Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

Setvsel like App

OP Bleak3993

5th April 2012, 01:45 AM   |  #1  
Bleak3993's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Viņa del Mar
Thanks Meter: 56
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I read on various threads that it was not convenient to install setvsel with CM7, I wondered then, there is another app which controls the behavior of the CPU, for example, when the phone is with the screen off, stay in the VSEL 1, or some one-click widget that let the cpu max at VSEL 2, these last days I've been testing the performance options CM7 whole day and was running at 800 mHz (using 300/800/1200) and only when needed most performance, either to play shadowgun for example, or browse faster, changed it to 1200 mhz, finally, after 12 hours I still have 40% battery...

I apologize for my bad English, I hope you understand the idea.
5th April 2012, 05:43 AM   |  #2  
King_Rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleak3993

I read on various threads that it was not convenient to install setvsel with CM7, I wondered then, there is another app which controls the behavior of the CPU, for example, when the phone is with the screen off, stay in the VSEL 1, or some one-click widget that let the cpu max at VSEL 2, these last days I've been testing the performance options CM7 whole day and was running at 800 mHz (using 300/800/1200) and only when needed most performance, either to play shadowgun for example, or browse faster, changed it to 1200 mhz, finally, after 12 hours I still have 40% battery...

I apologize for my bad English, I hope you understand the idea.

Yeah a lot of people say don't install ^^

on my other android ph which has CM7 - I use a 3rd party app to control CPU w/o any issues ;)

btw... they (other users) said don't do it either :meh:
5th April 2012, 05:58 AM   |  #3  
evolution1g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I use bootmenu to change the CPU settings

Sent from my MB525
5th April 2012, 08:37 AM   |  #4  
zakoo2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
they say that because cm7 has a built-in overclocking feature in bootmenu, although that can only set the frequency and voltage, nothing else. disable that option in bootmenu, and use setvsel instead, thats what i do, never had any problems so far (and ive been using cm7 for a year now).

sent from my cm7 defy...
5th April 2012, 11:09 AM   |  #5  
Sir Flashalot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Camelot
Thanks Meter: 256
 
540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakoo2

disable that option in bootmenu, and use setvsel instead, thats what i do, never had any problems so far

Same here on CM9 with SetVsel settings in my signature. When hardly using it the Defy, I can reach 10 days battery time easily.
5th April 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #6  
zakoo2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martijn1971

Same here on CM9 with SetVsel settings in my signature. When hardly using it the Defy, I can reach 10 days battery time easily.

wow, nice vsel settings. lowest i could set for absolute stability are 17/300, 30/600, 52/1000... dont you have any freezes, lags or something in this kind? what do you use your phone for?
5th April 2012, 06:53 PM   |  #7  
Bleak3993's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Viņa del Mar
Thanks Meter: 56
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
i install setvsel and test it for few hours, and i notice that the option to set max vsel2 is not working, still going to vsel3
5th April 2012, 07:35 PM   |  #8  
Sir Flashalot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Camelot
Thanks Meter: 256
 
540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakoo2

dont you have any freezes, lags or something in this kind? what do you use your phone for?

No lags/freezing, besides the ones caused by the Quarx' CM9 rom. Since I own a tablet, usage of the Defy decreased, especially Internet browsing. I normally use it to call, text, gps navigate, music listening, but most of all flashing roms. But I'm no smartphone zombie. On normal usage, it lasts 3-4 days. The previous settings were unstable though, my signature is now updated with the current stable ones.
25th October 2012, 12:35 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Flashalot

No lags/freezing, besides the ones caused by the Quarx' CM9 rom. Since I own a tablet, usage of the Defy decreased, especially Internet browsing. I normally use it to call, text, gps navigate, music listening, but most of all flashing roms. But I'm no smartphone zombie. On normal usage, it lasts 3-4 days. The previous settings were unstable though, my signature is now updated with the current stable ones.

I'm afraid I do not understand ... are you using the CM9 of Quarx with setvsel? If so, what configuration exactly?

Thanks
27th October 2012, 01:25 AM   |  #10  
TeeJay3800's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Metro Detroit
Thanks Meter: 1,609
 
5,265 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Please ask all questions in the Q&A section. Thread moved there.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes