5,606,588 Members 35,110 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SOLVED!!! - HTC WM6.1 ROM : Missing "Fn Space" function?

Tip us?
 
khals
Old
#11  
khals's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiargy View Post
I changed the registry as you suggested and still stuck.

FN+Space wouldn't work!!!
Did you try my solution in post #8 ?
No one ever says, "It's only a game." when their team is winning.
 
santiargy
Old
#12  
santiargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 119
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Buenos Aires
Default Missing Fn Space - not solved?!!

Unfortunately, the proposed solution didn't work. I think the issue is with CWS layout (CWS being Cingular/ATT). That layout doesn't have the Fn+Space in it. For example, the Hermes keyboard had a blue written on the Space bar. The tilt doesn't have that. In fact, if you install the original ATT Rom, the Fn+Space combination doesn't work.

The only way I've seen to get Fn-Space back to life is not to use the layout that results from the ATT Keyboard Fix (which enables CWS layout in the Registry). However, if you use the English layouts from non ATT Roms you get Fn-Space at the cost of getting many of the other Fn keys mapped the wrong way... For example, the ! and the @ are swapped, the ; gives you a %, and so on.
Galaxy S4

Before: Galaxy S3, Desire Z, Touch Pro 2, Touch Pro, Kaiser and Hermes
 
jukkus
Old
(Last edited by jukkus; 19th July 2008 at 05:09 PM.) Reason: Typo
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 83
Join Date: Jul 2007
Didn't work for me either.
Tried both ways. By manually and with that .cab. Both resulting same problem.

I can use those accented characters, but now I can type only numbers with diamond keyboards. :-o If I change registry back to the original. I can write and everything else works, but those accented in harware keyboard.
 
juanitto80
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2006
Default Worked for me

I guess the "disable XT9" is the only part needed in case you are anly misssing accents. I changed the registry manually (two keys), soft reset and it worked


Originally Posted by Bardia Garsha
Originally Posted by ProphetUser07
As far as I've been able to find out, this is caused by XT9 being enabled. I've disabled XT9 on my prophet which has successfully re-enabled word completion and also autocomplete when entering names in the To: field on messages. I've done this by changing the following registry entries and powering the device off and back on:

With XT9 Enabled I Had:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Layouts\e0010409]
"Ime File"="\windows\eT9Ime.dll"
"Layout Text"="eT9 IME"

With XT9 Disabled I Now Have:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Layouts\e0010409]
"Ime File"="\windows\compime.dll"
"Layout Text"="COMP IME"





This one worked for me thanks.
 
picaflor
Old
#15  
picaflor's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by santiargy View Post
Unfortunately, the proposed solution didn't work. (...) .However, if you use the English layouts from non ATT Roms you get Fn-Space at the cost of getting many of the other Fn keys mapped the wrong way... For example, the ! and the @ are swapped, the ; gives you a %, and so on.
Im with you in this problem.... if i press ! i got @ ... etc...
HTC 8925 Kaiser... moved from ATT 3G awesome speed to the slowest/unreliable T-mobile non 3G..

ROM: HD_IV_MEGA_6.5 WWE
SPL: cmonex HardSPL v3.29
Radio:1.65.24.36
Protocol Version: 25.94.40.06H
 
jlariviere
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rocklin
Default possible more data found, no solution

according to
http://wiki.xda-developers.com/index...aiser_Keyboard
my HTC TyTN II thinks it has the German keyboard, not the English one...
Anybody know how to fix this? everywhere i look i have it set to English (US)
Jeremie
 
XtreMe_G
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1,203
Join Date: Jan 2007
u didnt search enough :P

use kaisertweak or advanced config, and change the kb layout
 
jlariviere
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rocklin
I may've found another part of my mystery... I was using the stock HTC ROM downloaded from their site set to United States. When the site is set to Europe, the correct one is downloaded.
Jeremie
 
DAC324
Old
(Last edited by DAC324; 4th April 2012 at 12:02 PM.)
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Final and simple solution

Dear all,

I fiddled around with my old TYTN (Hermes) and none of the solutions found in the net really helped. While it was quite easy to fix the QWERTZ / QWERTY problem on the hardware keyboard (letters Y and Z inverted) the Fn+Space problem was a bit harder to solve. None of the various cab files or other hints really seemed to help.

So here is what I did to finally fix this:

1. copied a sym.0407.txt into the Windows directory using ActiveSync
2. applied the following registry settings:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\keyboard layout]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\keyboard layout\toggle]
"Hotkey"="1"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\keyboard layout\Preload]
@="e0010407"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\keyboard layout\Preload\1]
@="e0010407"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Layouts]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Layouts\e0010407]
"Layout Text"="COMP IME"
"Ime File"="compime.dll"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Layouts\e0010409]
"Ime File"="compime.dll"
"Layout Text"="COMP IME"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Keyboard Layout]
"Active"="e0010407"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\OEM\Qwerty]
"Layout"=dword:00020407

With these settings I have Y and Z assigned correctly and the Fn+Space working as well. I guess this will not only work on the TYTN (Hermes) but also on the TYTN II (Kaiser).

Kind regards,
DAC324

Attached are the two files needed (sym.0407.txt and the registry settings file). If somebody could explain me how to make a CAB for them, I will gladly do that, too.
Attached Files
File Type: rar German_keyboard.rar - [Click for QR Code] (727 Bytes, 0 views)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more