FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[NEW] NT CM7 support thread

744 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,022
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
22nd March 2012, 05:59 AM |#451  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
SD Card Boot Tests
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobdaryl

I can't boot CM7 final from SD without tether as many others. I am running internal with stock recovery. I have found a CWM boot SD image that boots every time without tether.
Four different SD cards all boot without tether (2 4g c4, 1 16g c6, 1 32g c10).
Here is a link to the image. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post21275927 It would be nice if someone else with the tether problem could attempt this. Thanks for looking.

Testing:
Patriot Memory 16GB Class 4 (#1)
Sandisk 8GB Class 4 (#2)

Downloaded fresh copy of SD_ROOT_NT16gbV4_6.

A. Followed Albert's instructions for imaging the SD Cards (using the NT as SD Host via USB)

B.Also tried same tests using a PC Card Reader

Results:
Card #1 needs the USB tether for the NT to boot into CWM in both A & B
Card #2 does NOT need the USB tether to boot into CWM in both A & B

These results are consistent with my other tests involving SD cards imaged with CM7 and other flavors of CWM. I get consistent, reproducible results. My Patriot card won't boot and my Sandisk always will when my NT is untethered.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fillimerica For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
22nd March 2012, 11:14 AM |#452  
Junior Member
Flag South Jersey
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
BUG
No Bug to report! It was an SD Card issue!
Last edited by merlot2k1; 23rd March 2012 at 06:50 PM.
22nd March 2012, 01:43 PM |#453  
Senior Member
Flag The Woodlands, Texas
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
CM7 on Sandisk 8g Class 4
I ordered 8 gig Class 2 cards from Amazon. They decided to ship Class 4 instead so I tried one of them. Crystal indicated Small Block 32 at 1.504, which compares to the Verbatum 8 gig Class 4 which ran at 0.005.

CM7 works much better, in fact, I now think I like it better than the rooted stock. Still having trouble with streaming radio apps, but Earth runs great. I can get used to the location picked up from the wifi.

CM7 boots without a tether. I also got CWM to boot off SD, but haven,t done a backup yet. That is next. Then I'll maybe go internal with the next release.

Bill
The Following User Says Thank You to miniblue For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2012, 03:46 PM |#454  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
2 questions. I have used 16gb sandisk to upload alpha final.

1: i actually like the big chunky stock keyboard, is there a way to port it over to cm7, as a added option?

2: i used a 16 gig sd card to store the alpha final, can someone show me the number of partition i have to make in order to fully utilize all the space? Right now, i after i used win imager32 to write the .img on the sd card, it shows only 1 gb left.

Thank you.
22nd March 2012, 05:50 PM |#455  
Senior Member
Flag The Woodlands, Texas
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Use EaseUS

Click your SD card (be sure it is the SD)
Click on the bottom Fat 32 partition (second to last line)
Click the resize menu button, I think the top on the left.
Use the slider and slide it all the way to the right.
Ok
Apply
You're done.

As you have heard before this operation is at your risk. If you messup the SD card no big deal you do it again IF YOU RESIZE YOUR HARD DRIVE THAT WILL NOT BE GOOD.

Bill
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to miniblue For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2012, 07:14 PM |#456  
Junior Member
Flag North Jersey
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Do Class 10 SD cards work?
Several days ago started booting my Nook Tablet into CW7 using a Transcend 8GB Class 6 micro-SD. Even used Easeus to extend the last Fat32 partition. Everything works great.

I decided a faster micro-SD might improve boot times, so I purchased an A-Data 16GB Class 10. I can't get this micro-SD to work reliably. After installing a fresh CW7 image, my Nook will boot and I can configure, but it will NOT boot completely after that. On subsequent boots, I get the Team-B logo, but it never gets to the skating Android logo.

I've tried wiping the micro-SD with Easeus and I've downloaded a fresh CW7 image. The A-Data Class 10 card just doesn't seem to work.

So, my question is this: Is Class 10 the problem or is A-Data the problem, or do I just have a bad SD card?
22nd March 2012, 07:28 PM |#457  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratickle

Several days ago started booting my Nook Tablet into CW7 using a Transcend 8GB Class 6 micro-SD. Even used Easeus to extend the last Fat32 partition. Everything works great.

I decided a faster micro-SD might improve boot times, so I purchased an A-Data 16GB Class 10. I can't get this micro-SD to work reliably. After installing a fresh CW7 image, my Nook will boot and I can configure, but it will NOT boot completely after that. On subsequent boots, I get the Team-B logo, but it never gets to the skating Android logo.

I've tried wiping the micro-SD with Easeus and I've downloaded a fresh CW7 image. The A-Data Class 10 card just doesn't seem to work.

So, my question is this: Is Class 10 the problem or is A-Data the problem, or do I just have a bad SD card?

I installed CM7 image on a SAMSUNG 32GB MICRO SDHC CLASS 10.

http://www.frys.com/product/6786695

I haven't had any issues other than that the NT needs to be plugged in to PC / AC Power in order to boot to SD CM7. It otherwise boots to the STOCK rom. This is also a common issue that others experience. At this point, I haven't seen any conclusive anaylsis to show that the issue is caused by a specific microSD card type / brand.

Hope this helps.
22nd March 2012, 07:46 PM |#458  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Indeed, it is becoming very clear that different microSD cards perform differently with this CM7 setup.

Exactly WHAT it is about the cards that is causing the different (abnormal) results is not yet clear.
22nd March 2012, 08:43 PM |#459  
captican's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by movrshakr

Indeed, it is becoming very clear that different microSD cards perform differently with this CM7 setup.

Exactly WHAT it is about the cards that is causing the different (abnormal) results is not yet clear.

I use an eight gb, class 10 sd card from "Amazon Basics." I have not had any problems booting CM7. I have not repartitioned the sd card or done anything other than load the CM7 alpha using the image from CelticWebSolutions (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1481826).

I have had the tablet reboot back to stock three times while using the sd card but I am not (yet) convinced it has anything to do (solely) with the card (although I have not identified the reason for the three reboots). On the occasions when it has rebooted, I just power down and reboot back to CM7.
22nd March 2012, 09:51 PM |#460  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniblue

Use EaseUS

Click your SD card (be sure it is the SD)
Click on the bottom Fat 32 partition (second to last line)
Click the resize menu button, I think the top on the left.
Use the slider and slide it all the way to the right.
Ok
Apply
You're done.

As you have heard before this operation is at your risk. If you messup the SD card no big deal you do it again IF YOU RESIZE YOUR HARD DRIVE THAT WILL NOT BE GOOD.

Bill

Done as you described, and windows explorer still shows only 156 mb free on a 16gb card after I put alpha final on with win32imager... EaseUS shows 14 gb free fwiw...

What is the minimum size gb SD card i can get by? I've used a 4gb and it seems to be fine.

I suppose I still don't have full access of the NT's internal memory, i.e. still only 1 gb user available, is that still true? Can I swap SD card after boot-up? like watch a movie or something if I use a 4gb SD card to boot up the NT from now on?
22nd March 2012, 10:20 PM |#461  
Junior Member
Flag North Jersey
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
More micro-SD Card Testing
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratickle

Several days ago started booting my Nook Tablet into CW7 using a Transcend 8GB Class 6 micro-SD. Even used Easeus to extend the last Fat32 partition. Everything works great.

I decided a faster micro-SD might improve boot times, so I purchased an A-Data 16GB Class 10. I can't get this micro-SD to work reliably. After installing a fresh CW7 image, my Nook will boot and I can configure, but it will NOT boot completely after that. On subsequent boots, I get the Team-B logo, but it never gets to the skating Android logo.

I've tried wiping the micro-SD with Easeus and I've downloaded a fresh CW7 image. The A-Data Class 10 card just doesn't seem to work.

So, my question is this: Is Class 10 the problem or is A-Data the problem, or do I just have a bad SD card?


Others on this thread have stated that the 4K QD=32 writes should be above 1 mb/sec for a micro-SD card to work. I tested my A-Data class 10 card with CrystalDiskMark and it's 4K QD=32 writes are a terrible 0.036 mb/s. Then I tested my Transcend class 6 and it scored 0.046 mb/s. So... my Transcend card should work. But it does. It works perfectly.

I also purchased a SanDisk 16gb Class 6. It's 4K QD=32 writes bench at 1.53 mb/s. As expected, the SanDisk card works fine as well.

Just so you know: If you do an image save of your running CW7 micro-SD card using Win32DiskImager, you can restore that saved image to a new micro-SD card and your Nook Tablet will boot in to the version you have previously configured. Nice way to do a backup.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes