Post Reply

USB car charger dongle supporting "charging AC" mode?

7th March 2012, 11:00 PM   |  #31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus20895

This one works without soldering or anything. It charges the EXTENDED batter about 1% every two minutes.



http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

Anything similar to this for 2 phones? And also does this come with a cable? I'm having issues with the popular Motorola car charger cable being loose.
8th March 2012, 01:09 AM   |  #32  
txkorm's Avatar
Senior Member
San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 219
 
964 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cares

Anything similar to this for 2 phones? And also does this come with a cable? I'm having issues with the popular Motorola car charger cable being loose.

Nope, no cable. This thing charges quickly! Just order two more. One for the wife and one for my "Tech-Out bag". Yes, I'm a "Battery Drain Prepper".

KORM via the beast known as the Rezound.
24th March 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #33  
Apsalus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus20895

This one works without soldering or anything. It charges the EXTENDED batter about 1% every two minutes.



http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

Welcome to the thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apsalus

I forgot to update this thread. I got the HTC CC C300 dual port charger and it does provide 1A. The model number is 99H10128-00.



If you can live with only one port, the single port HTC charger does AC charging as well. The cheapest that I've seen it is here, as a "T-Mobile myTouch" branded unit. http://www.amazon.com/HTC-T-Mobile-m...d=CYR5AB72ZMIK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cares

Anything similar to this for 2 phones? And also does this come with a cable? I'm having issues with the popular Motorola car charger cable being loose.

The CC C300 does 1A from both ports. It comes with one cable.
24th March 2012, 06:41 AM   |  #34  
Member
Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 12
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Have any of you tried using Battery Monitor Widget to actually measure your charge rates? I never have issues getting 1A charge with any charger, including the $4 Motorola car charger. Just don't use cheap Chinese junk and you shouldn't have any issues.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
24th March 2012, 01:45 PM   |  #35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecetim

Have any of you tried using Battery Monitor Widget to actually measure your charge rates?

Using what monitoring method? With the default, Auto, charging measurements seem to be close, but discharge measurements are way off. That makes me not trust either to be particularly accurate.
25th March 2012, 10:00 PM   |  #36  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
this thread left me with more questions

1) does it show AC/USB based on the >0.5A being provided? or based on the shorted data pins in the USB cable?

2) So, how do you guys measure charging current? i could only find remaning battery voltage on my CM7.1

extra. 3) if you were to attach a multimeter to measure real Amps being draw, how would you do it?
26th March 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #37  
maximus20895's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
397 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I downloaded battery monitor widget or something, it tells the draw and input.

No idea, but there is an app for that ^
26th March 2012, 05:18 AM   |  #38  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
what i'm trying to figure out now is if the phone is relying solely on the shorted USB pin 3-4 instead of acually checking amperage.

I checked those widgets, and didn't put much trust on them.

Anyone knows where in the proc filesystem i can find the input voltage? my googlefu failed.

i wasted some type probing /sys and /proc but the best i could find was in dmesg

"batt: 96%, 4162 mV, 206 mA (210 avg), 28.8 C, 1300 mAh"

which does not tell me anything about the charger

---------- Post added at 01:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:55 AM ----------

i'm testing one board and between pin 2-3 there's 24K ohm.

does that sound right?
26th March 2012, 07:27 AM   |  #39  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
yeah, i have to learn a little about eletronics.

just tested several AC chargers, they all have <1 ohm. So i just went ahead and soldered my car charger's pins.

seems that to advertise ipad/iwhatever compatible the manufacturers, besides paying royalties, are forbidden to short the pins on the charger itself.
26th March 2012, 03:19 PM   |  #40  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcbxda

seems that to advertise ipad/iwhatever compatible the manufacturers, besides paying royalties, are forbidden to short the pins on the charger itself.

Nope. Shorting D+ and D- (actually, it's a 200 Ohm resistance in the current spec) is part of the USB charging specification. Makers of cheap chargers don't do it because they're clueless.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes