Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[RECOVERY] Safestrap Recovery v3.7x [05/15/2014 V3.73 - TWRP 2.7.0.0]

OP Hashcode

9th March 2012, 02:33 PM   |  #31  
Tivo7's Avatar
Senior Member
SystemUI.apk
Thanks Meter: 146
 
1,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by docluv01

Hey guys, so im looking how this backups the original system and safe system...

in teh sdcard, theres a safestrap folder, in it an "orig" folder and "safe" folder.

If I wanted to swap what was primary and what was safe, is it safe to assume all I need to do is swap the data.ext3.tar files? or is there more to it?

Also, any way to get safestrap to save thesefiles on the external sd?

You could always go on your computer or Root Explorer and move files and around and rename them if you wanted.
13th March 2012, 08:00 PM   |  #32  
rickatnight11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I'm interested in setting up my work's Exchange account, which requires encryption and passworded-unlocks. Would I be able to activate this on the stock ROM, while keeping my Safestrapped ROM untouched? That way I could switch back and forth between my "work" and "personal" ROMs.

(Alternatively, any way to add an Exchange account and have my phone tell the server it's encrypted and secured, even though it's not?)
13th March 2012, 10:20 PM   |  #33  
Senior Member
Flag Redding
Thanks Meter: 9
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwards2243

I'm having the same problem. How did you fix your issue?!

Edit: After I backed up from the "unsafe" system, I tried to boot in the "safe" system, but got stuck before the splash screen even came up. I was able to disable the safestrap and boot up again, but really want to flash eclipse!

I ended up having to go to Bionic Bootstrapper to fix my issue, i think it has to do with the way the phone sees the internal sd card, that or the charge of the phone.
14th March 2012, 02:43 AM   |  #34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
If I've already used titantium backup to freeze some bloatware, will I still be able to use safestrap? I'm wanting a stock rooted rom with frozen bloatware just in case and another ICS rom to dual boot into to check that out. Is that possible with safestrap?

And I need to be rooted first correct?
14th March 2012, 04:42 AM   |  #35  
libertus77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 23
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Yes, you would have to be rooted. I can't personally how frozen bloatware would have any impact on Safestrap functionality. Should be fine. Just make sure you back up and don't have Bootstrapper installed.

Sent from my BIONIC flavored Ice Cream Sandwich using Tapatalk
14th March 2012, 04:51 AM   |  #36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Now which rom to try first...

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium
17th March 2012, 11:24 PM   |  #37  
Senior Member
Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 90
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevron

Now which rom to try first...

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium

Just grab Eclipse. I went over to it and never looked back. IMO it's the closest thing to CM 7.2 we've got at the moment.
19th March 2012, 07:31 PM   |  #38  
Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I am currently on stock 902, I had to wipe everything and restart to get my phone to update to 902, I'm currently rooted though. Safestrap kept making my phone bootloop once I installed it again, and I'm guessing I don't have CWM installed any more, I need to get a recover to work so I can start back flashing some ROMs. Anyone know how to fix this problem? Or does safestrap only work on custom ROMs. What would happen is when I would go into safestrap and enable safe system for this first time, it would do a backup and then reboot and begin boot looping.
20th March 2012, 08:04 PM   |  #39  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 22,688
 
3,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonoid

I am currently on stock 902, I had to wipe everything and restart to get my phone to update to 902, I'm currently rooted though. Safestrap kept making my phone bootloop once I installed it again, and I'm guessing I don't have CWM installed any more, I need to get a recover to work so I can start back flashing some ROMs. Anyone know how to fix this problem? Or does safestrap only work on custom ROMs. What would happen is when I would go into safestrap and enable safe system for this first time, it would do a backup and then reboot and begin boot looping.

You'll need to install a ROM in Safemode or.. there's isn't anything to boot. (I might be mis-reading your post tho)
30th March 2012, 05:00 PM   |  #40  
rickatnight11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Does Safestrap touch the partitioning on the MicroSD card? I'm wondering why my 16GB card is showing up as 8GB USB storage.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes