5,595,000 Members 39,482 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Setvsel like App

Tip us?
 
Bleak3993
Old
#1  
Bleak3993's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 322
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Viña del Mar
Default Setvsel like App

I read on various threads that it was not convenient to install setvsel with CM7, I wondered then, there is another app which controls the behavior of the CPU, for example, when the phone is with the screen off, stay in the VSEL 1, or some one-click widget that let the cpu max at VSEL 2, these last days I've been testing the performance options CM7 whole day and was running at 800 mHz (using 300/800/1200) and only when needed most performance, either to play shadowgun for example, or browse faster, changed it to 1200 mhz, finally, after 12 hours I still have 40% battery...

I apologize for my bad English, I hope you understand the idea.
 
King_Rat
Old
#2  
King_Rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 1,109
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleak3993 View Post
I read on various threads that it was not convenient to install setvsel with CM7, I wondered then, there is another app which controls the behavior of the CPU, for example, when the phone is with the screen off, stay in the VSEL 1, or some one-click widget that let the cpu max at VSEL 2, these last days I've been testing the performance options CM7 whole day and was running at 800 mHz (using 300/800/1200) and only when needed most performance, either to play shadowgun for example, or browse faster, changed it to 1200 mhz, finally, after 12 hours I still have 40% battery...

I apologize for my bad English, I hope you understand the idea.
Yeah a lot of people say don't install ^^

on my other android ph which has CM7 - I use a 3rd party app to control CPU w/o any issues ;)

btw... they (other users) said don't do it either :meh:
 
evolution1g
Old
#3  
evolution1g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 190
Join Date: Oct 2011
I use bootmenu to change the CPU settings

Sent from my MB525
 
zakoo2
Old
#4  
zakoo2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 1,266
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Budapest
they say that because cm7 has a built-in overclocking feature in bootmenu, although that can only set the frequency and voltage, nothing else. disable that option in bootmenu, and use setvsel instead, thats what i do, never had any problems so far (and ive been using cm7 for a year now).

sent from my cm7 defy...
Google Nexus 4 [16GB | CyanogenMod 11 | franco kernel]
Morotola Defy
 
Sir Flashalot
Old
#5  
Sir Flashalot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 247
Posts: 536
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Camelot
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakoo2 View Post
disable that option in bootmenu, and use setvsel instead, thats what i do, never had any problems so far
Same here on CM9 with SetVsel settings in my signature. When hardly using it the Defy, I can reach 10 days battery time easily.
Motorola Defy | MB525 | BL6 | KitKat 4.4 | Quarx AOSP/CM11 20.01.2014 | SetVsel 18/300 28/600 38/800 58/1000 | green lens
ASUS Transformer | TF101 | B70 | KitKat 4.4.2 | Timduru KatKiss #19
 
zakoo2
Old
#6  
zakoo2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 1,266
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martijn1971 View Post
Same here on CM9 with SetVsel settings in my signature. When hardly using it the Defy, I can reach 10 days battery time easily.
wow, nice vsel settings. lowest i could set for absolute stability are 17/300, 30/600, 52/1000... dont you have any freezes, lags or something in this kind? what do you use your phone for?
Google Nexus 4 [16GB | CyanogenMod 11 | franco kernel]
Morotola Defy
 
Bleak3993
Old
#7  
Bleak3993's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 322
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Viña del Mar
i install setvsel and test it for few hours, and i notice that the option to set max vsel2 is not working, still going to vsel3
 
Sir Flashalot
Old
#8  
Sir Flashalot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 247
Posts: 536
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Camelot
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakoo2 View Post
dont you have any freezes, lags or something in this kind? what do you use your phone for?
No lags/freezing, besides the ones caused by the Quarx' CM9 rom. Since I own a tablet, usage of the Defy decreased, especially Internet browsing. I normally use it to call, text, gps navigate, music listening, but most of all flashing roms. But I'm no smartphone zombie. On normal usage, it lasts 3-4 days. The previous settings were unstable though, my signature is now updated with the current stable ones.
Motorola Defy | MB525 | BL6 | KitKat 4.4 | Quarx AOSP/CM11 20.01.2014 | SetVsel 18/300 28/600 38/800 58/1000 | green lens
ASUS Transformer | TF101 | B70 | KitKat 4.4.2 | Timduru KatKiss #19
 
unosettecinque
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Flashalot View Post
No lags/freezing, besides the ones caused by the Quarx' CM9 rom. Since I own a tablet, usage of the Defy decreased, especially Internet browsing. I normally use it to call, text, gps navigate, music listening, but most of all flashing roms. But I'm no smartphone zombie. On normal usage, it lasts 3-4 days. The previous settings were unstable though, my signature is now updated with the current stable ones.
I'm afraid I do not understand ... are you using the CM9 of Quarx with setvsel? If so, what configuration exactly?

Thanks
 
TeeJay3800
Old
#10  
TeeJay3800's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1599
Posts: 5,265
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Metro Detroit
Please ask all questions in the Q&A section. Thread moved there.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more