Post Reply

AGPS Patch Desire S 3.1 & 2.2 | GET BACK TO RAPID GPS LOCK, CAN LOCK ONTO MORE SATS

30th March 2012, 09:33 PM   |  #181  
Forwox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riga
Thanks Meter: 15
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
It took 68 seconds to connect to satellites and show location. Accuracy +-100 to 200 meters. Only one 5floor living house, other houses around much smaller.
30th March 2012, 09:36 PM   |  #182  
crypted's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,124
 
2,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forwox

It took 68 seconds to connect to satellites and show location. Accuracy +-100 to 200 meters. Only one 5floor living house, other houses around much smaller.

Are you using a case? Do you have an internet connection to the phone?
30th March 2012, 09:56 PM   |  #183  
Forwox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riga
Thanks Meter: 15
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
No, I am not using a case, only as it is. Yes, I have configured internet connection on my phone, but I use it rarely, so it's switched of all the time. Do you think that could be a problem, some kind of an ineterference?

Sent from my DesireS using XDA
Last edited by Forwox; 30th March 2012 at 10:00 PM.
30th March 2012, 10:21 PM   |  #184  
crypted's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,124
 
2,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forwox

No, I am not using a case, only as it is. Yes, I have configured internet connection on my phone, but I use it rarely, so it's switched of all the time. Do you think that could be a problem, some kind of an ineterference?

Sent from my DesireS using XDA

aGPS requires data connections for the use of internet server assistance. Further, it needs to download local assistance almanac files at least once a day. Wifi and/or data is necessary.
31st March 2012, 08:08 AM   |  #185  
mouzzza's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austria, NOT Australia ;)
Thanks Meter: 16
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forwox

By so far it means that if I want to have GPS I should go around MIUI and Cyanogenmod?

MIUI and Cyanogenmod are nice Roms. I like them much!!

But you'll have to know that MIUI v4 and CM9 are on Alphastate at the moment, and this will not change till devs get the HTC-kernel for our device! This will last till HTC is updating the DesireS to ICS!

MIUI v2.3.23 and CM7 based on Gingerbread are stable, there you won't have much trouble at all!
9th April 2012, 12:56 AM   |  #186  
crypted's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,124
 
2,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Thread kind of updated to include a new device:
Asus Transformer Prime

This patch can be useful on devices that need the GPS XML file which is prevalent in non-Qualcomm chipsets. So, it can be used in other devices as well.

The new release has no effect on other supported devices unless it is a non-Qualcomm phone.
16th April 2012, 09:37 PM   |  #187  
miwanr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Purwodadi
Thanks Meter: 35
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
I try both version 2.2 and 3.1 on my Desire S but no effect, still hard to get satellite and fix (with GPS Status only get 1/1 fix/sats).

---------- Post added at 03:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:29 AM ----------

When i use custom ROM Virtuous Quattro RC3 on my Desire S GPS work fine. It can get 7/7 Fix/Sats with GPS Status. Anyone know how to get it work on stock HTC Gingerbread? I mean can I get some file in Virtuous Quattro RC3 to be patch to stock ROM?
16th April 2012, 10:07 PM   |  #188  
crypted's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,124
 
2,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miwanr

I try both version 2.2 and 3.1 on my Desire S but no effect, still hard to get satellite and fix (with GPS Status only get 1/1 fix/sats).

---------- Post added at 03:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:29 AM ----------

When i use custom ROM Virtuous Quattro RC3 on my Desire S GPS work fine. It can get 7/7 Fix/Sats with GPS Status. Anyone know how to get it work on stock HTC Gingerbread? I mean can I get some file in Virtuous Quattro RC3 to be patch to stock ROM?

Explain further. You tried to use this on WHAT ROM's exactly? Read the Notes Section and then the HOW TO POST section above it. Give us good information.

Sounds almost like you have GPS fixing apps installed like Faster Fix or something.
17th April 2012, 01:50 AM   |  #189  
miwanr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Purwodadi
Thanks Meter: 35
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypted

Explain further. You tried to use this on WHAT ROM's exactly? Read the Notes Section and then the HOW TO POST section above it. Give us good information.

Sounds almost like you have GPS fixing apps installed like Faster Fix or something.

I installed agps.patch.google.build.nossl.v3.1.zip by Recovery on Desire S Android 2.3.5 Kernel 2.6.35.10-ga76c374.
I was once installed GPS Fix but it's uninstalled before using this patch.
17th April 2012, 01:55 AM   |  #190  
crypted's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 4,124
 
2,473 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miwanr

I installed agps.patch.google.build.nossl.v3.1.zip by Recovery on Desire S Android 2.3.5 Kernel 2.6.35.10-ga76c374.
I was once installed GPS Fix but it's uninstalled before using this patch.

Have you tried any of the Notes? If so, which ones?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, lock, satellite, supl
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Desire S Android Development by ThreadRank