MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

ICS free ram

30th March 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
I've tried both miui v4 and aurora. I pretty much have less than 10mb free ram all the time. This seems to make multitasking impossible. My music never populates all my tracks.

Is this normal? Is there anything I can do to monitor or fix it?

Sent from my U8800 using Tapatalk
31st March 2012, 12:05 PM   |  #2  
jasonak0s's Avatar
Senior Member
SKG
Thanks Meter: 38
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
How many apps you have running in backround?
1st April 2012, 02:54 AM   |  #3  
dingdingdang's Avatar
Member
Flag Nanjing,CN
Thanks Meter: 4
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
my remain 78m,cant play Asphalt 6 Adrenaline HD.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-04-01-09-43-05.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	975930  
Last edited by dingdingdang; 1st April 2012 at 03:01 AM.
1st April 2012, 03:22 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonak0s

How many apps you have running in backround?

I pretty much had a fresh install. Plus only a few apps...battery defender, set CPU, rom toolbox. Any free ram just got slowly eaten up until I had none left.

Sent from my Huawei Ideos X5 using Tapatalk
1st April 2012, 11:37 AM   |  #5  
jasonak0s's Avatar
Senior Member
SKG
Thanks Meter: 38
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Ahm, i have around 190mb free ram.. so i think your problem is with some app you have installed.. try installing one by one app to see what app eats your ram.. always with no app running in backround...
1st April 2012, 08:25 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonak0s

Ahm, i have around 190mb free ram.. so i think your problem is with some app you have installed.. try installing one by one app to see what app eats your ram.. always with no app running in backround...

So I ended up wiping and reflashing - problem still there, no apps installed. Weird.

Back to elite rom - over 100mb free.

Sent from my Huawei Ideos X5 using Tapatalk
2nd April 2012, 06:12 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag anyang
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
about 50mb,too many apps.
2nd April 2012, 10:32 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I got 144MB free with there apps running :

Settings
Google services
Wiper app
Android keyboard
Phase beam
3rd April 2012, 12:27 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
if your phone will need more RAM for some programs.. it gonna kills himself unnecessary applications to get more memory.
For example in my CM 7.2 sometimes i got only 20-40mb of free memory, when I launch some game and after few sec I close it, I got about 140-180mb free :]
Android automatically manages the memory... don't worry
3rd April 2012, 12:53 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stopa

if your phone will need more RAM for some programs.. it gonna kills himself unnecessary applications to get more memory.
For example in my CM 7.2 sometimes i got only 20-40mb of free memory, when I launch some game and after few sec I close it, I got about 140-180mb free :]
Android automatically manages the memory... don't worry

I don't even have enough ram to multitask - I listen to music and play games at the same time on other roms no problems, but ICS roms I've tried don't even keep the media scanner open to populate my music player. I have to open it and wait for ages for each artist to slowly appear in the list.

I guess this is becuase it needs ram to do other things so stops the scanning process.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes