Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,150 Members 37,335 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Root with Elelinux's Android 2.3.7 (Light)

Tip us?
 
GXGOW
Old
#1  
GXGOW's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 569
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
Default [Q] Root with Elelinux's Android 2.3.7 (Light)

(This may sound like a dumb question, but I'm a noob and I've never rooted an Android device before. I've done a jailbreak a few times, though.)

So today I've installed Elelinux's Android 2.3.7 on my HTC Hero G2 Touch. I'm looking for a way to root my device. I've found one here, but I'm not sure if it will work because it says I need Android version 2.1 while I have 2.3.7.

Does anyone know a way to root my device on this version?
 
BeatsByMessi
Old
#2  
BeatsByMessi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dudley
your already rooted!

theres no way you would have been able to install that rom if you weren't rooted BUT you say you've never rooted an android device before

was the phone brand new when you bought it or was it second hand? because if its second hand its possible that the previous owner had already rooted the device
DEVICE: HTC One X
ROM: Viper X
Kernel: Stock
Recovery: Philz
Hboot: 1.72

DEVICE: HTC Hero GSM
ROM: Shpongle v3.7
Kernel: Las Venturas
Recovery: Clockworkmod

 
GXGOW
Old
#3  
GXGOW's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 569
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
I bought it from my brother a few months ago and I can acces the recovery menu and the bootloader, so I think he has rooted it before. I said I never rooted it before.
 
GXGOW
Old
#4  
GXGOW's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 569
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
But still, I can't acces my internal memory or do I need another app for that?
 
aleksandar.1
Old
#5  
aleksandar.1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 820
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bitola
u need root explorer
 
GXGOW
Old
#6  
GXGOW's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 569
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
It works! Thanks!
 
tomidix
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Aug 2010
File Manager by Rhythm software will do the job and it is freeware..

To see all file-system folders just tap "Up" until it is disabled...
 
GXGOW
Old
#8  
GXGOW's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 569
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
I'm using ES File Explorer. It also does the job.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more