. Good news for me

It turned out it was my computer that let Odin fail. I did close all Kies processes and services but still it failed.
Then I moved to another computer (32 bit) and the rj13 kernel flashed
I just did the cwm flashing...so far...uhm

crap bootloop now what darned I had too much hope
 
kfirbep
Old
#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 435
Join Date: Feb 2012
can you put pictures of the rom to see how it looks like?
and does whatsapp tap tap 4 work with this rom?
 
WT Ho
Old
#37  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 238
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapydax View Post
Allrighty. Good news for me

It turned out it was my computer that let Odin fail. I did close all Kies processes and services but still it failed.
Then I moved to another computer (32 bit) and the rj13 kernel flashed
I just did the cwm flashing...so far...uhm

crap bootloop now what darned I had too much hope
There is a zip package in 1st post called "Format-ext4". Try flashing it before flashing the ROM. It will clean up all the partitions required by the ROM to ensure there are no leftover files from previous ROM.
 
WT Ho
Old
#38  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 238
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfirbep View Post
can you put pictures of the rom to see how it looks like?
and does whatsapp tap tap 4 work with this rom?
I haven't put in any device hack in this ROM. So, incompatible apps will behave the same as in stock ROM.
 
btriminio
Old
#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 14
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default device vibration

i'm not sure, maybe only is my case, but my the vibrator on my device seems to not work

i try to make a test, send me a mail in vibration mode and the vibrator not start and i install a custom keyboard and turn on the funcion of vibrate on key press and the same the vibrator not start
 
dunca123
Old
#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 126
Join Date: Apr 2011
I can confirm your theory for US 5.0 it is working just fine. So it IS compatible with the US 5.0 I am using entroph's Kernel.

Sent from my YP-G70 using XDA

The Following User Says Thank You to dunca123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes