Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] CPU in roms

OP J I M

5th April 2012, 07:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Hello.
I was just thinking is there any ROMs That are stable with 788 MHz CPU Max speed?
And with working camera too..
5th April 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #2  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 1,193
 
2,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Most roms will run at 788, it's if the cpu can take it that's the problem. The phone will freeze or reboot if it can't.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
5th April 2012, 07:15 PM   |  #3  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Slovenj Gradec
Thanks Meter: 742
 
2,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Just like Scratch said, stability at high CPU frequencies is more dependent on your CPU than it is on your ROM. Because of very very minor variation from processor to processor you might not be able to overclock it fully.

I, for example, can't overclock it to 768MHz without it being unstable, while on 729MHz it runs normally.
5th April 2012, 07:17 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121

Just like Scratch said, stability at high CPU frequencies is more dependent on your CPU than it is on your ROM. Because of very very minor variation from processor to processor you might not be able to overclock it fully.

I, for example, can't overclock it to 768MHz without it being unstable, while on 729MHz it runs normally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805

Most roms will run at 788, it's if the cpu can take it that's the problem. The phone will freeze or reboot if it can't.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

Ok Thanks you both.
5th April 2012, 07:29 PM   |  #5  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 1,193
 
2,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121

I, for example, can't overclock it to 768MHz without it being unstable, while on 729MHz it runs normally.

Really Both mine run fine @ 788.


Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
5th April 2012, 07:47 PM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Slovenj Gradec
Thanks Meter: 742
 
2,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805

Really Both mine run fine @ 788.


Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

Just tried it at 768MHz again and it froze while installing an app from the Play Store :P
5th April 2012, 07:53 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejc121

Just tried it at 768MHz again and it froze while installing an app from the Play Store :P

I've Got 768MHz+ working stable with those ics ports etc, but with other roms it freezes sometimes @ 768..
5th April 2012, 08:10 PM   |  #8  
Scratch0805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 1,193
 
2,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by J I M

I've Got 768MHz+ working stable with those ics ports etc, but with other roms it freezes sometimes @ 768..

I don't think it's a rom problem though, I've used every rom and had them all at 768 without any problems, I don't see the need to oc anymore than 633 now though for what I use the phone for.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium
5th April 2012, 08:58 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch0805

I don't think it's a rom problem though, I've used every rom and had them all at 768 without any problems, I don't see the need to oc anymore than 633 now though for what I use the phone for.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using xda premium

Ok..
6th April 2012, 12:40 AM   |  #10  
LucidSomnia's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paphos
Thanks Meter: 49
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I oc to 768 when playing a game or so without having any problems. But really expept that you don't need more than 691. It's too much already.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes