FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Corrupted Nandroid Backups copied back from PC

10,305 posts
Thanks Meter: 26,106
 
By tdunham, Recognized Contributor on 5th April 2012, 12:13 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Does anyone copy their nandroids back and forth to the computer?
I always have to repair the md5 of a nandroid if I copy it back over from the computer. I think the pc is 'converting' something which is corrupting the stored backup during the transfer. (However, with the replaced/repaired checksum, the backups restore and perform just fine)
Adb fixes me up but I'm just curious if the pc transfer is the root of the problem because I can transfer CWM backups between internal/external SD without any issues.

Edit: Occurs on both XP and Windows 7 and also tried different cables.
Last edited by tdunham; 5th April 2012 at 01:15 PM.
 
 
5th April 2012, 06:37 PM |#2  
DataHawg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Seattle
Thanks Meter: 778
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdunham

Does anyone copy their nandroids back and forth to the computer?
I always have to repair the md5 of a nandroid if I copy it back over from the computer. I think the pc is 'converting' something which is corrupting the stored backup during the transfer. (However, with the replaced/repaired checksum, the backups restore and perform just fine)
Adb fixes me up but I'm just curious if the pc transfer is the root of the problem because I can transfer CWM backups between internal/external SD without any issues.

Edit: Occurs on both XP and Windows 7 and also tried different cables.

Interesting. It's been a long time since I have done this but I don't recall having any problems with the checksum. How did you repair the MD5 checksum with adb? Did you generate a new valid one and push it into the nandroid file?
5th April 2012, 07:03 PM |#3  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
Thanks Meter: 1,260
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdunham

Does anyone copy their nandroids back and forth to the computer?
I always have to repair the md5 of a nandroid if I copy it back over from the computer. I think the pc is 'converting' something which is corrupting the stored backup during the transfer. (However, with the replaced/repaired checksum, the backups restore and perform just fine)
Adb fixes me up but I'm just curious if the pc transfer is the root of the problem because I can transfer CWM backups between internal/external SD without any issues.

Edit: Occurs on both XP and Windows 7 and also tried different cables.

I've noticed that on some too!
What I found is I needed to copy the entire backup folder from the SD card 'into' another folder on the PC and then copy that original folder back. I just have a E4GTbackup folder with dates and ROM names with the sd folder inside them. ie. :\E4GTbackup\Blazer4\04012012\sdcard
My reasoning when file/folders are renamed the name of the file won't affect the checksum, but custom recovery invokes the nandroid-mobile.sh script AND the nandroid-mobile.sh script's ability to actually identify your Nandroid backup files will/maybe the issue.
Even then sometimes (not as often as I used to though) I do have to regenerate the hash.
As for generating a new hash you've obviously got that down but I noticed that many don't know how. I use the terminal emulator app on the device itself. But there are actually applications for novice users that can be had for free or nominal cost available in the android market that can check and/or verify md5 sums. A little research for those not understanding that is a good thing.
Maybe someone else has an idea.
The Following User Says Thank You to leaderbuilder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 10:31 PM |#4  
nibrwr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 288
 
More
If you rename your backup, don't have spaces in the name.
5th April 2012, 10:59 PM |#5  
tdunham's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
TampaBay
Thanks Meter: 26,106
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DataHawg

Interesting. It's been a long time since I have done this but I don't recall having any problems with the checksum. How did you repair the MD5 checksum with adb? Did you generate a new valid one and push it into the nandroid file?

Delete the original nandroid.md5 with adb and generate a new one.
Commandlines go something like this:
adb shell
cd /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2012-03-30-06.39.41
rm nandroid.md5
md5sum *img > nandroid.md5
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tdunham For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 11:04 PM |#6  
tdunham's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
TampaBay
Thanks Meter: 26,106
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by leaderbuilder

I've noticed that on some too!
What I found is I needed to copy the entire backup folder from the SD card 'into' another folder on the PC and then copy that original folder back. I just have a E4GTbackup folder with dates and ROM names with the sd folder inside them. ie. :\E4GTbackup\Blazer4\04012012\sdcard

I never rename, just copy to a buried folder somewhere. But I do mirror data to another hard drive because I have so much. I'll have to try leaving it virgin somewhere else and maybe copy it right back so see if it works.
6th April 2012, 02:02 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nibrwr

If you rename your backup, don't have spaces in the name.

Yeah, done that before and paid the price..lol
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes