Post Reply

HELP!!! TG01 goes into super S-L-O-W mode

OP CrashMurdock

3rd January 2012, 01:16 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by kijotex

Hi, I had exactly the same problem about one year ago.

Used to work the 'hard reset' stuff but in a days it slows down again and again.

I checked my SD card on the PC and looked like it was working fine, but it really wasn't. I had the final clue by using by a few days the phone without the SD... It worked just fine without sd.

So I decided to buy a ultra cool (an expensive BTW) SDHC class 10 and every problem with TG01 was solved!

Well, not every problem... Still having a little one with the GPS signal and the 3G data but it's not about the same thing.. but i'll still reading post here. Just forgot about this problem cause I was using some cooked roms from this place, but I had to return to the Movistar ES original in order to unlock the phone and now... you know, just don't work anymore. If I can't finx this **** with the original rom I'll go back to another coocked one.

Good luck!

Greetings from Thailand, kijotex! Hadn't considered the SD card as the possible problem. Mine is a 16GB Class 6 and seems to work fine. Did you check your SD card for errors or reformat it before buying the new card? I've used the same card in my previous phone, an HTC 8525/Hermes without problems (that I know of).

Thanks for responding & Happy New Year!
4th January 2012, 12:43 PM   |  #12  
Member
Flag Bucuresti
Thanks Meter: 30
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashMurdock

Greetings from Thailand, kijotex! Hadn't considered the SD card as the possible problem. Mine is a 16GB Class 6 and seems to work fine. Did you check your SD card for errors or reformat it before buying the new card? I've used the same card in my previous phone, an HTC 8525/Hermes without problems (that I know of).

Thanks for responding & Happy New Year!

So you solve the problem with S-L-O-W think?
How did you solve it?
what was wrong?
I ask you because in my case only after switching the carrier I could use the phone again!
7th January 2012, 01:41 AM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rila

So you solve the problem with S-L-O-W think?
How did you solve it?
what was wrong?
I ask you because in my case only after switching the carrier I could use the phone again!

I backed up everything on the phone late the other night and was going to hard/master reset it the next morning but got called out of town and didn't do it. I did swap out my custom triple-battery pack and went back to my original Toshiba battery for a day. Surprisingly, the phone worked normally so re-installed the triple battery pack and it has been working 'normally' since then. I have no idea why. Between the quirks in Windows Mobile and the TG01 quirks I just never know what this phone is going to do next. If/when the s-l-o-w mode problem shows up again I'll hard/reset it and post again.

Cheers...
19th March 2012, 02:47 PM   |  #14  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rila

So you solve the problem with S-L-O-W think?
How did you solve it?
what was wrong?
I ask you because in my case only after switching the carrier I could use the phone again!

I finally did the master-clear this week as the phone was getting completely unusable. That seems to have helped tremendously but the phone went into the SLOW mode again today and I had to reboot it 2 or 3 times before it finally was normal. I had just played the Tiger Woods golf game on it for about 30 minutes so wonder if that didn't contribute somehow. I then went into Toshiba Power settings and unchecked the Reduce CPU speed if low battery box even though immediately after playing the game the battery meter showed 70%, but we all know how buggy that is.

My phone was getting screwed up because the case (actually a thin sleeve) was too tight and it allowed buttons to get mashed while it was in my pocket. This may not have been a problem except I had the Lock function disabled. Over time that random button pushing definitely corrupted WM6.5 just like it had done to my old HTC 8525. I'm now using a 2.5" USB external hard drive case until I can find a better fitting one.
25th March 2012, 03:26 PM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Talking
I think I finally solved the problem. [crosses fingers] The Master Clear helped with some of the problems, but didn't cure the random S-L-O-W mode. I ended up reinstalling the same ROM and so far the phone is working flawlessly. I'm guessing that WM6.5 became corrupted over time and that was the culprit. I also had the phone Lock disabled and that continually caused buttons to get accidentally pressed while bicycling and/or jogging and speed walks. I personally feel the buttons need a bit more spring tension, especially the Sleep/Lock button on the left hand side. The Lock is enabled now so hopefully that will help.
25th March 2012, 08:09 PM   |  #16  
kevinpwhite's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 83
 
425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashMurdock

My phone was getting screwed up because the case (actually a thin sleeve) was too tight and it allowed buttons to get mashed while it was in my pocket. ............... I'm now using a 2.5" USB external hard drive case until I can find a better fitting one.


In case it may be of interest, I have been using the Capdase leather sleeve case for a long time now without any issues. Nice red microfibre lining and pull tab to extract the phone easily. This UK supplier says no longer available, but most likely there are some about if you search a bit.

Best regards,

Kevin
The Following User Says Thank You to kevinpwhite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2012, 05:38 AM   |  #17  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinpwhite

In case it may be of interest, I have been using the Capdase leather sleeve case for a long time now without any issues. Nice red microfibre lining and pull tab to extract the phone easily. This UK supplier says no longer available, but most likely there are some about if you search a bit.

Best regards,

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Nice to 'hear' from you again and thanks for the tip. I'm using the Mugen back cover for their 2600 mAh battery, although with my custom battery pack. The phone is now about 1/2"(17mm) thick. Do you think this Capdase sleeve will fit?

I'm also glad you answered as I was about to post a new thread or PM you with a question about cooking my own phone config into a custom ROM. After just having to reinstall all of my add-ons, customized SPB GUI, etc., twice while trying to fix this problem, I'm now thinking about backing up everything with a custom ROM. That way if I have to reinstall the ROM I won't have to spend another couple of days getting the phone config back to where it was. I've perused the TG01 kitchen thread but confess I'm still confused about how to do it. And since 99.9% of my stuff is installed on the microSD card will the new custom ROM be able to access that existing data?

Finally, I have to say this phone continues to amaze me (when WM isn't acting up). I just can't see any benefit to 'upgrading' to WP7 like many have done, possibly bricking the phone in the process, or trashing the SDcard, etc. as it just doesn't seem worth it. Now I admit that the reason I bought this phone last year was to install Android, but after having a Viewsonic G-Tablet for a few months with a custom Gingerbread 2.3 ROM installed on it I just gave the tablet back (to my buddy) as it was so freakin' buggy. Bottom line is I'm not so impressed with Android at this point, especially custom ROMs. Anyway, that's my story and I'm sticking to it.

I look forward to your sage advice.

Cheers!

Jim
27th March 2012, 02:04 AM   |  #18  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Unhappy Well... It appears the TG01 show is over
My TG01 has now gone into permanent S-L-O-W mode and I can't get it out of it. I've soft reset it probably 20-25 times, even yanked the battery out while it's still on hoping to shock the system. Did this many times and it didn't make any difference. I even left the battery out all night last night hoping for a miracle this morning. Of course, no change. I'm afraid to try to reinstall the ROM again as it probably couldn't complete the task before the battery runs down. As it is now I can't even make a call as it simply goes so slow it won't even connect, so if I can't find a solution soon the TG01 is going into the trash bin. During the past 3 weeks I have spent way too many hours trying to resolve this problem and have simply run out of ideas and patience. I also Googled it and a few people have had the exact same problem but no one has posted a solution.

If anyone has a tip or suggestion please advise.
27th March 2012, 06:56 AM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Red face tg01 getting slower
In my case the issue was fully solved by: reformatting sd card (full format) and reflashing the ROM. No freezings since I did it 2 months ago. So, I would say it's either your sd card or your ROM. A hardware failure is also possible but it worth trying before throwing your tg01 in the trash Good luck!
27th March 2012, 07:21 AM   |  #20  
OP Senior Member
Flag Thailand
Thanks Meter: 6
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikiril

In my case the issue was fully solved by: reformatting sd card (full format) and reflashing the ROM. No freezings since I did it 2 months ago. So, I would say it's either your sd card or your ROM. A hardware failure is also possible but it worth trying before throwing your tg01 in the trash Good luck!

Hi mikiril,

Thanks for the fast response. I've tried everything including reflashing the ROM and even that only worked for a few days. I've been researching the problem again this morning and found the problem and a temporary solution. The problem is device.exe is running wide open using between 95%-100% of CPU cycles. A French TG01 website says it has something to do with clicking on the Restrict Sleep Mode button in the Toshiba Power Saving Settings menu, which I had done at some point, but later went back and unchecked it. Their 'solution' is to activate both Bluetooth and WiFi then turn them off. I confirm that does work until the next bootup or Soft Reset. Maybe there's something in the registry that can undo whatever clicking on Restrict Sleep Mode has done. At least the phone is working at normal speed again, temporarily, so I have a little bit of hope.

Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
reboot, slow, tg01, wm6.5
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes