Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,547 Members 42,795 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need som help to end Froyo on Kaiser install

Tip us?
 
bernie.discale
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Need som help to end Froyo on Kaiser install

Hello xda-kaiser-android community

My configuration is :
SDCARD with 4 partitions :
  1. FAT16 with Haret, zimage, inird, default.txt
  2. SYSTEM (ext2)
  3. DATA (ext2)
  4. swap

I've managed to launch Android, and the phones does work.
Unfortunately, at the moment, some other things does not work :
  • WIFI : fails when getting the IP (so I scan WIFI networks well, but there is a problemn when creating the network interface...)
  • Modem : does not work..
  • Camera : not very important for the moment, but can become more...
So, I wanted to dump log files and try, with the terminal, to guess what is happening, but I COULD NOT MANAGED to SU ROOT (as a Linux user, I don't feel comfortable when I cannont be root on my personnal machine)...

When launching the "SuperUser" program the Applist is empty ?
When I set suid and root:root ownership of /bin/su on the SYSTEM partition, when SD mounted on my computer, It is not preserved when used inside Android...
After some inspection of the init scripts (see here under), my question is :
WHY SYSTEM PARTITION IS NOT MOUNTED with ROOT privileges ??
WHY is it chowned to the user 1000:1000 ?

Code:
            # mount and set perms
            $BB mount -o noatime,nodiratime -t auto $PARTITION $SD_EXT_DIRECTORY;
            if [ "$?" = 0 ];
            then
                $BB chown 1000:1000 $SD_EXT_DIRECTORY;
                $BB chmod 771 $SD_EXT_DIRECTORY;
                log -p i -t mountsd "$SD_EXT_DIRECTORY successfully mounted";
Thank you for your comments, any help will be appreciated
Regards
Bernie
 
bernie.discale
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
I overpost myself : My problem probably comes from the way I extracted the Froyo tarball to the SYSTEM partition...

I'll try again and inform you of my mistake.

Regards
 
Ttblondey
Old
#3  
Ttblondey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,678
Join Date: Jan 2008
why don't you try FAT32 instead of FAT16
The Following User Says Thank You to Ttblondey For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
n2rjt
Old
#4  
n2rjt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 861
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie.discale View Post
I overpost myself : My problem probably comes from the way I extracted the Froyo tarball to the SYSTEM partition...

I'll try again and inform you of my mistake.

Regards
Don't extract the froyo tarball. Just place androidinstall.tgz and androidupdate.tgz into the SDCARD andboot folder. Then, after you boot linux, touch and hold the center of the screen, and an install menu will appear. Then select your partitions, install system (and format data partition), install updates, and fix permissions, then exit. Android should start. Be sure your kernel (zImage) and drivers (androidupdate.tgz) match, and it also helps for the initrd.lzma to match. When wifi doesn't work, that usually means the driver is mismatched.
My Devices, newest to oldest:
* TV box: Rikomagic MK802 IV; stock (Android 4.2.2)
* TV box: Rikomagic MK802+; Uberoid (Android 4.0.2)
* Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Maguro/GSM); stock (Android 4.3) w/ Fancy Kernel
* Tablet: Motorola Xoom; stock (Android 4.1.2)
* Phone: HTC Touch Pro 2 (Rhodium) [dead] Android 2.3
* Phone: HTC Kaiser; Android 2.2 "Fresh Froyo"
* Phone: HTC Wizard; WM6.1 Ham3r H3r7
The Following User Says Thank You to n2rjt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bernie.discale
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hi Guys

Thnk you for your answers.
I got a more urgent issue than porting my kaiser to android : I've been forced to move my laptop back to windows again ...
So I must know workaround to dual boot linux (and, believe me, this install of windows is not the standard one)..

But A soon as I can, I will try the install stuff.

thank you again
 
bernie.discale
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Heydiho !

Things get better...
I caught eu-froyo-odex and installed it as is after entering the installation menu (launched by init ?)... The su command is now working. I have to tackle a few things now :
  1. Wifi works even worse (now I clealry see an error, where, with the other distro, it was probably a permission issue)
  2. Screen has still odd behaviors
  3. Keymap issue with Keyboard arrows does not work in terminal
  4. And camera to be confirmed

I'll dig the forum for topics on these subjects and get back if I'm really stuck

Best regards
Bernie
 
bernie.discale
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hello

Things goes in the good direction :
  1. Wifi is now ok (was not working with panel 1.. can this be correlated ?)
  2. Screen works better with panel 2, but I'am still not sure if mine is 2 or 3)
  3. Keymap Fixed : was only a matter of using bash insted of default busybox's shell
  4. camera is not working
  5. GPRS modem not working
  6. Battery consumption is high with system on sdcard


Stay tuned !
 
PoXFreak
Old
#8  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 826
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Apex NC

 
DONATE TO ME
I am working on a couple of things, specifically a "build.prop" mod and adding a "gps.conf" file to /system/etc, which is just a list of AGPS servers and to fix some GPS issues.
The modded build.prop that I have reworked adds some dalvik cache lines and "sleep mode" lines, as our Kaisers don't have a sleep mode implemented.

Camera and GPRS can be associated with the radio rom installed. I found that on my specific device, radio 1.70.19.09 allowed GPS and data to work smoothly, but I would lose the phone after the first call and camera had just a dark green screen. 1.65.16.25 dropped GPRS but improved data speeds and allowed the phone to work as well as the camera.

YMMV but I would say wipe any trace of WM from that phone (support is ending this May) and go directly with Android via NAND install.
Daily device
Samsung Infuse SGH-I997, CM 10.2/11
x86 device
HP Mini 5101 10" net book
Android 4.4.2
 
bernie.discale
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hello guys

@PoXFreak
I still have some habbits on my WM (freeOTFE encryption, contacts and some other stuffs) that are still working well on WM, and I don't feel very comfortable in switching on full Android (I mean on NAND) while I'am not very used to use Android... I would have definitely preferred to have a working platform booting from sdcard before flashing the NAND, but you confirmed that some issues may be linked to the SDCARD install...

I'm stuck since the beginning of march with the GPRS modem, and I don't clearly understand what are you talking about (have to check what you mean by radio).

My problem is, at the moment, that I don't have any mean to debug : is there a way to activate logs for users spaces programs ? Where to find em ?
If there is a better way to debug, what is it ?

As always, thank you, in advance, for any answer.
I'll try by myself a soon as I can (and, during the last weeks, it was not the case).
Best regards
 
bernie.discale
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
I will add, moreover, that I'am still not sure of my panel (2 or 3 !!!)

Regards

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more

LG G Watch Tool is a Toolkit all Owners Need

The LG G Watch is one of the first two devices hitting the market rocking the highly anticipated … more

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more