FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[ROM] [03/18/2012] GB.XXKPF.WT-0.4.0 for Galaxy Player 5.0 Intl & US

238 posts
Thanks Meter: 96
 
By WT Ho, Senior Member on 22nd January 2012, 05:58 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
18th March 2012, 12:26 PM |#31  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapydax

Nvm I just rooted and I watched a vid on how to flash with cwm.
I have stock rom 2.3.5 atm and international 5.0 player with physical home button. If that's what you meant.

I see. Then you need to go to the kernel thread here and flash the kernel first using Odin. After flashing the kernel, you will actually get the CWM recovery as a by-product.

After that, do a nanadroid backup in CWM. Then you are ready to flash new ROMs.
 
 
18th March 2012, 12:40 PM |#32  
Rapydax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WT Ho

I see. Then you need to go to the kernel thread here and flash the kernel first using Odin. After flashing the kernel, you will actually get the CWM recovery as a by-product.

After that, do a nanadroid backup in CWM. Then you are ready to flash new ROMs.

Hmm when I try to flash the kernel with odin it fails and then i get a PHONE--(!)--COMPUTER icon. Soft brick. I can get out of the soft-brick but I can't flash anything using Odin, which is weird.

<ID:0/005> Added!!
<ID:0/005> Odin v.3 engine (ID:5)..
<ID:0/005> File analysis..
<ID:0/005> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/005> Initialzation..
<ID:0/005> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/005> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/005> zImage
<ID:0/005> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

what's wrong?

Odin used to work perfectly fine before, but now nothing will work. I tried erytgits rom and several othersbut they all fail
Last edited by Rapydax; 18th March 2012 at 12:55 PM.
18th March 2012, 12:58 PM |#33  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapydax

Hmm when I try to flash the kernel with odin it fails and then i get a soft-brick.

<ID:0/005> Added!!
<ID:0/005> Odin v.3 engine (ID:5)..
<ID:0/005> File analysis..
<ID:0/005> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/005> Initialzation..
<ID:0/005> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/005> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/005> zImage
<ID:0/005> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

what's wrong?

Odin used to work perfectly fine before, but now nothing will work. I tried erytgits rom and several othersbut they all fail

That's odd. I also see your posts in another thread. Did you recover from a soft-brick recently. May be there is still some left over problems.

BTW, my Odin is v1.85. When I flash kernel, I only flash with the PDA option (without PIT).
18th March 2012, 01:00 PM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I have a 5.0 US and you said there is no kernel included. I am willing to test. Let me know if anyone else has tried before I do. Thanks.

Sent from my YP-G70 using XDA
18th March 2012, 01:02 PM |#35  
Rapydax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Allrighty. Good news for me

It turned out it was my computer that let Odin fail. I did close all Kies processes and services but still it failed.
Then I moved to another computer (32 bit) and the rj13 kernel flashed
I just did the cwm flashing...so far...uhm

crap bootloop now what darned I had too much hope
Last edited by Rapydax; 18th March 2012 at 06:43 PM.
18th March 2012, 09:56 PM |#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
can you put pictures of the rom to see how it looks like?
and does whatsapp tap tap 4 work with this rom?
19th March 2012, 01:19 AM |#37  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapydax

Allrighty. Good news for me

It turned out it was my computer that let Odin fail. I did close all Kies processes and services but still it failed.
Then I moved to another computer (32 bit) and the rj13 kernel flashed
I just did the cwm flashing...so far...uhm

crap bootloop now what darned I had too much hope

There is a zip package in 1st post called "Format-ext4". Try flashing it before flashing the ROM. It will clean up all the partitions required by the ROM to ensure there are no leftover files from previous ROM.
19th March 2012, 01:23 AM |#38  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfirbep

can you put pictures of the rom to see how it looks like?
and does whatsapp tap tap 4 work with this rom?

I haven't put in any device hack in this ROM. So, incompatible apps will behave the same as in stock ROM.
19th March 2012, 04:13 PM |#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
device vibration
i'm not sure, maybe only is my case, but my the vibrator on my device seems to not work

i try to make a test, send me a mail in vibration mode and the vibrator not start and i install a custom keyboard and turn on the funcion of vibrate on key press and the same the vibrator not start
19th March 2012, 10:50 PM |#40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I can confirm your theory for US 5.0 it is working just fine. So it IS compatible with the US 5.0 I am using entroph's Kernel.

Sent from my YP-G70 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to dunca123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th March 2012, 12:32 AM |#41  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btriminio

i'm not sure, maybe only is my case, but my the vibrator on my device seems to not work

i try to make a test, send me a mail in vibration mode and the vibrator not start and i install a custom keyboard and turn on the funcion of vibrate on key press and the same the vibrator not start

This seems to be a problem carried over from stock rom. It used to work in Froyo, but haptic feedback is gone after upgrading to GB. At this point, I don't have good idea on how to fix it.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes