Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[How To] How To Install a Boot Animation (Rooted AND Non-Rooted)

OP Nolam20

4th April 2012, 12:53 AM   |  #1  
Nolam20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
This is mainly for the users of my animations who were asking! - Have fun guys!

If you are rooted:
1. Download a root explorer app (ES File Explorer is suggested and free)
2. Enable root directory (in ES File Explorer hit menu, go to settings, and check "Up to Root", then go farther down and check "Root Explorer". Accept any Superuser requests.
3. Go back to your explorer and navigate to where you downloaded the "bootanimation.zip" file. Copy (or cut) it.
4. Navigate as far up as you can into your root directory, and then to /data/local/
5. Paste your "bootanimation.zip" file into /data/local/ (it MUST be named bootanimation.zip)
6. Reboot and enjoy!

Alternatively, you can put it in /system/media, HOWEVER, make sure you back up your stock bootanimation.zip (rename it to bootanimation.zip.bak or move it to your sdcard somewhere) in case something goes wrong.

If you are not rooted (or rooted, this method works with both)
**PC only! I'm not sure how to set the Max OSX terminal to accept "adb" commands by default!**

Setup:
1. Download the newest Android SDK
2. Click the start menu, right click "Computer", and click "Properties"
3. Click "Advanced System Settings" on the left (On Win7)
4. In the advanced tab, click "Environment Variables"
5. In the system variables window, find "Path", select it and click "edit"
6. At the end of the bottom line, paste:
For 64-bit users:
Code:
;C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools
For 32-bit users:
Code:
;C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools
7. Click OK.

Process:
1. Plug in your device using a USB cable and enable USB Debugging (in the settings menu under development on your device)
2. Click the start menu, and either search for "cmd" or click run, and type "cmd.exe"
3. Navigate to the folder that you downloaded the bootanimation.zip file to using the following commands:
Code:
dir - lists all files in the directory stated
cd - changes directory to the given path. If "cd ..", it will navigate one folder backwards.
4. Use the following commands (your file must be named bootanimation.zip)
Code:
adb pull /data/local/bootanimation.zip C:\
adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local
NOTE: Alternatively for part 2 you can type "adb push ", open windows explorer, and drag the file infront of the command which will give you the path without having to type it in or navigate to it.

5. Be patient, when it is done it will say something like "X kb/s (X bytes) in X seconds"
6. You can test to see if you did it correctly by rebooting manually or entering
Code:
adb reboot
7. If you no longer want a custom bootanimation, just enter
Code:
adb pull /data/local/bootanimation.zip C:\
Remember to look in your main HDD directory and delete the bootanimation.zip file if it in fact did show up there for some reason.

Note: if it STILL does not revert to the stock boot animation after doing this step, type

Code:
adb shell

cd /data/local

rm bootanimation.zip
**If you have adb problems or questions, I'm not the one to ask, Google is

Thank you for thanking me!
Last edited by Nolam20; 5th April 2012 at 04:31 PM.
The Following 41 Users Say Thank You to Nolam20 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2012, 04:07 AM   |  #2  
lt thistle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I was completely unaware you could change your boot animation unrooted, thanks

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
4th April 2012, 02:16 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Thanks for this.
I thought it could not be done without a un-rooted Prime.
The Following User Says Thank You to racerxx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 12:28 PM   |  #4  
rndmnss's Avatar
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 19
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Thanks for this! Wasn't planning on rooting my Prime just yet and it's great that I can change the boot animation!
6th April 2012, 12:02 AM   |  #5  
RonH54's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corbin,Ky.
Thanks Meter: 106
 
1,577 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
If you do copy a bootanimation.zip to the data/local directory do you have to do anything to the Original bootanimation.zip in the system/media Directory?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
6th April 2012, 12:13 AM   |  #6  
Nolam20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonH54

If you do copy a bootanimation.zip to the data/local directory do you have to do anything to the Original bootanimation.zip in the system/media Directory?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk

Nope! It stays there safe and sound and will start playing again as soon as you remove the one from /data/local!
The Following User Says Thank You to Nolam20 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2012, 12:23 AM   |  #7  
RonH54's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corbin,Ky.
Thanks Meter: 106
 
1,577 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nolam20

Nope! It stays there safe and sound and will start playing again as soon as you remove the one from /data/local!

Thanks. I had always just renamed my bootanimation.zip file and copied new one to the system/media directory but with these Bigger File size bootanimation.zip I was getting error that there not enough room to copy some of these bootanimation.zip files to the system/media directory.
10th April 2012, 08:37 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Wink Thanks
lovit
5th July 2012, 09:41 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Gilbert Plains
Thanks Meter: 5
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Awesome Workaround, but I have a little problem
I'm trying to get this working, but when I type in the commands in cmd, it says the adb is not recognized as a command. Help?
5th July 2012, 10:05 PM   |  #10  
Nolam20's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theManchur

I'm trying to get this working, but when I type in the commands in cmd, it says the adb is not recognized as a command. Help?

Make sure you've correctly done steps 3-7 of setup, otherwise cmd.exe will not know what to do with adb commands.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes