Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

[Q] Nandroid Help

OP Jay3161

27th March 2012, 01:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Hi

I messed up my phone today trying to revert back using a nandroid backup i had.
Problem is, when i restored it, my captivate would get to the splash screen and just go on forever. I thought maybe it will take awhile but no, it keeps going and ive left it for so long.

Im running Team ICSSGS along with IcyGlitch B5.

I can get into the OS after i format everything but i wanted to get back into my phone with all my apps still there.

Any help please?

Thanks
27th March 2012, 03:02 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Copy Glitch V14 B6 to your SD card, then try a fresh restore, followed by flashing B6 before you reboot.
27th March 2012, 03:12 AM   |  #3  
bravomail's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 338
 
949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Question Say, what is Nandroid
Never did Nandroids. Just backed all my apps, account and Wi-Fi settings by TiBu. Then copied /sdcard/TitaniumBackup into computer.

Does Nandroid knows the filesystem to format etc? And if apps were on SDCard - will it really restore them?
27th March 2012, 03:52 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
pc103, i tried that several times to no avail.
i finally installed appextractor and used that and did pretty much what i needed. not all my user data is there but thats ok, saves me from having to redownload everything.
27th March 2012, 01:16 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravomail

Does Nandroid knows the filesystem to format etc? And if apps were on SDCard - will it really restore them?

Good details are at What exactly is a nandroid backup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay3161

pc103, i tried that several times to no avail.
i finally installed appextractor and used that and did pretty much what i needed. not all my user data is there but thats ok, saves me from having to redownload everything.

Check out the smbk functions in Super Manager. They let you choose between [sys] / [user] apks +/- data when restoring. That and Super Backup makes an easier reload when Nandroid's not an option.
The Following User Says Thank You to pc103 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2012, 07:55 PM   |  #6  
p1gnone's Avatar
Senior Member
watchung
Thanks Meter: 6
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravomail

Never did Nandroids. Just backed all my apps, account and Wi-Fi settings by TiBu. Then copied /sdcard/TitaniumBackup into computer.

Does Nandroid knows the filesystem to format etc? And if apps were on SDCard - will it really restore them?

As a longtime TIBU user I have run into trouble. I was using ROMs in the i9000 [Saurom, Continuum, Apex] family but also Native I897 ROMs [ Serenity, SaruromKK4]. Never a complaint due to TIBU. But moving over to CM9 and 4.0.4 IMM30B I have found that a full restore breaks things. Both the media player and messaging stop working [some installs]. I have had to be selective, and ...

Nandroid? pc103 links to info that shows Nandroid will not replace TIBU.. Perhaps TIBU has more control/functionality than my FULL restore approach.
Last edited by p1gnone; 29th March 2012 at 11:35 PM.
13th April 2012, 05:01 PM   |  #7  
They Drew First Blood's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 234
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I'm almost positive nandroid does recognize the file system- I think that is the point of nandroid basically, to take a snapshot of your entire phone including file systems and cache- but I ran into issues restoring apps with TiBu after a nandroid backup/restore between two rom versions, and it seemed to be due to a different format of file system. I'm no expert however...
13th April 2012, 06:11 PM   |  #8  
lufc's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Flag Blackpool UK
Thanks Meter: 1,485
 
9,512 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions &
Read the Forum Rules Ref Posting

Moving to Q&A

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes