Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,597 Members 52,170 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kindle Fire 6.3 root

Tip us?
 
jcase
Old
(Last edited by jcase; 25th April 2012 at 03:17 AM.)
#1  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,525
Posts: 3,719
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Kindle Fire 6.3 root

Warning
Below be dragons, please gather armor and basic computing knowledge before preceding </ubergeek>. Working adb AND fastboot are requires, support for adb and fastboot are NOT offered by me. If you question is related to OSX or Linux I may be able to help. If it is windows related, don't get pissed when I tell you "I have no idea", it is the truth.


This is at your own risk! Do not blame me if something goes wrong!

For 6.2, 6.2.1 and 6.2.2 please see BurritoRoot3 -> http://rootzwiki.com/topic/13027-roo...-root-edition/

While I have another root exploit, Amazon neglected pokey's far more beautiful one this update, and we have no good reason to blow another root for this update, so isntead here is a guide using fbmode.

Full credits for this goes to pokey9000 (see http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1414832). This guide requires you to have adb and fastboot working FOR THE KINDLE FIRE, on whatever os you are on.

Required files:
fbmode.zip - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1414832
twrp2 - http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/79
su - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8699733/kindlefire/su
firefirefirefire http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1369405
fastboot + adb for your OS of choice.


unzip fbmode.zip

adb push fbmode /data/local/fbmode
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/fbmode
adb shell /data/local/fbmode
adb reboot

Your kindle will "get stuck" on the kindle fire screen, but really it's just in fastboot mode.

fastboot -i 0x1949 flash bootloader <name of firefirefire image here>
fastboot -i 0x1949 flash recovery <name of recovery image here>

Your device will now boot into twrp recovery, and flash the firefirefire bootlaoder. When done it will prompt you to reboot. Upon reboot you will get stuck on the "yellow triangle" screen of firefire fire.

fastboot oem idme bootmode 5002
fastboot reboot

Once in recovery
adb shell mount system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
adb shell chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su

Lets disable the root check before rebooting

adb shell mv /system/bin/check_rooted /system/bin/check_rooted.bak

adb shell idme bootmode 4000
adb reboot

Once booted into Android, install superuser
adb install Superuser.apk
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
The Following 50 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
uoY_redruM
Old
#2  
uoY_redruM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,934
Posts: 3,319
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Orlando, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
So this is strictly to add root for someone who is running stock 6.3, correct?

Thanks for the write up.
Interested in buying me a coffee? Click the 'Donate" button:

HTC One (M8)

Galaxy Tab 3

LG G2 UPGRADED

(16GB Blue) Galaxy S III - T-Mobile RETIRED

Kindle Fire RETIRED

Galaxy Nexus - GSM Unlocked STOLEN

Nexus One - RETIRED
The Following User Says Thank You to uoY_redruM For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kernelsandirs
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 35
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Once again! You rule.
 
smirkis
Old
#4  
smirkis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 611
Posts: 1,806
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Your fast! I was gonna suggest pokeys bootmodes before tossing an exploit but u went straight for it lol. Great work jcase

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
T-Mobile G2>HTC Glacier>Samsung Galaxy Nexus>Google Nexus 4

Asus Transformer>Amazon Kindle Fire>Google Nexus 7>2013 Nexus 7
 
jcase
Old
#5  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,525
Posts: 3,719
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelsandirs View Post
Once again! You rule.
It's pokey's not mine, I just posted up a guide to stop ppl from asking me
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
 
jcase
Old
#6  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,525
Posts: 3,719
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by smirkis View Post
Your fast! I was gonna suggest pokeys bootmodes before tossing an exploit but u went straight for it lol. Great work jcase

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
I flashed back to stock and updated. My "secondary" exploit still exists, but after getting root I decided to check and see if fbmode would still work, and it does.

So we should be good for the next one as well.
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Laquox
Old
#7  
Laquox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 235
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quick question you wonderful people,

Does this work with kinfauns 1.3 firefirefire?

It's basically just pokey9000's with some quirks and a different boot menu but figured I would ask the "big guys" first before I turn into one of those "I bricked my fire" folks. Cheers.

Current Devices:
Nokia Lumia 920 Red
Kindle Fire:CM11/SGT7/KITKAT


Thanks to egzthunder1 for letting me borrow the animated sig.
 
jcase
Old
#8  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7,525
Posts: 3,719
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laquox View Post
Quick question you wonderful people,

Does this work with kinfauns 1.3 firefirefire?

It's basically just pokey9000's with some quirks and a different boot menu but figured I would ask the "big guys" first before I turn into one of those "I bricked my fire" folks. Cheers.
should work with anything
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
 
soupmagnet
Old
#9  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2,385
Posts: 4,021
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Wow, it didn't take them long to implement a root check at all. I guess more people are rooting their devices than had previously expected. They're selling them at a loss in the hopes that they will make it up in app store and prime sales. Woops. Oh well, I'm just glad I switched rooms when I did. It won't be long before they make them either unrootable (less likely) or stop selling them altogether (more likely).

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire using xda premium
 
BigFuzzyArchon
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 92
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet View Post
Wow, it didn't take them long to implement a root check at all. I guess more people are rooting their devices than had previously expected. They're selling them at a loss in the hopes that they will make it up in app store and prime sales. Woops. Oh well, I'm just glad I switched rooms when I did. It won't be long before they make them either unrootable (less likely) or stop selling them altogether (more likely).

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire using xda premium
no, every update has "broke" root. amazon does this so that their updates wont brick rooted devices. they haven't done anything to prevent people from rooting.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes