Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,969 Members 38,207 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CPU in roms

Tip us?
 
J I M
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default [Q] CPU in roms

Hello.
I was just thinking is there any ROMs That are stable with 788 MHz CPU Max speed?
And with working camera too..
 
Scratch0805
Old
#2  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Most roms will run at 788, it's if the cpu can take it that's the problem. The phone will freeze or reboot if it can't.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox
 
Lesicnik1
Old
#3  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 2,252
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Slovenj Gradec
Just like Scratch said, stability at high CPU frequencies is more dependent on your CPU than it is on your ROM. Because of very very minor variation from processor to processor you might not be able to overclock it fully.

I, for example, can't overclock it to 768MHz without it being unstable, while on 729MHz it runs normally.
 
J I M
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121 View Post
Just like Scratch said, stability at high CPU frequencies is more dependent on your CPU than it is on your ROM. Because of very very minor variation from processor to processor you might not be able to overclock it fully.

I, for example, can't overclock it to 768MHz without it being unstable, while on 729MHz it runs normally.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805 View Post
Most roms will run at 788, it's if the cpu can take it that's the problem. The phone will freeze or reboot if it can't.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
Ok Thanks you both.
 
Scratch0805
Old
#5  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121 View Post
I, for example, can't overclock it to 768MHz without it being unstable, while on 729MHz it runs normally.
Really Both mine run fine @ 788.


Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox
 
Lesicnik1
Old
#6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 2,252
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Slovenj Gradec
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805 View Post
Really Both mine run fine @ 788.


Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
Just tried it at 768MHz again and it froze while installing an app from the Play Store :P
 
J I M
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121 View Post
Just tried it at 768MHz again and it froze while installing an app from the Play Store :P
I've Got 768MHz+ working stable with those ics ports etc, but with other roms it freezes sometimes @ 768..
 
Scratch0805
Old
#8  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,193
Posts: 2,046
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sheffield
Quote:
Originally Posted by J I M View Post
I've Got 768MHz+ working stable with those ics ports etc, but with other roms it freezes sometimes @ 768..
I don't think it's a rom problem though, I've used every rom and had them all at 768 without any problems, I don't see the need to oc anymore than 633 now though for what I use the phone for.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S2
Asus Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Note N7000
2 x Samsung Galaxy Ace 5380i's
HTC Wildfire

mycolourscreen

My Dropbox
 
J I M
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805 View Post
I don't think it's a rom problem though, I've used every rom and had them all at 768 without any problems, I don't see the need to oc anymore than 633 now though for what I use the phone for.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
Ok..
 
LucidSomnia
Old
#10  
LucidSomnia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 350
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paphos
I oc to 768 when playing a game or so without having any problems. But really expept that you don't need more than 691. It's too much already.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
Nexus 7 (Flo) Stock (4.4.4)
Nexus 5 (Hammerhead) Stock (4.4.4)
Nexus 4 (Mako) Stock (4.4.4) (sold)
Sony Xperia S LT26i (Nozomi) CyanogenMod 10 for Locked BL (4.1.2)
HTC Wildfire (Buzz) CyanogenMod 7.2 (2.3.7)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes