FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[SOLVED] [Q] Testapps ... in market/play

30th March 2012, 10:11 PM |#1  
julianpaul's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
One fine day noticed this sitting at the top of the apps list in market.

Clicking open launches Tetris. Tried freezing tetris and it disappeared, unfroze and it came back. Does this mean it's really a mislabeled entry for tetris and not malware of some sort? But why now all of a sudden?

Solution: See this post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_2012-03-31_0231.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	973958   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_2012-03-31_0231_1.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	973959  
Last edited by julianpaul; 2nd April 2012 at 12:47 AM.
 
 
31st March 2012, 12:34 AM |#2  
UndisputedGuy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by julianpaul

One fine day noticed this sitting at the top of the apps list in market.

Clicking open launches Tetris. Tried freezing tetris and it disappeared, unfroze and it came back. Does this mean it's really a mislabeled entry for tetris and not malware of some sort? But why now all of a sudden?

I don't know. I think it's safe though-read some reviews

Sent from my R800i using XDA
31st March 2012, 02:32 AM |#3  
devi59's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belle Fourche
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Yea it seems to be just us play users have it. pretty crazy.
31st March 2012, 03:02 AM |#4  
jacklebott's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Land of the Idiots
Thanks Meter: 490
 
More
Looks like it even has an official market link TestApps, how weird
31st March 2012, 04:17 AM |#5  
julianpaul's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
In market on the phone, there are 337 comments (as of now), but nothing on the web market.

Also, all those reviewing it as safe are simply doing so because hitting open on the app launches tetris. I may be wrong but it could also simply be linking to tetris while actually being more malicious underneath. Kinda like how even a simple batch file can launch two apps (or more) and one app may be a background process, while the other is the visible smokescreen...
31st March 2012, 04:27 AM |#6  
AndroHero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 908
 
More
I would assume that this app is malicious, as the developers website link, links to a dead domain. I'd suggest removing it asap.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using Tapatalk
31st March 2012, 04:39 AM |#7  
julianpaul's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Can't really remove it, even with a system utility, because we simply don't know what to remove!

And freezing/removing tetris seems to remove the entry from the app list in market. If it's trojan-like, it's very well integrated.

I think we're entering a new era of android malware, and it's pretty scary...
31st March 2012, 04:41 AM |#8  
AndroHero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 908
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by julianpaul

Can't really remove it, even with a system utility, because we simply don't know what to remove!

And freezing/removing tetris seems to remove the entry from the app list in market. If it's trojan-like, it's very well integrated.

I think we're entering a new era of android malware, and it's pretty scary...

Look in /data/app or /sd/android.secure for any .apk with that apps icon, delete the .apk then format dalvik cache and it's gone

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using Tapatalk
31st March 2012, 04:44 AM |#9  
julianpaul's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
LOL, it has no icon either.
31st March 2012, 01:59 PM |#10  
julianpaul's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
So I deleted cache/cleared data for google play, uninstalled it back to the market version and then let it reinstall the google play update and the entry seems to have disappeared. Time will tell...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
testapps, tetris
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes