Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Does this forum need strikethrough feature?
Definitely! It makes our work much easier. 26 89.66%
I wouldn't use myself it but it makes sense. 1 3.45%
Not really, waste of time and nobody will use it. 1 3.45%
NO. Massive security risk and prone to abuse! 1 3.45%
Voters: 29. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[RESOLVED] [Q] [REQ] Strikethrough?

OP CosmicDan

7th April 2012, 03:56 AM   |  #1  
CosmicDan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Coast
Thanks Meter: 3,815
 
3,970 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Resolved - Already implemented. Lock/ignore this thread

Any chance we could get a strikethrough feature in the forums here? The use is obvious but I will give an example anyway. I report a bug, that bug was added to a buglist in the original post but the software in regard is still pending a bugfix. Making this strikethrough makes it obvious for other users to ignore it, and editing the post by just deleting the text is a inconsistent in regards to completion and research. [EDIT] In other words, other readers will see that this matter has been reported and is being taken care of. Assuming the majority of our users are moderately intelligent, this could make the place a LOT cleaner. [/EDIT]

There's no need to add a button even, just for those "in the know" to use even with [s]...[/s] bbcode or add the <del>...</del> HTML tags to the forum software's allowed tags.

I understand that some forums do not like this feature but I can't remember why, I always found it very useful when editing my posts. It's a lot less annoying for other readers than to completely delete an entire paragraph of text. With that said, if there is a reason why this won't be implemented I will not press it any further.

Thanks!
Last edited by CosmicDan; 19th April 2012 at 06:11 AM. Reason: Resolved
The Following User Says Thank You to CosmicDan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2012, 09:55 AM   |  #2  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,117
 
10
13,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Noobish double post
7th April 2012, 09:55 AM   |  #3  
Archer's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - (Un)Recognized Pole Dancer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,117
 
10
13,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Are you talking about this?

Wrap with strike tags like this...

HTML Code:
[strike]strike text goes here[/strike]
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Archer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2012, 10:35 AM   |  #4  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,222
 
19,374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archer

Are you talking about this?

Wrap with strike tags like this...

HTML Code:
[strike]strike text goes here[/strike]

Yeah a lot of sites use [s], but we use [strike]
The Following User Says Thank You to pulser_g2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2012, 06:08 AM   |  #5  
CosmicDan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Coast
Thanks Meter: 3,815
 
3,970 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Oh! I tried [s] and [del] but never even thought of [strike]. Silly me. Thanks heaps guys! THIS THREAD IS OVER
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
feature, forum, strikethrough
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes