Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more

Sony Xperia Z4 Forum Now Available

Sony’s Xperia line has seen plenty of development on XDA, and now that the Xperia Z4 has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Root with Elelinux's Android 2.3.7 (Light)

4th April 2012, 02:01 PM |#1  
GXGOW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
Thanks Meter: 220
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
(This may sound like a dumb question, but I'm a noob and I've never rooted an Android device before. I've done a jailbreak a few times, though.)

So today I've installed Elelinux's Android 2.3.7 on my HTC Hero G2 Touch. I'm looking for a way to root my device. I've found one here, but I'm not sure if it will work because it says I need Android version 2.1 while I have 2.3.7.

Does anyone know a way to root my device on this version?
 
 
4th April 2012, 02:53 PM |#2  
BeatsByMessi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dudley
Thanks Meter: 109
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
your already rooted!

theres no way you would have been able to install that rom if you weren't rooted BUT you say you've never rooted an android device before

was the phone brand new when you bought it or was it second hand? because if its second hand its possible that the previous owner had already rooted the device
4th April 2012, 03:03 PM |#3  
GXGOW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
Thanks Meter: 220
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I bought it from my brother a few months ago and I can acces the recovery menu and the bootloader, so I think he has rooted it before. I said I never rooted it before.
4th April 2012, 06:47 PM |#4  
GXGOW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
Thanks Meter: 220
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
But still, I can't acces my internal memory or do I need another app for that?
4th April 2012, 09:40 PM |#5  
aleksandar.1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bitola
Thanks Meter: 266
 
822 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
u need root explorer
4th April 2012, 09:55 PM |#6  
GXGOW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
Thanks Meter: 220
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Wink
It works! Thanks!
13th April 2012, 04:37 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
File Manager by Rhythm software will do the job and it is freeware..

To see all file-system folders just tap "Up" until it is disabled...
14th April 2012, 05:24 PM |#8  
GXGOW's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag /storage/sdcard1/Europe/Belgium/East-Flanders/Hamme
Thanks Meter: 220
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I'm using ES File Explorer. It also does the job.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes